Switch Theme:

Dice roll questions...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I'm kinda' confused about the whole 2D6, 3D6 concept. I know what it means, roll 2 6-sided dice, but am I to assume I add their totals unless it says otherwise? Like for the scattering of barrage weapons, its 2D6, but you take the highest, you don't add them. It's the same for their armor penetration. But other things use that kinda mechanic too, like Monstrous Creatures, or grenades. Monstrous Creatures roll 2D6 for armor penetration but it doesn't specify whether you add them or take the highest, the same is for grenades as the melta and tankbustas use multiple dice also...
   
Made in us
Nervous Accuser




Milwaukee, Wisconsin

It depends on the context. Usually the rule will say when you take 2d6 and choose the highest. Otherwise, the default tends to be when you take 2d6, add them.

_________________
Brother Tiberius
D Company Master of Forges: Judge Advocate General
"The ways of the Ninja are inscruitable and hard to see." - Ab3 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





oh alright, that makes sense, thanks!

one more thing though,  if we're in a round of close combat and i strike first and kill all those enemy models that were engaged with my squad, leaving a gap between my guys and the rest of his squad, is his squad unable to retaliate against me that turn?

bear in mind i mean "engaged", not "locked in combat"
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Silverdale, WA

Yup. That happens all the time to my poor Tau firewarriors. Just make sure that the dead models don't have attacks to be made during the initiative step.

That might sound confusing, but it happens once in a while when I use my honorifica psyker with guardsmen. He's initiative 4 while the guardsmen are In 3. He's not in BTB with the enemy but is within 2" of the guardsmen who are. When the initiative 4 marines kill all of the guardsmen, the psyker still gets to make his attacks because he strikes simultaneously with the marines. This happens even though the psyker isn't in BTB with any marines at that point. Now if the guardsmen were killed by anything with a higher initiative the psyker couldn't make his attacks because the 'linking' guardsmen were killed before he got to swing not simultaneoulsy.

Confused yet?

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





oh alright, yea i understand you, thanks a lot for the help! so if i kill all those engaged with me and arent touching anyone im still locked in combat right and consilidate into the enemy? or can i consolidate out of combat?

and also, if the combat comes out to a draw, how does consolidation work? do we both get to move or does just one or what?
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





IIRC the general consensus is you don't consolidate unless the enemy broke and fled.

You would however have to 'pile in' back into the combat as you are still engaged.

Can you D.I.G. it? 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: