Switch Theme:

New Special Snowflake FAQ re: Daemon Stratagems  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Norn Queen






It would be so easy to fix, just add a rule in the BRB for stratagems that states "Whenever a stratagem refers to a keyword, it is referring to Faction Keywords." But that would be an elegant and complete solution, something GW rules writers are allergic to.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2018/01/25 02:10:51


 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 alextroy wrote:
I had a thought. Are we misinterpreting this FAQ Answer for Codex: Death Guard?

Q: Is it possible to use a Stratagem from Codex: Chaos Space Marines to target a unit from Codex: Death Guard? For example, can I use the Tide of Traitors Stratagem on a unit of Cultists from a Death Guard Detachment if I have an Alpha Legion Detachment and a Death Guard Detachment in a single Battle-forged army?
A: Yes – if you have access to a Stratagem because you have an appropriate Detachment, it can be used on any permitted target: they do not need to be from that Detachment. In your example, the Alpha Legion Detachment gives access to the Chaos Space Marine Stratagems, and Tide of Traitors can be used on any Chaos Cultists – this would include any Chaos Cultists from the Death Guard Detachment.


This specifically states that a Stratagem that targets a specific unit (Tide of Traitors targets Chaos Cultist) may be used regardless of the <<Legion>> of the Chaos Cultist. Could this be because it does not mention any faction keyword unlike most Stratagems and this FAQ answer is not intended to allow Chaos Space Marine Stratagem units prohibited <<Legion>> models if they target Heretic Astartes? This would allow both FAQ answers to exist in harmony, although it would make the DG one really badly written.
That's most likely what was intended, but intention doesn't fly with some of us here because they must feel they must follow the "letter of the law" even if it creates less than palatable results.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Basically for those not paying attention.

People would cry if Games Workshop did not fix this.

People would cry if Games Workshop fixed this potential OP B.S.

Pick a side, carry on.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






ArmchairArbiter wrote:
Basically for those not paying attention.

People would cry if Games Workshop did not fix this.

People would cry if Games Workshop fixed this potential OP B.S.

Pick a side, carry on.
Literally no-one would cry if they fixed it. The problem is they WAY they have fixed it. The way they have done this simply ignores the rules and precedent. That is why people are upset.
   
Made in fi
Locked in the Tower of Amareo





nekooni wrote:
What they're doing is making the rules work like they had originally intended them to work. That's literally it. Call it "snowflake ruling", call it "backpedalling", call it whatever the feth you want. But they're fixing their mistakes, and I'm glad about that. Sure, I'd prefer if they didn't have to do it by getting it right the first time, but I'd rather have them fix stuff that wasn't intended to happen instead of them going "well, you got us on that one, haha! I guess you're allowed to use and exploit the mistake / error / typo we made until we bring out a new edition!".


So how come only DAEMONS were supposed to work like this when every other faction doesn't work like this? What makes daemons so special?

This doesn't actually change any rule except for this one specific intance. It would be better if they actually changed how rules work but as it is same issue is up on other factions.

They didn't change rules and ruling goes against still existant rules. It's not errata. It's just special snowflake ruling for one instance so other factions that work rulewise same still work like that. So now we have 2 rules that as per rules work same way but one faction is somehow said it doesnt' work that despite rules actually being unchanged.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/01/25 06:36:32


2024 painted/bought: 109/109 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: