Switch Theme:

Blast weapons thru drop pods?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Traditio wrote:

There's no rule that specifically allows me to place a drop pod with doors closed onto the table, roll dice, and then open the doors during disembarkation.

If I can open the doors in that case (though the rules don't tell me I can), why can't I close the doors later?

You can't open the doors in that case. If you deploy the pod with the doors closed, there is no rule that would allow you to open them later.

 
   
Made in us
Terminator with Assault Cannon





Peregrine wrote:You can't do that. If you model the drop pod with the doors open then it must remain in that configuration for the entire game, including when it is place on the table by deep strike. I already explicitly stated that you can't do this, so I don't know why you're acting like I believe the opposite.


Even though the italics specifically says that this is what happens.

Alright. If that's your mentality, I wipe my hands of this discussion.

Good day.
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Traditio wrote:

Even though the italics specifically says that this is what happens.

Alright. If that's your mentality, I wipe my hands of this discussion.

I'm not really sure what you were expecting. You can't just pick out random bits of fluff and treat them as rules. That way lies madness.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Traditio wrote:
Peregrine wrote:You can't do that. If you model the drop pod with the doors open then it must remain in that configuration for the entire game, including when it is place on the table by deep strike. I already explicitly stated that you can't do this, so I don't know why you're acting like I believe the opposite.


Even though the italics specifically says that this is what happens.

Alright. If that's your mentality, I wipe my hands of this discussion.

Good day.

The italics also require the pod to be on fire. Do you do that bit? Or do you just pick and choose when it suits?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Traditio wrote:
DeathReaper wrote:Yes the doors can move. The doors being up or down absolutely do not depend on whether or not the drop pod had landed and disembarked the stuff inside. It depends on if the player has the doors up or down.

Disembarking has nothing to do with the position of the doors.


And this is why people should read the words in italics before they start applying rules. I quote:

"Crashing to the ground, the pods' hatches yawn wide, and the battle brothers inside charge forth to annihilate the foe" (C:SM, p. 158).


That quote does not actually have any rules in it.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Traditio wrote:
Peregrine wrote:You can't do that. If you model the drop pod with the doors open then it must remain in that configuration for the entire game, including when it is place on the table by deep strike. I already explicitly stated that you can't do this, so I don't know why you're acting like I believe the opposite.


Even though the italics specifically says that this is what happens.

Alright. If that's your mentality, I wipe my hands of this discussion.

Good day.


"But the italics say the unit inside charges forth to annihilate the foe, so I can charge after disembarking, and I auto-win to annihilate you!"
"That's not what the rules say, though."
"But it's what the italics say. If that's your mentality then I'm wiping my hands of this game."
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: