Switch Theme:

Few DoG questions...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut




Dives with Horses

First: if a unit has a lascannon in it, and that model wants to use the lascannon for DoG but the unit moved in their last turn, can the lascannon be used?

The second refers back to the 'Tank Shock vs an ongoing CC?' Thread.

If a unit of firewarriors is in HTH and their devilfish attempts a tank shock over them (attempting ending movement in front of them where the enemy unit in HTH was) but is stopped by a DoG attack with either a stunned or immobilized, what happens? The devilfish is then on top of the firewarriors which is clearly not allowed by the rules, but it never says if there are any consequences.

As a side note to the second question, is there any reason that said firewarrior squad would not be allowed to:
1. Mount up in to the devilfish after the devilfish does its tank shock (assuming it is succesful)
2. Shoot in their  shooting phase.

Thanks
d

Drano doesn't exactly scream "toy" to me.

engine

 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

First: if a unit has a lascannon in it, and that model wants to use the lascannon for DoG but the unit moved in their last turn, can the lascannon be used?


A DoG attack is not a Shooting attack, and so does not follow the rules for shooting. It follows the rules for DoG only, which allow the model one DoG attack with any weapon they are carrying.


So yes, the lascannon can be used.


If a unit of firewarriors is in HTH and their devilfish attempts a tank shock over them


I can't actually find anything in the rules that would allow a skimmer to move over friendly troops.

The Vehicle Movement section mentions that they can move over terrain features, and the Vehicles and Assaults sections mentions that they can move over enemy troops. But it would appear that moving over your own troops is not allowed by the rules.


So the situation you are asking about can not actually happen.

 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Chino, CA, USA

I think that the move or shoot restriction of Heavy Weapons only applies to the appropriate player turn, since otherwise heavy weapons can never shoot if they've moved once in the game "If an Infantry unit moves then it cannot shoot heavy weapons..." (BGB, pg.29) If somebody moves their las/plas squad, that's it. No more shooting for the rest of the game!

In response to your second question, "Remember that vehicles cannot move over friendly models..." (BGB, pg70) and "Skimmers can always choose to move over enemy troops..." You can't drive your Devilfish over your own Fire Warriors, which should take care of that one!

*ahem*

I've always thought that skimmers should have a "ground-hugging" mode for Tank Shock, much like how Jump Packers assault only on foot. By turning them into ground vehicles for the duration of the Tank Shock, skimmers would have to take dangerous terrain rolls for driving them into terrain, which seems a bit more realistic then just flying 50 feet overhead and scaring people away. *shrug*

The Fire Warriors will probably have to displace much in the same way as the enemy Tank Shocked unit. In any case, I don't see any reason why the FW squad couldn't get back onboard their Devilfish or alternately shoot.

edit: Beaten!  Nuts!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: