Switch Theme:

Space Marine Bionics  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Mounted Kroot Tracker







Space Marine Codex, Bionics description - "To represent this, if a model with bionics suffers a wounding hit and fails his Saving throw, roll a D6.  On a roll of a 6 the model ignores the wound."

Question:  Am I understanding this correctly that if a character with no invulnerable save takes a wound from a plasma gun, he does not get a bionics save?  And if that same character takes an iron halo and fails the invulnerable save after a plasma gun wound, he then gets to attempt a bionics save?

Space Marine Codex, Bionics description - "A model that suffers a wound from a close combat attack that allows no Armor Save, or an attack that causes Instant Death cannot be saved by the bionics..."

Space Marine Codex, Adamantine Mantle description - "The character does not suffer Instant Death when wounded by a weapon whose Strength is at least twice the character's Toughness, taking a single wound instead."

Question:  If a character has both bionics and an adamantine mantle, and takes a wound from a weapon that is double his toughness, does he get a bionics roll if he fails his saving throw?

- Oaka


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Not getting a save is the same as failing it.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Technically I think you are correct Oaka.  Interesting catch.

We recently had a discussion about bionics, and realized they have completely different effects as listed in the Chaos and IG codex...

Just food for thought.

   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


The bionics entries have been consolidated per the Wargear book. Only Inquisitorial Bionics work differently. All SM, IG & Chaos bionics function exactly the same now.


I agree with Skyth. One definition of the word failure is the omission to perform. So if a model does not pass a saving throw (by any means, even if it isn't allowed to take the saving throw), then by definition it has failed its saving throw.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Orlando, Florida

I was under the impression that the Wargear book wasn't official rules (as said by designers when it was realeased). Wouldn't Bionics work per the individual codexes.

Current Armies: Blood Angels, Imperial Guard (40k), Skorne, Retribution (Warmachine), Vampire Counts (Fantasy)

 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Chaos Russ Driver




Posted By yakface on 08/01/2006 2:44 AM

The bionics entries have been consolidated per the Wargear book. Only Inquisitorial Bionics work differently. All SM, IG & Chaos bionics function exactly the same now.


I agree with Skyth. One definition of the word failure is the omission to perform. So if a model does not pass a saving throw (by any means, even if it isn't allowed to take the saving throw), then by definition it has failed its saving throw.



Whaa? Please elaborate. I know the IG one were actually worth taking. Now is there a reason to buy the wargear book?

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

I was under the impression that the Wargear book wasn't official rules (as said by designers when it was realeased)


I don't recall any such statement from the designers. An since the Wargear book includes updates to the various codex rules, it would be rather pointless if it wasn' official.


Whaa? Please elaborate. I know the IG one were actually worth taking. Now is there a reason to buy the wargear book?


The Wargear book includes numerous updates to the Codex Wargear entries, and consolidates most of the items that have different rules in different codexes.

You can find a full (well, as full as we could make it) list of the changes here: http://www.underthecouch.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=29

 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Posted By Mahu on 08/01/2006 7:08 AM
I was under the impression that the Wargear book wasn't official rules (as said by designers when it was realeased). Wouldn't Bionics work per the individual codexes.


Nope. You will find no such statement ever made.

In fact, the preface at the beginning of the wargear book clearly explains that it has the most current updates regarding wargear.

As Insaniak and I compiled (in that link he posted), I think the Wargear book is quite a useful book to own.



I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Question:  Am I understanding this correctly that if a character with no invulnerable save takes a wound from a plasma gun, he does not get a bionics save?  And if that same character takes an iron halo and fails the invulnerable save after a plasma gun wound, he then gets to attempt a bionics save?

To the best of my knowledge, no.  An invulnerable save is not an armour save.

Question:  If a character has both bionics and an adamantine mantle, and takes a wound from a weapon that is double his toughness, does he get a bionics roll if he fails his saving throw?

If he received an armour save against the hit, yes, otherwise, no.

   
Made in be
Bonkers Buggy Driver with Rockets



Right behind you...

I was under the impression that an invulnerable save is also a " saving throw" as Oaka quoted from the entry. Am I mistaken?

Armies in my closet:  
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

An invulnerable save is not an armour save.

Doesn't matter. Bionics refer to a 'Saving Throw' not an 'Armour Save'



 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Chaos Russ Driver




Sorry, dont mean to really derail but...
Nurgle's Rot updated so that followers are immune.


That was listed under the updated wargear. So are zombies now immune?

   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Plague Zombies aren't "followers". Nor do they technically have the Mark of Nurgle.

So no, they aren't immune.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Chaos Russ Driver





   
Made in us
Mounted Kroot Tracker







Back on the topic at hand:

Ok, I can accept that having no saving throw is the same as a failed save.  That answers the first question.  Now, what if my character with an adamantine cloak gets hit by a lascannon, do I get that 6+ roll?  That's the important question, I think. 

The text for bionics says you can't use it if the model is wounded by a weapon which causes instant death.  The text for the adamantine mantle says the weapon causes a single wound INSTEAD of causing instant death.  So my vote goes to bionics getting their save.

- Oaka


   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


The answer is yes, although some people won't like the answer.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka





Oklahoma City, Ok.

the way i see it:

the Question is,
"Now, what if my character with an adamantine cloak gets hit by a lascannon, do I get that 6+ roll?"

the Answer is,
"The text for the adamantine mantle says the weapon causes a single wound INSTEAD of causing instant death."

"But i'm more than just a little curious, how you're planning to go about making your amends, to the dead?" -The Noose-APC

"Little angel go away
Come again some other day
The devil has my ear today
I'll never hear a word you say" Weak and Powerless - APC

 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Chaos Russ Driver




So the weapon no longer causes instant death. So with the idea of saving throw being a save as in armor or invulnerable save the rule makes sense that you could use bionics against a lascannon as long as you had the adamantine mantle or daemonic rune or equivilent.




Khorne Lt. with feel no pain and daemonic rune... HmmmMMmmm.

   
Made in us
Mounted Kroot Tracker







Lol, well I didn't quote the item descriptions exactly.  If you take a look at the first post again, the text for bionics says that the wearer does not suffer from instant death, which is fundamentally different than the weapon not causing instant death.  I would imagine one could have an argument that the process occurs like this:

Lascannon hits force commander

Lascannon wounds force commander

Lascannon is strength 9, force commander is toughness 4, lascannon causes instant death

Force commander does not suffer instant death, but takes a wound instead

Under that reasoning, the lascannon would still be a weapon that causes instant death, and so the force commander would not be allowed a bionics save.  In my head, I compared it to a poisonous dagger stabbing something that is immune to poison.  The dagger is still poisonous regardless of its actual effects.

But if everyone's in agreement, I'll happily take those bionics rolls against all those high strength weapons.

- Oaka


   
Made in us
Rampaging Chaos Russ Driver




Im confused.... are we assuming the adamantine mantle on the Force Commander?

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: