Switch Theme:

Questions for 6th.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut




Played about 10 games now in 6th and have spent a lot of times on these forums.

I have some basic questions, but ones that seem to elude some of my play mates. I own a rulebook so please forgive me if these are basic questions, myself and 3 others started playing in 2nd edition, so you'd think we'd get the point by now

Okay

1. If a unit is 25% hidden by a 4+ from ruins, but is not IN THE RUINS, do they get the 4+ or a 5+ area?

2. Smash re-rolls on the armor pen. You re-roll the result not the attempt right? So if a Trygon tried to SMASH a tank but rolls 1-1-2 against 14 armor, he fails all together, not re-rolls those tries?

3. Vector Strike, wounds resolved from the end point or the beginning ?

4. Can you place an objective inside the ADL ?

Thanks for any help, any page numbers will be awesome. I enjoy the mix here.

Dan
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

1) Units get the cover save of whatever is obscuring them. (5+ for forests, 4+ ruins, 3+ fortifications). (P. 18)

2) You get to re-roll the armor pen dice, so if you roll a 1-1-2 against AV 14 you can re-roll those in hopes of getting a glance or penetrating hit. (P.42 for Smash rule, and P.73 for Armor pen rolls).

3) Not sure what exactly you are asking here Please clarify.

4) You can not place an objective in, or on a fortification. So as long as the objective is not in or on the ADL you are good to go. (Page 121).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/01 17:55:48


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




3. I think he is asking where the wounds are allocated from (closest to shooter). Personally I would do it from the ending point of the attacker as you would resolve your movement before you resolve the vector strike.

4. This is interesting. I think you can place the objective "inside" the ADL (assuming you mean circling up the ADL in one continuous circle. ) The inside of the ADL is normal terrian, just protected with a wall.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Let me clarify for #4.

As long as the Objective is not in or on one of the walls of the ADL you are good to go.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






1. I believe you are confusing the vehicle obscurement rules for cover in general. If you are not in the ruins, but are behind them, your cover save is 5+.

2. Page 42, last sentence of Smash rule covers this verbatim.

3. We play it as a random model, as the strike is like a melee attack.

4.since the Aegis is a thin line of walls, it would be practically impossible to place an objective in or on them. So if you are asking if it may be placed behind an Aegis, yes, it may.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

The ADL is just a linear piece of terrain. If it so happens to make a circle around an objective that doesn't matter.


And some more clarification on #1. Cover is on a model by model basis in 6th, so if a particular model is completely exposed then it doesn't get cover.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Pooler, GA

 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
1. I believe you are confusing the vehicle obscurement rules for cover in general. If you are not in the ruins, but are behind them, your cover save is 5+.
I disagree. Page 18: COVER SAVES: Determining Cover Saves: 'If [ ] the target's body [ ] is at least 25% obscured from the point of at least one firer, Wounds allocated to that model receive a cover save.'

By your logic, a model obscured by razor wire, but not in the razor wire, would still receive 5+. A model outside but obscured by particular terrain would receive the cover save granted by that terrain. If there is a requirement to be inside the terrain, I apologize for being argumentative, but I cannot find it.

I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Depends. If it's area terrain? (which the 5+ save for ruins counts as) then yes, your model has to be in the terrain to benefit from it. If it's 'not' area terrain (ie: the 4+ ruins save) then it depends if the terrain is obscuring your models from the POV of the firer.

Ruins are complex because they can be both and have a different save for each type, but in general use the best save available to you.

In short: if 25% of your model is obscured 'by' a ruin regardless of wether or not your model is 'in' the ruin, then you have a 4+ cover save.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 SoloFalcon1138 wrote:
1. I believe you are confusing the vehicle obscurement rules for cover in general. If you are not in the ruins, but are behind them, your cover save is 5+

Page 18, Determining Cover Saves heading, Disagrees with you.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets






Crap. That's what I meant. Stupid touchscreen keyboard...
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Stormbreed wrote:
Played about 10 games now in 6th and have spent a lot of times on these forums.

I have some basic questions, but ones that seem to elude some of my play mates. I own a rulebook so please forgive me if these are basic questions, myself and 3 others started playing in 2nd edition, so you'd think we'd get the point by now

Okay

1. If a unit is 25% hidden by a 4+ from ruins, but is not IN THE RUINS, do they get the 4+ or a 5+ area?

Dan


Just a little clarification here. Others have for the most part answered your question (ghenghis quoted the BRB actually) except that cover is now determined on a model by model basis.

If 25% of your Tac Squad is in cover, then only those 25% get a cover save, the other 75 % do not get cover.
Pg 19 of the BRB has a good illustration of this.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/01 19:27:25


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Ignore this.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/01 22:15:32


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Kevin949 wrote:
You can not place an objective within 3" of a fortification, and an ADL is a fortification.

Where does it say that, because I can not find it in the BRB.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Oh, sorry, I was confused with putting fortifications next to one another. Ignore me. LoL

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/01 22:12:20


 
   
Made in us
Storm Trooper with Maglight





1) If 25% of the model is blocked by intervening ruins it would get a 4+ cover save. If the model is in the area terrain for the ruins but otherwise out in the open it only gets a 5+ save for area terrain. The rules for cover saves are very clear about this and only area terrain override the whole need to be blocked or no cover save from terrain part. Ruins are area "5+ save always even if not blocked" and worth a 4+ save if blocked.
3) no idea but against vehicles I believe it is side armor always.
4) Ok 1 an ADL is not a fortification I believe because it is not typed as that regardless of where the rules for buying one is "but I may be wrong on that part so sue me". But you still cannot place the objective on top of or inside of it. If you want it to be inside of the circle you make with them go to town. The rule is to stop you from putting it inside of buildings or on the ramparts of bastions since only one squad is allowed to be there at a time. You can I believe place it on top of a landingpad because its type is not fortification but area terrain "may also be wrong but sue me again".

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/02 18:43:43


3200 points > 5400 points
2500 points 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 White Ninja wrote:
1) If 25% of the model is blocked by intervening ruins it would get a 4+ cover save. If the model is in the area terrain for the ruins but otherwise out in the open it only gets a 5+ save for area terrain. The rules for cover saves are very clear about this and only area terrain override the whole need to be blocked or no cover save from terrain part. Ruins are area "5+ save always even if not blocked" and worth a 4+ save if blocked.
3) no idea but against vehicles I believe it is side armor always.
4) Ok 1 an ADL is not a fortification I believe because it is not typed as that regardless of where the rules for buying one is "but I may be wrong on that part so sue me". But you still cannot place the objective on top of or inside of it. If you want it to be inside of the circle you make with them go to town. The rule is to stop you from putting it inside of buildings or on the ramparts of bastions since only one squad is allowed to be there at a time. You can I believe place it on top of a landingpad because its type is not fortification but area terrain "may also be wrong but sue me again".


Well, an ADL and landing pad are indeed fortifications as that is the slot they take up when purchased and that is the section of the rule book you will find them in. So, no you still won't be able to put an objective on a landing pad.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

The Objective can be under the landing pad, but not on it.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: