Switch Theme:

Imperial Bastion and Shooting from it.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

Let's start with a short explanation, and then develop it further:
As the bastion counts as a vehicle that is stationary, with place for one unit of up to 20 models inside, and one unit of up to as many as can fit on the rampart, does this mean that, as with vehicles, any embarked models have to fire at the same target as the vehicle?

Let's take this more in depth.
This would mean that the people embarked inside the Bastion have to target the same target as the people embarked on top of it. As you would generally place your Icarus or Quad gun on top of it and man it with one of the guys up there, if the Icarus/Quad shoots at a flier, the whole building has to shoot at that flier, no matter if they can reach/damage it.

Discuss:
The whole bastion ruleset seems really hodgepodge. So does the whole building have to shoot at the same target?
Also, since it's a vehicle, only one unit can stand at the top (and that unit has to fit.) That's fair enough. So by the same logic, does this mean that the enemy cannot jump pack up there and fight them in close combat? From reading the Buildings rules, I would say this is the case. Just as you cannot stand on someone else's vehicle.

Also, the emplaced guns BS2 auto fire. It's clear enough that the bolters on the building can use this rule to fire on their own. But is it enough that I hold the rampart or do I need to have people inside for me to "claim" the bolters of my own bastion? Because if they get to the door and I have no one inside, they can take the bastion, and by that logic the bolters are unclaimed while no one is inside, right?

Also, the Icarus/Quad are bought to be emplaced guns. By that logic I understand it as them also being able to fire at BS2, and I see nothing that refutes this, except a lot of people on this forum. Does anyone have any rule quotes to verify that they cannot autofire?

And assuming they can autofire, does that mean they can fire at a different target than the people standing on top of the rampart?

So to recap:
Does every gun in the bastion have to fire at the same target?
Can you have more than one unit atop it?
Can the enemy land atop it to fight you cc?
Can Quad/Icarus fire autofire at BS2?
Can you autofire bolters with no one occupying the inside of the building?

 
   
Made in ca
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster




Fredericton, NB

Rules refs to come later, as I am on my way to work.

1. The bastion and its contents have to fire at the same target. The battlements and their gun can fire at something else. (like 2 transports jammed together)
2. Only one unit can embark at a time
3. I dont know but it would be cool
4. No, it is a weapons emplacement not an emplaced weapon
5. No, as the building is neutral if there are no people in it

Know thy self. Everything follows this.
 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Correction: the bastion has to shoot at one target, but the people inside, if firing their own weapons, may shoot at a different target.

Its all about prioritizing capabilities.
   
Made in gb
Lord of the Fleet






 Purifier wrote:
does this mean that, as with vehicles, any embarked models have to fire at the same target as the vehicle?

Embarked units do not have to fire at the same target as the vehicle they're embarked on. That makes a variety of your assumptions re units inside or on the battlements of a bastion incorrect.
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

 Scott-S6 wrote:
 Purifier wrote:
does this mean that, as with vehicles, any embarked models have to fire at the same target as the vehicle?

Embarked units do not have to fire at the same target as the vehicle they're embarked on. That makes a variety of your assumptions re units inside or on the battlements of a bastion incorrect.

Then yes, it is based upon a false assumption. Does this then mean that an auto firing emplaced bolter can fire at a different target than the people firing from the shooty-holes?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Lightcavalier wrote:

4. No, it is a weapons emplacement not an emplaced weapon

If you get a weapons emplacement, doesn't that by default mean that weapon is emplaced, making it an emplaced weapon?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/08/29 09:11:48


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, because the bastion gets to choose its own target if it is the one firing.

No, the two are separate in the rules.
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

nosferatu1001 wrote:
No, the two are separate in the rules.

Would you care to explain how?

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Page 105, Gun Emplacement
Page 96, Emplaced Weapons

They are differently defined in the rules, so they are different.
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Page 105, Gun Emplacement
Page 96, Emplaced Weapons

They are differently defined in the rules, so they are different.

Thanks.

Edit: Although on page 89 the war torn battlefield, on section G, it says
the players have agreed that whoever controls the battlements can fire the Icarus Lascannon using the emplaced weapon rules described in the building rules on page 96

This could, even if not proper rules (and RAW I fully agree with you) argue that the RAI is to treat it like any emplaced weapon.

Also,the rules on page 105 bring up an interesting point. You can actually shoot down the Icarus using big weapons from a distance. Does the Icarus belong to the unit standing with it then, or are you simply able to single it out and shoot it down?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/08/29 11:57:40


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The Icarus is a "gun emplacement" which is fired by a member of a squad. It is not an emplaced weapon in a building.

You can single out the Icarus and shoot it. Its stats are under the "gun emplacement" rules.
   
Made in us
Sergeant First Class





Fragile wrote:
The Icarus is a "gun emplacement" which is fired by a member of a squad. It is not an emplaced weapon in a building.

You can single out the Icarus and shoot it. Its stats are under the "gun emplacement" rules.


The problem I have with that is only emplaced weapons, and not gun emplacements, are destroyed when the building is destroyed. So does the weapon "jump down" like units on top of the battlement? Can gun emplacements take dangerous terrain tests? Where are they placed if they do?
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

culsandar wrote:
Fragile wrote:
The Icarus is a "gun emplacement" which is fired by a member of a squad. It is not an emplaced weapon in a building.

You can single out the Icarus and shoot it. Its stats are under the "gun emplacement" rules.


The problem I have with that is only emplaced weapons, and not gun emplacements, are destroyed when the building is destroyed. So does the weapon "jump down" like units on top of the battlement? Can gun emplacements take dangerous terrain tests? Where are they placed if they do?


Excellent point. And by the logic given, yes. they jump down, they take a dangerous terrain test as they are a model with T7 and 2 Wounds. I guess they are placed as if they jumped off the top? Seems silly, and unlikely to be intended behaviour.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




GW is clear as mud on this, but I would say.

1. Yes. Although it is not a member of your unit, it does have a statline for T, W, and Sv.
2. Yes. If it fails it takes a wound.
3. Within 3"
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: