Switch Theme:

Deathwing assault?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Crushing Black Templar Crusader Pilot






Can it still be done with the new rule about having 50% of your units deployed?
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Ummmm, yeah. There would be no way for a deathwing army to be wholly off-field in order to trigger an automatic loss.

Just play, it'll be fine.
   
Made in us
Crushing Black Templar Crusader Pilot






I wasn't specific enough:

Theoretically speaking, if my army consists of 5 squads of deathwing termies, can I keep EVERYONE in reserve to deathwing assault 3 squads turn one?
Or do I have to field 3 squads on the board, keep 2 in reserve and deathwing assault 1 squad on turn one?

The faq did not address that, so sadly, I'm inclined to think the latter... Which beats the point of the deathwing assault...
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Surely, the answer is no. Deathwing terminators all count to the reserve counting.

The following would work and not cause an automatic loss:
Drop pod+tactical squad+Belial
Deathwing
With other drop pod units, or allies.

My advice would be going pure deathwing not to deathwing assault in most cases, just foot slog and shoot missiles.
It means you have more on the board and your units can support each other, all of which is really important when you have few models.

If you want to deathwing assault, I would bring an ally with drop pods and some units to hide on the board first turn.(All the marine codices would work well in the role.)
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





phoenix darkus wrote:
I wasn't specific enough:

Theoretically speaking, if my army consists of 5 squads of deathwing termies, can I keep EVERYONE in reserve to deathwing assault 3 squads turn one?


I would say yes.

MFletch wrote:
Surely, the answer is no. Deathwing terminators all count to the reserve counting.

The following would work and not cause an automatic loss:
Drop pod+tactical squad+Belial
Deathwing
With other drop pod units, or allies.

My advice would be going pure deathwing not to deathwing assault in most cases, just foot slog and shoot missiles.
It means you have more on the board and your units can support each other, all of which is really important when you have few models.

If you want to deathwing assault, I would bring an ally with drop pods and some units to hide on the board first turn.(All the marine codices would work well in the role.)


Anyone coming in from Deep striking can deploy half of the squads rounded up on turn one, the rest come in from reserves each turn after depending the dye roll

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/25 16:37:43


 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Yes, I do know deathwing assault, you are right half rounded up, though you can choose not to if you want. Been that way for a long time.

5 deathwing, 1 Belial, this would be 6 units, so only 3 can reserve. Not one of them count is an exemption.

Things that have to reserve, then things in things that have to deep strike, do not count to this count.
Then you round down as well, so you can have a reserve count of 1.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





MFletch wrote:
Yes, I do know deathwing assault, you are right half rounded up, though you can choose not to if you want. Been that way for a long time.

5 deathwing, 1 Belial, this would be 6 units, so only 3 can reserve. Not one of them count is an exemption.

Things that have to reserve, then things in things that have to deep strike, do not count to this count.
Then you round down as well, so you can have a reserve count of 1.

Actually you round up. 6 units, 3 can reserve, no rounding involved.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: