Switch Theme:

Preferred Enemy on Walkers with Grenades?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Horrific Howling Banshee





Do prefered enemy's "hit on 3's" rule allow grenades to be placed on walkers on a 3+ instead of a 6+ like usual?

Preferred enemy states;
"such troops will hit their designated preferred enemy on a 3+ in close combat, regardless of their comparitive weapon skills. This ability will not help when attempting to hit independant characters, monstrous creatures or vehicles without a weapon skill characteristic."

seeing as a Walker is (usually) none of the above, they are hit on a 3+ in close combat.

the grenade against walkers section says they are always hit on a 6 in close combat, however this is a generalised rule, and a specific unit rule (like preferred enemy, which does NOT apply all the time) takes precedence

Also, Wyches with Haywires and a Goblet of Spite - the Codex entry for a GoS states clearly that the Wyches (and units in b2b) "... will always hit on a 3+ in hand-to-hand combat, regardless of other factors. (my emphasis) does this also mean there Haywire Grenades will hit on 3+ against walkers?
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


I would say it is clearly yes to both cases.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I don't know that I'd agree.

The grenade rule is specific to guys swinging against walkers

The prefered enemy is specific to units with prefered enemy swinging against everyone

Since one is not a subset of the other I'm not sure how we can say which is more specific.


"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto.  
   
Made in us
Mounted Kroot Tracker







It is important to note what is 'regardless'.  As precedent, I remind everyone that the old ATSKNF stated something along the lines that marines could always regroup 'regardless' of being under half strength.  Then a lot of people began regrouping at all times, even when enemy units were within 6".  But we now know that only the half strength part was the 'regardless', and was the only part to be considered when following the rule.  I believe that the same thing occured with the older wording for the resurrection orb:  it allowed Necrons to always attempt a WBB 'regardless' of the strength of the weapon, but players began using it against power weapon attacks, which was also incorrect.

Following that train of thought, I think preferred enemy will only hit on a 3+ 'regardless' of weapon skill, and so only matters when weapon skill is used to determine what die roll is needed.  Since you don't use weapon skill to plant a grenade on a walker, then preferred enemy does nothing.

However, since the Dark Eldar wargear says 'regardless' of all other factors, I would have to say that they can plant haywire grenades on a 3+, but that's just my take on it.  But I find it hard to believe if there is not an FAQ for Goblet of Spite, as this would also mean that wyches hit skimmers on a 3+ as well.

- Oaka


   
Made in us
Wraith





Tyrannic war vets always get the 3+ to hit with Krak Grenades against preferred enemies as well.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: