Switch Theme:

Evidence in Tyranid FAQ that "majic cylinder" is what to do???  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Denison, Iowa

In the Tyranid FAQ it was stated that a hive tyrant with tyrant guard behind size 2 terrain could be targeted, but since only the hive tyrant is bigger than size two terrain only he could be chosen as a casualty.

 

Does this mean that GW actually does want us to use the "magic cylindar" rules with the size clasifications for shooting?

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Cutting stuff up and bunging it back together in new and interesting ways.






Under the couch

Sinc ethey refer to the Tyrant being IN or behind the terrain, I would assume that they were referring to Area Terrain.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I'm not seeing how this has any impact or relevance in the magic cylinder ambiguity/debate.

"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto.  
   
Made in jp
Fate-Controlling Farseer





Fort Campbell

Magic Cylinder?

1st Legion Dark Angels

Eldar Craftworld Eth-Kariel
Spear of Kornous - High Elf Expeditionary Army (Retired) 
   
Made in us
[MOD]
Sentient OverBear






Clearwater, FL

Rarr!!

DQ:70S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k94+ID+++A++/sWD178R+++T(I)DM+++

Trust me, no matter what damage they have the potential to do, single-shot weapons always flatter to deceive in 40k.                                                                                                       Rule #1
- BBAP

 
   
Made in us
Foul Dwimmerlaik





Minneapolis, MN

Did somebody say Magic Cylinder?

This is a magic cylinder.




What is best in Life? Enjoying a magic cylinder with chewbacca and a beer.



Magic Cylinder. Chewbacca. Beer.
Those three words will save your life one day.
Especially at Gencon.

   
Made in us
Fate-Controlling Farseer





Fort Campbell

I don't drink, but damn I would so have a beer out of that "Magic Cylinder".

1st Legion Dark Angels

Eldar Craftworld Eth-Kariel
Spear of Kornous - High Elf Expeditionary Army (Retired) 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Silverdale, WA

Either the person holding that beer is an ogre or that is the smallest glass I have ever seen. It's like a beer...only smaller! Or maybe that's not actually a glass meant to hold liquid for human consumption. Either way though, Chewbacca's ready to party by the looks of it.

On topic: I would agree with insaniak about them probably refering to a situation when area terrain was being used, which is the only time the size categories come into effect (besides CC).

 
   
Made in jp
[MOD]
Anti-piracy Officer






Somewhere in southern England.

Japanese beer glasses only hold about 250ml each.


Petition to stop ratification of EU Article 13 on Internet Copyright

We're not very big on official rules. Rules lead to people looking for loopholes. What's here is about it. 
   
Made in ca
Dakka Veteran




Pirate Ship Revenge

I'd rather drink Catcher in the Rye, Rye.

I have nothing useful to add.
http://otzone.proboards34.com/index.cgi>the OT
Welp, that link ain't no good nomore. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Dives with Horses

Old MilWookie?

Drano doesn't exactly scream "toy" to me.

engine

 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Troll country

Old Milwookie... that was a hoot!

- I am the troll... feed me!

- 5th place w. 13th Company at Adepticon 2007 Championship Tourney

- I love Angela Imrie!!!

http://40kwreckingcrew.com/phpBB2/index.php

97% 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Denison, Iowa

Here is what I meant:

 

Many people have been debating if you use actual line of sight, or the size designations when determining line-of-sight. The Tyranid FAQ clearly says a size 3 hive Tyrant behind a size 2 terrain peice can be shot. I guess that that solves the question as to weather you use actual line of sight or the hieght characteristics.

   
Made in au
[MOD]
Cutting stuff up and bunging it back together in new and interesting ways.






Under the couch

"The Tyranid FAQ clearly says a size 3 hive Tyrant behind a size 2 terrain peice can be shot. I guess that that solves the question as to weather you use actual line of sight or the hieght characteristics."

Not really, since the question is dealing with whether the Tyrant counts as a part of the unit, not with how LOS works.

Area Terrain is terrain. Since you only use the Size categories for Area Terrain and close combats, they were clearly referring to Area Terrain in the FAQ.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I'm still baffled as to why people get so confused about LOS.

Cuda: lvl 2 hills never block LOS to size 3 models because the rules specifically say they don't. They do block to size 2 models because they say they do.

That's why the tyrant/guard case is ambiguous, because you have LOS to some but not all of the unit.

That has no impact on the magic cylinder debate.


"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto.  
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
President of the Mat Ward Fan Club






Los Angeles, CA


Atually Mauleed the rulebook suggests that hills are not area terrain therefore they should not have a size category associated with them.

True WYSIWYG LOS is used for lookng over/around hills.


But I think you were just giving an example of Size2 Area terrain, so it coudl have been a forest instead of a hill and your example would be fine.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
 
Forum Index » Dakka Discussions
Go to: