Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/26 20:06:47
Subject: Free strikes and LOS
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Ok, this might be silly, but I am not finding the exact wording in the book and it is starting to irritate me.
So this came up in a game. Say I have two Bloodweavers with Lightning Tendrils on them (so they have reach) and they are lined up with a small based caster in my turn such that the BW's are in B2B with each other and in range of the caster.
oo
c
Something like that. All are on small bases.
So now the caster's player takes his turn, and moves the caster such that he is in line with both BW's, and thus out of LOS of the back one, but still in reach range of both, as such:
oo c
Does the left most Blood Weaver, the one who lost LOS on the bastard, get a Free Strike when he leaves her LOS? Or does the fact he is still within reach range mean she doesn't?
Also, just in case it is physically impossible for that to happen (since he would have to be PERFECTLY lined up) we could say the other Blood Weaver is a Ravager on a medium base
oOc
So the caster is still within 2" but out of LOS.
Thanks!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/26 21:33:46
Subject: Re:Free strikes and LOS
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
EDIT: This information is inaccurate.
Free Strikes trigger for leaving melee range, not LoS. If the model moved in such way so as to remain within a model's melee range (Front Arc and 2" for reach in this case), for the entire movement it would not be subject to a free strike regardless of if it's in LoS or not when that movement is complete.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/09/27 11:18:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/27 06:35:23
Subject: Free strikes and LOS
|
 |
Bane Lord Tartar Sauce
|
Chongara, you might want to read the free strike rules again, they also say free strikes happen when a model advances out of line of sight. So the blood weaver would be able to hit the caster.
The way to avoid the free strike is to move, same size base as caster, models between the blood weavers and the caster to block line of sight, then advance the caster.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/27 10:47:07
Subject: Re:Free strikes and LOS
|
 |
Tea-Kettle of Blood
|
Just pipping in to agree with yastobaal.
And just in case, the exact rule is:
When an engaged model advances out of the enemy’s
melee range and/or line of sight, the enemy model can
immediately make a free strike against it just before it
leaves.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/27 11:17:01
Subject: Re:Free strikes and LOS
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
PhantomViper wrote:Just pipping in to agree with yastobaal.
And just in case, the exact rule is:
When an engaged model advances out of the enemy’s
melee range and/or line of sight, the enemy model can
immediately make a free strike against it just before it
leaves.
Good to know. Looks like I've not been taking free strikes I should have.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/27 16:03:36
Subject: Free strikes and LOS
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Excellent, thanks guys! I appreciate the help! Sometimes Reach gets really frustrating in how much movement it allows models before they get smacked with a Free Strike.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|