Switch Theme:

Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




I was wondering if Immotekh's lightning can hit flyers? I saw there was a thread on this awhile back but it seemed to have no consensus. Also, I wasn't sure how the new FAQ effected this ability as it isn't a shooting attack.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Far as I know it should still work against them. It's not a shooting attack, as you said.
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




I believe that Imo's lightning should be considered as a form of attack. One that creates automatic hits. So no, it shouldn't hit flyers.
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

Yea cuz everyone know flyers handle thunderstorms much better than any other type of vehicle.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Actually lightning doesn't damage modern day aircraft at all. The lightning hits the aircraft and it continues its path to the ground as if nothing happened. The aircraft's outer shell just acts as a conductor. I guess at the distant future that would stay at least the same.

http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=what-happens-when-lightni

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/03 09:19:35


 
   
Made in us
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade





copper.talos wrote:
I believe that Imo's lightning should be considered as a form of attack. One that creates automatic hits. So no, it shouldn't hit flyers.


Just because you believe it should, doesn't mean that it is.

There is no weapon profile for it. It is a special abilities effect. It is not considered an attack of any kind.

This has been hashed out several times, and I am sure the regulars will be along shortly to begin the cycle again.
   
Made in us
War Walker Pilot with Withering Fire





USA - Salem, OR

If it doesn't roll to hit ... it has no chance of hitting a flyer.

copper.talos wrote:
Actually lightning doesn't damage modern day aircraft at all. The lightning hits the aircraft and it continues its path to the ground as if nothing happened. The aircraft's outer shell just acts as a conductor. I guess at the distant future that would stay at least the same.

http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=what-happens-when-lightni


That logic doesn't make as much sense when applied to FMC's, which often times don't have an outer shell to conduct the electricity without it coursing through the creature's body. I suppose it's the idea that blasts, AoE weapons and auto-hits target the ground, not the sky.

Past armies 4500 pts, 4000 pts 2000 pts
current armies Space Marines 4000 pts, Eldar 3000 pts
Successful Trades: 4
Swap Shop - CSM/Demons for sale 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




I posted about lightning and aircrafts in response to the comment that said that aircrafts should be more vulnerable to lightnings. It wasn't a rule-based argument and of course it doesn't cover fmc.

To get to the rules, directly from the faq:
Therefore, any attacks that use blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them


If an ability can damage something is a form of attack. So Imo's lightning is an attack that doesn't roll to hit, so it cannot be used against fmc or flyers.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/03 09:52:51


 
   
Made in us
2nd Lieutenant




San Jose, California

You do roll to hit with Imotekh's Lightning Attack....you need to roll a 6 on a D6 to affect enemy units with it. If you do hit then you generate the D6 hits. It's not automatic and therefore can affect flyers and FMCs.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/03 12:26:57


Solve a man's problem with violence and help him for a day. Teach a man how to solve his problems with violence, help him for a lifetime - Belkar Bitterleaf 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Pooler, GA

 evildrspock wrote:
logic doesn't make as much sense when applied to FMC's
I can't think of anything quippy enough to say how true this statement is.

I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 Zathras wrote:
You do roll to hit with Imotekh's Lightning Attack....you need to roll a 6 on a D6 to affect enemy units with it. If you do hit then you generate the D6 hits. It's not automatic and therefore can affect flyers and FMCs.
That's not actually a 'to hit' roll. More like a roll to effect.
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





copper.talos wrote:If an ability can damage something is a form of attack. So Imo's lightning is an attack that doesn't roll to hit, so it cannot be used against fmc or flyers.
You are as entitled to your opinions as anyone else however you are just straight up wrong. I don't really know any better way to say it, sorry.

There is no such thing as 'a form of attack' within the context of 40k. Either it is a Close Combat Attack (which is not relevent to this scenario) , a Shooting Attack (which is clearly defined as such), or an Psychic Shooting Attack (also with clearly defined rules) or it is not an attack at all.

In this case Imotekhs' Lord of the Storm is a special ability. It is not 'fired', or 'targetted', you do not check 'LOS' for it, and you most certainly do not 'Roll to Hit' with it.

Ergo, it hit's fliers just fine.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/03 12:32:45


 
   
Made in us
2nd Lieutenant




San Jose, California

 grendel083 wrote:
 Zathras wrote:
You do roll to hit with Imotekh's Lightning Attack....you need to roll a 6 on a D6 to affect enemy units with it. If you do hit then you generate the D6 hits. It's not automatic and therefore can affect flyers and FMCs.
That's not actually a 'to hit' roll. More like a roll to effect.


But you do roll to activate the power....it involves rolling dice and therefore does not hit/affect units automatically. Therefore it does not fall under the rule that prevents it from hitting Fliers and FMCs.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/03 12:41:12


Solve a man's problem with violence and help him for a day. Teach a man how to solve his problems with violence, help him for a lifetime - Belkar Bitterleaf 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




The faq talks about "roll to hit". Imo's power is not activated by a roll to hit. It just requires a 6 on a D6 roll.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/03 12:45:11


 
   
Made in us
2nd Lieutenant




San Jose, California

copper.talos wrote:
The faq talks about "roll to hit". Imo's power is not activated by a roll to hit. It just requires a 6 on a D6 roll.


Hmmm, "roll a 6 on a D6 roll" sounds like a roll to hit to me.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/03 12:48:54


Solve a man's problem with violence and help him for a day. Teach a man how to solve his problems with violence, help him for a lifetime - Belkar Bitterleaf 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




You should read the BRB then. Especially pg13.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/03 12:50:57


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Indiana

and you should re-read zooming fliers. It says shots at fliers can only be resolved as snap shots. Imotekhs lightning is not a shooting attack so does not even trigger that rule. Maledictions also fall under this category

People who stopped buying GW but wont stop bitching about it are the vegans of warhammer

My Deathwatch army project thread  
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Yes I know that part. That's why there is a faq that covers ANY attacks.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






copper.talos wrote:
Yes I know that part. That's why there is a faq that covers ANY attacks.


Well that's just wonderful...except it says you can't "target" them, and imotekh's lightning does not target anything.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




An argument could be made that it targets everyone.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Fragile wrote:
An argument could be made that it targets everyone.


It could, but since it doesn't do that it would be a bad argument. Mainly because, far as I can tell, you only "choose a target" in the shooting phase.
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Death Ray doesn't need a target too. But it still cannot be used against flyers.

And anyway that same faq gives the explicit permission "Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures".
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






copper.talos wrote:
Death Ray doesn't need a target too. But it still cannot be used against flyers.

And anyway that same faq gives the explicit permission "Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures".


Ya, but that was ruled that way more because you're required to nominate points on the battlefield, and it's impossible for a flier to be bisected by that line.

And yes, it does state that, but that has no bearing on a special ability that happens outside of shooting. Specifically because that FAQ entry references "weapons" and other things that only apply in the shooting phase.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Based on the precedent of other non-shooting attacks (i.e. Bomb Squigs and TFtD) I'm inclined to say that Zoomers and Swoopers cannot be hit by the lightning.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Happyjew wrote:
Based on the precedent of other non-shooting attacks (i.e. Bomb Squigs and TFtD) I'm inclined to say that Zoomers and Swoopers cannot be hit by the lightning.


I don't know about bomb squigs, but terror from the deep is a blast marker anyway.

*edit*
Ah, it appears that bomb squigs are used in the shooting phase as well. And most likely do have a weapon profile since they have a range and a strength, probably an AP but I don't know. I'm guessing you need LOS to use them too.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/03 20:57:36


 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




 Kevin949 wrote:

Ya, but that was ruled that way more because you're required to nominate points on the battlefield, and it's impossible for a flier to be bisected by that line.

And yes, it does state that, but that has no bearing on a special ability that happens outside of shooting. Specifically because that FAQ entry references "weapons" and other things that only apply in the shooting phase.


Totally wrong.

"Therefore, any attacks that use blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and novas."

Nothing even hints at " you're required to nominate points on the battlefield, and it's impossible for a flier to be bisected by that line". Which by itself is a wrong statement because a battlefield includes the airspace above the ground. If a line on the battlefield only meant a line on the table then nothing could ever be hit by the Death Ray since it only hits units under the line, so its targets should only be under the table...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/03 21:00:42


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






copper.talos wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:

Ya, but that was ruled that way more because you're required to nominate points on the battlefield, and it's impossible for a flier to be bisected by that line.

And yes, it does state that, but that has no bearing on a special ability that happens outside of shooting. Specifically because that FAQ entry references "weapons" and other things that only apply in the shooting phase.


Totally wrong.

"Therefore, any attacks that use blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and novas."

Nothing even hints at " you're required to nominate points on the battlefield, and it's impossible for a flier to be bisected by that line". Which by itself is a wrong statement because a battlefield includes the airspace above the ground. If a line on the battlefield only meant a line on the table then nothing could ever be hit by the Death Ray since it only hits units under the line, so its targets should only be under the table...


So then I can nominate a point in the air? Anyway, the rule the death ray is abstraction of how the weapon fires but I won't get into the fluff part of it because then we'd be bringing up the blood lance and jaws and blah blah blah that all have the same wording for what is effected (outside of the fact that none of them can target flyers for one reason or another).

Anywho, you can honestly think whatever you want to think about this rule and play it however you want to play it. Everything I have seen demonstrated, though, only references actual shooting attacks or attacks that happen in the shooting phase to not affect a flyer (or disallow targeting of). Imotekhs Lightning strikes are not one of them.
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





copper.talos wrote:Totally wrong.

"Therefore, any attacks that use blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and novas."

Nothing even hints at " you're required to nominate points on the battlefield, and it's impossible for a flier to be bisected by that line". Which by itself is a wrong statement because a battlefield includes the airspace above the ground. If a line on the battlefield only meant a line on the table then nothing could ever be hit by the Death Ray since it only hits units under the line, so its targets should only be under the table...
At the risk of sounding redundant: it's a 'special ability', not an 'attack'.

This is an Attack:
"ATTACKS (A)
...This shows the number of times a model aftacks during close combat..."

As is this:
During the Shooting phase, units armed with ranged weapons can fire at the enemy... ...for each unit in your army that you wish to make a shooting attack...

The special ability you are debating however is not one of those two things nor is it one of the other abilities such as PSAs which use either of the above rule-sets in their function.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2012/10/03 21:49:55


 
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Anything that a unit can use to damage an enemy unit is an attack by definition. If you wish to be extremely strict to the wording of the rules, then your opponent should be equally strict and point to you that the rules only mention weapons can score a penetrating hit against vehicles. So either way the flyer will go undamaged by the lightning.
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





copper.talos wrote:
Anything that a unit can use to damage an enemy unit is an attack by definition. If you wish to be extremely strict to the wording of the rules, then your opponent should be equally strict and point to you that the rules only mention weapons can score a penetrating hit against vehicles. So either way the flyer will go undamaged by the lightning.
Actually no, that definition is your personal opinion.

The 6th edition 40k rule book on the other hand (which i quoted above) is actually quite clear on what is and isn't an attack. (and what constitutes a penetrating hit for that matter, though that is not exactly relevent to this topic)

it'd help if you join the rest of us in discussing what the books actually say, or at least indicate that you are discussing something from the perspective of how you personally would play it rather than a literal interpretation of what it states.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: