| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/24 17:26:45
Subject: More Q's from playing.
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
The Great White North
|
so we played a game last night and we did pretty good really. Most of the rules we have down pat now. We occasionally get a few that seem to stump us...
1. Arty is usually always LONG RANGE, Do tanks get the +1 to its Armour roll for being long range? Does this all happen for mortars as well.
2. During set up I was forced to reserve 50% of my army. I had 6 units. 1 was my HQ. Being germans I can make Kampgruppe.. Can I spread out my HQ before deployment and then go down to 5 units?
We couldn't find anything on this one at all. It made sense to us that the leaders would be with the troops instead of in reserve etc....
Cheers,
|
+ + =
+ = Big Lame Mat Ward Lovefest |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/24 20:00:09
Subject: More Q's from playing.
|
 |
Unteroffizier
|
Question 2: HQ isn't counted as a platoon. But yes you can make a kampfgruppe but in that case you gain one more platoon. So from 5 platoons beacomes 6, 6 ->7 etc.
And for question 1: yes, if artillery has armour value then it gets +1 for its armor when rolling for armour saves. If your arties are just gun teams then just +1 to hit because of being in long range.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/25 01:31:33
Subject: Re:More Q's from playing.
|
 |
Boom! Leman Russ Commander
New Zealand
|
For question 1 do you mean "do tanks/armour teams add +1 to their top armour when hit by artillery at over 16"", in which case the answer is no. Very brutal for those expensive German heavies!
|
5000 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/25 05:04:45
Subject: More Q's from playing.
|
 |
Cold-Blooded Saurus Warrior
The Great White North
|
But why is it a no?
|
+ + =
+ = Big Lame Mat Ward Lovefest |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/25 06:03:49
Subject: More Q's from playing.
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Because it's not in the rules.
However, the better question is, in which way is the artillery gun being used? Are you direct firing, or are you bombarding?
The +1 armor for long range only applies to direct firing guns. If you are bombarding, there is no such thing as long range.
Artillery bombardment is not direct fire shooting. You'll notice that it has its own section.
Not to mention, it's a bit silly of a rule to have since when will artillery ever be able to bombard something within 16"? I mean, they have an 8" minimum range, that means that their short range window is only 8"-16".
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/25 06:05:51
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/08/27 20:36:01
Subject: More Q's from playing.
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
Hatfield, PA
|
Milisim wrote:so we played a game last night and we did pretty good really. Most of the rules we have down pat now. We occasionally get a few that seem to stump us...
1. Arty is usually always LONG RANGE, Do tanks get the +1 to its Armour roll for being long range? Does this all happen for mortars as well.
2. During set up I was forced to reserve 50% of my army. I had 6 units. 1 was my HQ. Being germans I can make Kampgruppe.. Can I spread out my HQ before deployment and then go down to 5 units?
We couldn't find anything on this one at all. It made sense to us that the leaders would be with the troops instead of in reserve etc....
1) No. The +1 armor rating when fired at from long range only applies to direct shooting at armor. This does not apply for indirect fire from artillery of any sort, whether they be cannon, howitzers, airplace rockets or mortars.
2) HQ is not considered a platoon when divvying up platoons into 50% reserves. HQ are always placed on the table *after* all other forces have been split into reserves, non-reserves and ambushes and are set up as necessary.
Skriker
|
CSM 6k points CSM 4k points
CSM 4.5k points CSM 3.5k points
 and Daemons 4k points each
Renegades 4k points
SM 4k points
SM 2.5k Points
3K 2.3k
EW, MW and LW British in Flames of War |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|