Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/14 15:37:33
Subject: IF Uhlan questions
|
 |
Iron Fang
South West VA
|
Hello Dakka,
Just played against my Cygnar buddy at a 15 point match I won but just barely, it was a close game to the end. A couple questions came up during the game and we did our best to follow the wording exact. I decided to ask you guys to make sure we did the rules right.
My army, eVlad, 5 IF Uhlans, Drago and Wardog.
His army, Brisbane, reinholdt, Nomad, Cyclone, 13th company.
This is the set up Brisbane is B2B with Reinhold, and his Nomad. On my turn eVlad pops his feat; only 3 of the Uhlans can see the nomad thru blocking forest so they declare a charge against the Nomad. My thought was to hopefully kill the Nomad with one Uhlan using his charge attack and Transference thru Vlad to make short spear attacks, and then my other 2 Uhlans with reach could kill Brisbane because at his angle he was about 1 7/8' away from my Cav.
Here's where the questions come into play,
1st when only 3 models in a unit can charge, what options do I have with the 2 remaining models? Can they walk, run, etc?
2nd question, the wording on a Uhlans short spear says he cannot use it as a initial attack on a activation where he moved more than 3", but can I use the transference spell to buy an attack with the short spear?
3rd question, The wording for the Uhlans lance states it must be used on a charged attack, the rulebook states that if a model charges a target and then the intended target is no longer a viable option, the charging model can pick a new target within its reach but it is not a charge attack. Does this mean since the Uhlans charged the Nomad, but the Nomad died before 2 of them got to attack, they cannot pick Brisbane because he is 2 inches away and the Uhlans can no longer use their lances since the intended target is dead?
4th question is about eVlad, Blood tokens it states when he takes 1 or more damage he gains a blood token. Then during his activation he can turn in blood tokens for more focus. Does he get a Blood Token for every time he takes damage? Meaning for every separate attack that damages him he gets one token? Or does he only get a max of 1 token per turn he was damaged?
Thanks for all the help.
|
“Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas.”
Khador 133 Points and 11 Casters
W:11 L:4 D:0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/14 16:06:20
Subject: Re:IF Uhlan questions
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
|
1st: The other models in the unit must run if they don't have a charge target.
2nd: Transference can only be used to boost mellee attacks and damage rolls, it cannot be used to buy extra attacks.
3rd: Yes, they cannot pick Brisbane. Since their original charge target is dead, then they can make another mellee attack, but since this new attack isn't a charge attack, they cannot use the Blasting Lance to do it (and so loose their reach as well).
4th: eVlad gets 1 Blood Token every time he takes damage from an attack, not just 1 per turn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/14 16:22:03
Subject: Re:IF Uhlan questions
|
 |
Iron Fang
South West VA
|
PhantomViper wrote:1st: The other models in the unit must run if they don't have a charge target.
2nd: Transference can only be used to boost mellee attacks and damage rolls, it cannot be used to buy extra attacks.
3rd: Yes, they cannot pick Brisbane. Since their original charge target is dead, then they can make another mellee attack, but since this new attack isn't a charge attack, they cannot use the Blasting Lance to do it (and so loose their reach as well).
4th: eVlad gets 1 Blood Token every time he takes damage from an attack, not just 1 per turn.
For the 3rd answer, they wouldn't be able to use the short spears then because they moved over 3", so In this case they are just finished, right?
|
“Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas.”
Khador 133 Points and 11 Casters
W:11 L:4 D:0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/14 16:28:30
Subject: Re:IF Uhlan questions
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
|
They do have Combat Rider, so they could make a mount attack if they had anyone within 0,5".
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/14 16:45:11
Subject: Re:IF Uhlan questions
|
 |
Iron Fang
South West VA
|
PhantomViper wrote:They do have Combat Rider, so they could make a mount attack if they had anyone within 0,5".
Okay so now knowing all this, I guess its best to spread out the attacks and try and get a bunch of different models on the charge, On eVlads feat turn Uhlans hit hard.
|
“Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas.”
Khador 133 Points and 11 Casters
W:11 L:4 D:0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/14 19:07:54
Subject: IF Uhlan questions
|
 |
Wraith
|
How does Siege have a Nomad?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/14 19:24:33
Subject: IF Uhlan questions
|
 |
Iron Fang
South West VA
|
|
“Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas.”
Khador 133 Points and 11 Casters
W:11 L:4 D:0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/14 19:28:51
Subject: IF Uhlan questions
|
 |
Mutilatin' Mad Dok
|
Siege is not able to bring the Nomad jack.
Siege is a Cygnar caster, thus he only has access to Cygnar jacks.
Merc Warcasters can bring a Nomad, as it is a Merc Jack
Otherwise it require a Merc jack marshall who can them jack marshall the nomad.
Thus the question: How did your opponent who is using Siege bring a Nomad since he is a Cygnar model, he cannot purchase it with his warjack points, nor include it in the army in a traditional Cygnar list.
In order to use NON faction models, they must have either the allies rules, or have the ability to work for certain factions. As an example. Your opponent utilized Reinholdt. His card says "works for Cygnar." So he can be in a Cygnar list, but cannot be affected by some of their spells that say "faction model."
Thus Ronin is asking "how your opponent utilized a Nomad."
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/14 19:32:38
Tournment Record
2013: Khador (40-9-0)
============
DQ:70+S++++G+M+B+I+Pw40k95-D++A+++/aWD100R+++T(M)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/14 19:32:30
Subject: IF Uhlan questions
|
 |
Iron Fang
South West VA
|
njpc wrote:Siege is not able to bring the Nomad jack.
Siege is a Cygnar caster, thus he only has access to Cygnar jacks.
Merc Warcasters can bring a Nomad. Otherwise it require a Merc jack marshall who can them jack marshall the nomad.
Thus the question: How did your opponent who is using Siege bring a Nomad since he cannot purchase it with his warjack points, nor include it in the army?
Okay now I understand, since this is his first time playing WM, and everyone else is really new. I am guessing he didn't know that. Thanks for the info
|
“Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas.”
Khador 133 Points and 11 Casters
W:11 L:4 D:0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/16 18:24:33
Subject: Re:IF Uhlan questions
|
 |
Freelance Soldier
|
If he still wants to bring a Nomad in, he can use a Merc 'Jack Marshall like Rutger Shaw or Dirty Meg. The Nomad will be marshaled under them, and not available for focus allocation, though.
|
The Cog Collective
DR:70S+G+M++B--IPw40k87#+D++A++/sWD80R+T(D)DM+
Warmachine: 164 points painted Cygnar 11-62-0 Circle of Orboros 0-13-0
Painted 40K: 3163 1500 225
"Machete don't text." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/20 16:51:57
Subject: Re:IF Uhlan questions
|
 |
Iron Fang
South West VA
|
Armandloft wrote:If he still wants to bring a Nomad in, he can use a Merc 'Jack Marshall like Rutger Shaw or Dirty Meg. The Nomad will be marshaled under them, and not available for focus allocation, though.
After looking over the book, We are still trying to find where it says a Merc 'Jack has to be controlled by a Merc caster or JM. I know for Rhulic it states it under the 'Jacks but we couldnt see anything for the Nomad
|
“Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas.”
Khador 133 Points and 11 Casters
W:11 L:4 D:0 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/20 19:35:22
Subject: IF Uhlan questions
|
 |
Wraith
|
Page 38, WM Prime "Building your army". Merc warjacks are not Cygnar (in this case) faction models and they do not say they will work for any faction so they must be controlled by a Mercenary faction warcaster.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/20 19:36:00
|
|
 |
 |
|