Switch Theme:

Do Passengers die from their transport moving more than 6" and than wrecking?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So as I understand it this concept in 6th ed is coming from the first sentence/paragraph under Disembarking in the transports section of the rulebook (p79).
"A unit that begins its movement phase embarked upon a vehicle can disembark either before or after the vehicle has moved (including pivoting on the spot, etc) so long as the vehicle has not moved more than 6".
Then if you wreck your required to disembark the passengers with any that cannot disembark, even through emergency disembarkation, being removed as casualties.

So my desire for clarification lies in does that sentence in the disembarkation section apply to prohibit disembarkation during wrecks, and if so how long does the prohibition last for? (phase, game turn, game even? as there is no mention of turns or until end of x in regards to the prohibition that i could find.)

Rules as intended this feels like people recalling the faq from 5th edition that caused passengers in fast skimmers to die if the skimmer wrecked itself during a flat out move, but that case was clearly contained to wrecking yourself during your own movement phase, whereas unless I'm (probably) missing something this feels like it could be stretched to even say that marines are risking unavoidable death if their rhino moves 12" and the enemy wrecks it in his own shooting phase by shooting at it normally.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Heheh, if you read it that way, then the vehicle can never have moved more than 6". So, if you moved 6" one turn, then 6" the next, the vehicle has moved 12" total, so your passengers can never disembark!

I hereby declare that reading of the rules irredeemably silly.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, it states during wrecks that you have permission to disembark.
   
Made in us
Resentful Grot With a Plan




Frisco, TX

I don't know the page off hand but I believe it would fall under emergency disembarking.

6900 and still going
 
   
Made in us
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Utah

Globzog wrote:
I don't know the page off hand but I believe it would fall under emergency disembarking.


Emergency disembarking only comes into play when you disembark but cannot do so from a specified access point. This will usually come into play with wrecks, but not all wrecks require emergency disembarking.

Nos is right. The rules for wrecking state that the passengers must disembark. Not can, may, or should, but must. It is not a choice.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: