Switch Theme:

Ignore Cover rule against Vehicles? and Cover for Flyers?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Pennsylvania

This may be straight forward as the RAW is relatively clear, but I wanted to ask the community how they see it. Would a vehicle get a cover save, via terrain or Jinx rule, from a template weapon?

Edit:

The Ignore Cover rule reads, "Cover saves cannot be taken against Wounds caused by weapons with the Ignore Cover special rule." In this case, a Hellhound was going to fire its Inferno Cannon at a Venom currently benefiting from the Jinx rule. After some discussion, the shot was redirected.

Another question that came up in this practice game involved Flyers and counting as Obscured. Can a Zooming Flyer gain a cover save from terrain or is the model restricted to Evading? During the game, a Valkyrie fired on a Razorwing with half its wing behind the second story of Ruins. The save was given since nothing seems to exclude Flyers.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/09 03:05:12


Renegade Guardsmen 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




Smashotron wrote:This may be straight forward as the RAW is relatively clear, but I wanted to ask the community how they see it. Would a vehicle get a cover save, via terrain or Jinx rule, from a template weapon?


flame template = no
blast marker = yes

 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





If the attack says ignore cover. It ignores cover. Straight forward.

3200 points > 5400 points
2500 points 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Pennsylvania

White Ninja wrote:If the attack says ignore cover. It ignores cover. Straight forward.


What if the weapon has the Ignore Cover special rule? It says "Wounds" and this became the point of some contention during a practice game.

Renegade Guardsmen 
   
Made in us
Gnawing Giant Rat




Utah

Is it a flamer that caused this... what weapon are you wondering about because unless the wording is very specific it still ignores cover on vehicles.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/09 02:54:46


 
   
Made in ca
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta




pg 38 the special rule ignore cover specifies wounds.

I would say its always been implied against vehicles a wound = a hit. pg 76 under assault results where a glace equals 1 wound and a pen equals 2 wounds.

 
   
Made in au
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus






sirlynchmob wrote:pg 38 the special rule ignore cover specifies wounds.

I would say its always been implied against vehicles a wound = a hit. pg 76 under assault results where a glace equals 1 wound and a pen equals 2 wounds.


But doesn't that same quote clearly indicate they aren't actually wounds, because it's necessary to say how they impact wound calculation. Similarly, buildings might be treated like vehicles in many regards, but if some special rule (e.g. Haywire) effects Vehicles in a certain way, it still won't affect Buildings.

I would say Ignores Cover doesn't effect vehicles, and can't help but notice it extends to some other cover ignoring weapons in the codices (e.g. the Leman Russ Eradicator and Airburst Thunderfire Cannon shots) [edit: of some note here is Sternguard Dragonfire Bolts don't specify wounds, which seems to suggest there is an intended difference between them and the TFC when wounds are specified, of course it could just be sloppy writing.]

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/09 03:23:20


Interceptor Drones can disembark at any point during the Sun Shark's move (even though models cannot normally disembark from Zooming Flyers).


-Jeremy Vetock, only man at Games Workshop who understands Zooming Flyers 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I would say that pg 75 states that a vehicle "must take a cover against it (glance or pen hit), exactly like a non vehicle model would against a wound." Therefore I would say that "Ignores Cover" would ignore cover for the vehicle as well.
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Pennsylvania

What about cover saves for Flyers based on terrain? Or are Flyers limited to Evading?

Renegade Guardsmen 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 Smashotron wrote:
What about cover saves for Flyers based on terrain? Or are Flyers limited to Evading?


They're no different than any other vehicle, they're just higher up. Evading is there to give them an option to "always" have a cover save at your discretion.
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






You gave cover to a vehicle whose wing was obscured from view? That seems a little too excessive. And what kind of scenery are you guys using?
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
You gave cover to a vehicle whose wing was obscured from view? That seems a little too excessive. And what kind of scenery are you guys using?


Wings are part of the hull on vehicles, so if the wing counted for 25% obscurement, then why not?
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




You can shoot at a wing, so you might as well be able to count it as obscured.
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






I play with a lot of stuff on the table, and I have yet to see a time where my buddy's Razorwing could have claimed any cover.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/03 17:30:11


 
   
Made in us
Maddening Mutant Boss of Chaos





Pennsylvania

In our example his Razorwing was obscured by the second floor of a GW city ruins set. I just wanted to get an opinion on it so I can make similar efforts to move tactically with my Flyers. Thanks guys!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/03 18:10:04


Renegade Guardsmen 
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

 Smashotron wrote:
This may be straight forward as the RAW is relatively clear, but I wanted to ask the community how they see it. Would a vehicle get a cover save, via terrain or Jinx rule, from a template weapon?


Well yes, RAW it's fairly clear that they technically get a cover save. So it would be fantastic if they FAQ'd this and the Barrage rules for vehicles.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Bausk wrote:
 Smashotron wrote:
This may be straight forward as the RAW is relatively clear, but I wanted to ask the community how they see it. Would a vehicle get a cover save, via terrain or Jinx rule, from a template weapon?


Well yes, RAW it's fairly clear that they technically get a cover save. So it would be fantastic if they FAQ'd this and the Barrage rules for vehicles.


Not if the template weapon has the Ignores Cover rule, which generally they all will.
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

Fragile wrote:
 Bausk wrote:
 Smashotron wrote:
This may be straight forward as the RAW is relatively clear, but I wanted to ask the community how they see it. Would a vehicle get a cover save, via terrain or Jinx rule, from a template weapon?


Well yes, RAW it's fairly clear that they technically get a cover save. So it would be fantastic if they FAQ'd this and the Barrage rules for vehicles.


Not if the template weapon has the Ignores Cover rule, which generally they all will.


Yeah the ignores cover rule says that you may not take cover saves from wounds caused by a weapon with the rule. I agree that it should ignore cover but it needs to be clarified as glancing and penetrating hits as well. Just as if they intend us to play from the center of a blast marker on barrage weapons VS vehicles they need to specify there too.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Go reread pg 75 or scroll back. The two are comparable.
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

Fragile wrote:
Go reread pg 75 or scroll back. The two are comparable.


In specific situations, not all. In this situation it should, not saying it shouldn't. Just saying it needs the elaboration to count it as RAW.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Fragile wrote:
I would say that pg 75 states that a vehicle "must take a cover against it (glance or pen hit), exactly like a non vehicle model would against a wound." Therefore I would say that "Ignores Cover" would ignore cover for the vehicle as well.


Pretty clear in this case.
   
Made in au
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon




Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.

Fragile wrote:
Fragile wrote:
I would say that pg 75 states that a vehicle "must take a cover against it (glance or pen hit), exactly like a non vehicle model would against a wound." Therefore I would say that "Ignores Cover" would ignore cover for the vehicle as well.


Pretty clear in this case.


Yes, yes it does.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: