Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 18:25:37
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
the lightning is str 8.
Also you COULD have 2 of those harps as well.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/04 18:27:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 18:27:04
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
Happyjew wrote:Just remember though, everything in regards to rolling to penetrate deals with actual attacks, so even if it is able to hit Flyers/ FMCs, it would not be able to actually glance/penetrate.
I would say that the Ram maneuver described on p86 calls for an Armour Penetration roll, but is not an attack.
I think there is a lot to be considered in the faq entry. Please forgive me if I am bringing up already settled points. I do not recall being involved in any of the previous threads on this topic.
BRB Update v1a, p3 [underlining mine]
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/ area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
1) Is the bolt of lightning from Imotekh's p55 Lord of the Storm rule a weapon? It is an attack?
2) Is there a 3rd option other than a) rolling To Hit and b) hitting automatically? The caps on 'To Hit' are suggestive of BS/ WS
3) Is roll of 6 on a d6 for the Lord of the Storm rule causing d6 hits a To Hit roll? What about a to hit roll (no caps)?
4) Is the Lord of the Storm rule a weapon that is generating an area of effect (the whole battlefield)?
Again, please forgive me if I am bringing up already settled points. If you feel any of thee questions has been settled by a specific rule or rules based argument, please link it. Thank you.
Ultimately, I believe this confusion is the result of GW not including a default Armour Penetration procedure.
|
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 18:30:59
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
However only attacks get to add strength, so if the lightning is not an attack it would only get a D6 roll to glance/penetrate.
Also you COULD have 2 of those harps as well.
Or if the vehicle entered in Hover mode and was assaulted by a unit of Scarabs. Both of which I mentioned would presumably speed things up, however, even with 2 Harps, both would be firing as Snap Shots and only hitting 1/6 of the time. My scenario was assuming 1 Harp hitting every single time.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 18:35:10
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Happyjew wrote:
However only attacks get to add strength, so if the lightning is not an attack it would only get a D6 roll to glance/penetrate.
Also you COULD have 2 of those harps as well.
Or if the vehicle entered in Hover mode and was assaulted by a unit of Scarabs. Both of which I mentioned would presumably speed things up, however, even with 2 Harps, both would be firing as Snap Shots and only hitting 1/6 of the time. My scenario was assuming 1 Harp hitting every single time.
I know, was just saying. Though there's always the possibility that your harp or harps are under the influence of the skyfire objective. But yes, I know your scenario was assuming each shot hit and each shot passed ES test.
And yes, I know you were running under the assumption of no D6 to pen, but you were factoring the lightning was Str 6, not 8.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 18:39:14
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
No I was assuming that you ONLY get the D6, since only weapons, Ramming and CC attacks get to add strength for armour penetration.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 18:44:20
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Happyjew wrote:No I was assuming that you ONLY get the D6, since only weapons, Ramming and CC attacks get to add strength for armour penetration.
Oh. Well anyway, it's not how it works so it's pointless to continue this line of discussion in particular.
Back on topic though, I'm kinda starting to think that the lightning wouldn't affect flyers now...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 18:44:31
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
I really don't understand how this issue is still under discussion. Yes it is exceedingly pedantic to claim that you can't damage vehicles with imo's lightning but its RAW. Same exceedingly penadantic as claiming that causing lightning to hit enemy units all over the battlefield is not an attack, only because the description of the ability doesn't mention the word "attack"...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 18:52:38
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
copper.talos wrote:I really don't understand how this issue is still under discussion. Yes it is exceedingly pedantic to claim that you can't damage vehicles with imo's lightning but its RAW. Same exceedingly penadantic as claiming that causing lightning to hit enemy units all over the battlefield is not an attack, only because the description of the ability doesn't mention the word "attack"...
Well technically imotekh's ability is only to bring in night fighting anyway, the lightning strikes are just a sub-effect of his night fighting ability. Just further removes him from the equation, or rather removes him from actually having anything to do with the lightning itself.
Thing is, if you don't roll a D6 for the flyer you're not following the rule. Like I said, the FAQ only says you can't target them, the lightning doesn't target in the traditional sense.
BUT, since the death ray also doesn't work against flyers and it also has the wording "on the battlefield" in the rule for it...that's why I'm leaning to it not working.
Again though, in essence the lightning DOES roll to hit, or to take effect anyway. Similar to tesla weapons getting auto-hits on 6's. You roll a 6 for the lightning, you get d6 auto-hits.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 19:03:10
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
The roll to hit is specifically defined in the BRB. It needs to take into account BS. This ability it's just a 1 in 6 chance. If the description said that the lightning would hit using BS 1, then the result would also be a 1 in 6 chance, but that roll would qualify as a roll to hit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 19:09:42
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
copper.talos wrote:I really don't understand how this issue is still under discussion. Yes it is exceedingly pedantic to claim that you can't damage vehicles with imo's lightning but its RAW. Same exceedingly penadantic as claiming that causing lightning to hit enemy units all over the battlefield is not an attack, only because the description of the ability doesn't mention the word "attack"...
 I apologize if my earlier post offended you. That was not my intention. I was trying for colorful but my have slipped into dismissive.
I would still be interested in people's thoughts on the Ram rules from p86 and how they might apply to this discussion. Also, any responses to any of my other previous questions. Thank you.
It's possible I am misunderstanding the tone of this argument. It seemed fairly settled that strictist RAW, there were some problems with applying the hits from the Lord of the Storm rule to zooming flyers.
I thought we had moved on to RAW-from rules based arguments.
|
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 19:12:24
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
copper.talos wrote:The roll to hit is specifically defined in the BRB. It needs to take into account BS. This ability it's just a 1 in 6 chance. If the description said that the lightning would hit using BS 1, then the result would also be a 1 in 6 chance, but that roll would qualify as a roll to hit.
Yes, and targeting is a specific process as well, that the lightning does not follow and thus isn't restricted by the rules of the FAQ.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 19:18:04
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
copper.talos wrote:The roll to hit is specifically defined in the BRB. It needs to take into account BS. This ability it's just a 1 in 6 chance. If the description said that the lightning would hit using BS 1, then the result would also be a 1 in 6 chance, but that roll would qualify as a roll to hit.
Are you referring to p13? Those are the rules for a firing model. This is a discussion about the Lord of the Storm rule interacting with the Zooming Flyer rule. Neither is a firing model.
|
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 19:22:21
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Furious Raptor
Fort Worth, TX
|
Kevin949 wrote:
BUT, since the death ray also doesn't work against flyers and it also has the wording "on the battlefield" in the rule for it...that's why I'm leaning to it not working.
There was an earlier post in this thread that talked about the battlefield encompassing both what's on the ground and in the air.
The wording of the Death Ray ability, as mentioned above, indicates that it only works whats physically on the ground, meaning that flyers aren't affected. In addition, the FAQ mentions that if you have no other units on the battlefield except for Flyers at the end of your turn, you lose the game.
Although the ground and air of the battle board encompasses the general use of the term battlefield, there's precedent that GW has established what and where the specific use of battlfield represents. Unfortunately, that precedent has excluded flyers for both weapons, effects, and whether or not you lose the game.
I don't have a rulebook handy and my employer blocks GW sites, so i can't go in and get specific pages.
|
I out with in both 40k and WHFB.
Co-host of the HittingOn3s Podcast
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 19:27:31
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
The Lord of the Storm rule adds a step at the beginning of the Necron player's Shooting Phase. The addition of this step is contingent on the Nightfighting rules remaining in effect and not being caused by a Solar Pulse.
In this step, the Necron player is instructed to roll a d6 for each unengaged enemy unit. On a 6, that unit is hit by lightning. Units hit by lightning suffer d6 S8 AP5 hits with the added instruction that if the Unit is a Vehicle, the hits are applied to its side armour.
I think we should be looking at rules that cause hits to Vehicles, but do not involve rolling To Hit. Hence my interest in the Ram rule.
|
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 19:43:06
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Furious Raptor
Fort Worth, TX
|
foolishmortal wrote:The Lord of the Storm rule adds a step at the beginning of the Necron player's Shooting Phase. The addition of this step is contingent on the Nightfighting rules remaining in effect and not being caused by a Solar Pulse.
In this step, the Necron player is instructed to roll a d6 for each unengaged enemy unit. On a 6, that unit is hit by lightning. Units hit by lightning suffer d6 S8 AP5 hits with the added instruction that if the Unit is a Vehicle, the hits are applied to its side armour.
I think we should be looking at rules that cause hits to Vehicles, but do not involve rolling To Hit. Hence my interest in the Ram rule.
Flyers are different because in order to hit a flyer, you have to use an attack that requires a roll to hit, which are the only shots that can be used to fire a snap shot> If you can't fire a snap snot, it can't hit a flyer. The lightning can't be fired as a snap shot.
Unless I'm missing a detail.
|
I out with in both 40k and WHFB.
Co-host of the HittingOn3s Podcast
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 19:49:57
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
Kevin949 wrote:copper.talos wrote:As I said 2 can play the too strict wording game. Since 6th edition BRB says that only weapons add their str to the pen roll, good luck trying to damage a flyer with imo's lightning...
Well, that would affect many things actually. First that comes to mind, from another thread, is the orbital strike relay. It'd never pen a vehicle either.
GK codex lists OSR under Weapons section (p55) and the entry for OSR says to treat it as a ranged weapon (p58)
Kevin949 wrote:Then we have all the special mission rules that include lightning strikes, volcano eruptions, and things of that sort...they'd never pen vehicles.
I am very interested in finding more rules like these for reference.
Example : Is there a rule on a CCB or Walker charging a Necron unit with a Lightning Field?
|
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 19:51:29
Subject: Re:Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver
|
Well, vehicles may become immobilized upon failing a dangerous terrain check, invoking that aspect of the 'vehicle damage table'.
Necron Ghost Arks recieve a 'glancing hit' as part of a failed roll to resurrect necron warriors.
An Embarked Librarian failing a psychic test to manifest 'Vortex of Doom' generates a hit against the vehicles rear armor. (and anything else under the template)
Grey Knight Psychic vehicles treated failed 'Perils' rolls as glancing hits.
That is all that i can recall at present.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 19:56:20
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
kcwm wrote:Flyers are different because in order to hit a flyer, you have to use an attack that requires a roll to hit, which are the only shots that can be used to fire a snap shot> If you can't fire a snap snot, it can't hit a flyer. The lightning can't be fired as a snap shot.
Unless I'm missing a detail.
There are a few details that bring your post into more focus. 1st of all, the flyer/ MC has to be Zooming/Swooping to gain the protections refered to above. This discussion is more about the Zooming rule than Flyers in general.
As the faq says...
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
2nd of all, the lightning from the Lord of the Storm rule (Necrons p55) is not a Close Combat attack, Shooting attack, or an attack from a Weapon.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/04 19:59:05
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 20:13:11
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
foolishmortal wrote:
 I apologize if my earlier post offended you. That was not my intention. I was trying for colorful but my have slipped into dismissive.
You never offended me. My internet connection got a hiccup and although I refreshed the page, no new messages were displayed. Yours was among them. Sorry if it looked like I responded harshly towards you.
Concerning the faq, the question maybe about weapons but the answer covers any attacks.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/04 20:16:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 20:40:22
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
copper.talos wrote:You never offended me. My internet connection got a hiccup and although I refreshed the page, no new messages were displayed. Yours was among them. Sorry if it looked like I responded harshly towards you.
Concerning the faq, the question maybe about weapons but the answer covers any attacks.
No problem. It's the nature of text based internet forum conversations
At this time, I am unconvinced that the Lord of the Storm rule produces attacks. It seems much more like some of the new mysterious terrain rules (like Carnivorous Jungle p102) where Unit is not targeted, but suffers a possible consequence due to its position. In this case, the position would be on the battlefield, at the start of the Necron shooting phase, with Night Fighting, but without a Solar Pulse. Automatically Appended Next Post: kcwm wrote:Although the ground and air of the battle board encompasses the general use of the term battlefield, there's precedent that GW has established what and where the specific use of battlfield represents. Unfortunately, that precedent has excluded flyers for both weapons, effects, and whether or not you lose the game.
I don't have a rulebook handy and my employer blocks GW sites, so i can't go in and get specific pages.
I think you might be referring to...
Q: If you leave combat airspace with all of your Flyers and have no
other models on the gaming board at the beginning of your
opponent's turn, do you automatically lose the game? (p122)
A: Yes.
Q: If all of my units are either Flyers or embarked upon Flyers, will I
automatically lose the game as there are none of my models on the
gaming board at the end of Turn 1? (p122)
A: Yes.
I think the confusion comes from not noting the "Turn 1" in the second entry.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/04 20:52:19
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 21:04:31
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
kcwm wrote: Kevin949 wrote:
BUT, since the death ray also doesn't work against flyers and it also has the wording "on the battlefield" in the rule for it...that's why I'm leaning to it not working.
There was an earlier post in this thread that talked about the battlefield encompassing both what's on the ground and in the air.
The wording of the Death Ray ability, as mentioned above, indicates that it only works whats physically on the ground, meaning that flyers aren't affected. In addition, the FAQ mentions that if you have no other units on the battlefield except for Flyers at the end of your turn, you lose the game.
Although the ground and air of the battle board encompasses the general use of the term battlefield, there's precedent that GW has established what and where the specific use of battlfield represents. Unfortunately, that precedent has excluded flyers for both weapons, effects, and whether or not you lose the game.
I don't have a rulebook handy and my employer blocks GW sites, so i can't go in and get specific pages.
You have that completely wrong, the FAQ talks about flyers not being on the board due to leaving the airspace OR if you only have flyers and units embarked on flyers you'll lose at the end of turn 1 (since everything has to be in reserve).
You contradict yourself with the death ray and the battlefield, also there is NO stipulation it has to be fired on the ground, it says BATTLEFIELD. IF you incorporate the airspace to be the battlefield then I can place a point in the mid-air. Automatically Appended Next Post: kcwm wrote:foolishmortal wrote:The Lord of the Storm rule adds a step at the beginning of the Necron player's Shooting Phase. The addition of this step is contingent on the Nightfighting rules remaining in effect and not being caused by a Solar Pulse.
In this step, the Necron player is instructed to roll a d6 for each unengaged enemy unit. On a 6, that unit is hit by lightning. Units hit by lightning suffer d6 S8 AP5 hits with the added instruction that if the Unit is a Vehicle, the hits are applied to its side armour.
I think we should be looking at rules that cause hits to Vehicles, but do not involve rolling To Hit. Hence my interest in the Ram rule.
Flyers are different because in order to hit a flyer, you have to use an attack that requires a roll to hit, which are the only shots that can be used to fire a snap shot> If you can't fire a snap snot, it can't hit a flyer. The lightning can't be fired as a snap shot.
Unless I'm missing a detail.
You're missing the part in the FAQ that says a weapon that auto-hits when fired as a snap shot still auto-hits.
Also, the lightning is NOT "fired". Automatically Appended Next Post: foolishmortal wrote: Kevin949 wrote:copper.talos wrote:As I said 2 can play the too strict wording game. Since 6th edition BRB says that only weapons add their str to the pen roll, good luck trying to damage a flyer with imo's lightning...
Well, that would affect many things actually. First that comes to mind, from another thread, is the orbital strike relay. It'd never pen a vehicle either.
GK codex lists OSR under Weapons section (p55) and the entry for OSR says to treat it as a ranged weapon (p58)
Kevin949 wrote:Then we have all the special mission rules that include lightning strikes, volcano eruptions, and things of that sort...they'd never pen vehicles.
I am very interested in finding more rules like these for reference.
Example : Is there a rule on a CCB or Walker charging a Necron unit with a Lightning Field?
Yes, it does, but does the OSR itself have a strength or AP?
I don't know what you're getting at, and I think you're taking that line I typed out of context since we were talking in a satirical manner during that discussion.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/04 21:07:48
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 21:31:31
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
Kevin949 wrote:You contradict yourself with the death ray and the battlefield, also there is NO stipulation it has to be fired on the ground, it says BATTLEFIELD. IF you incorporate the airspace to be the battlefield then I can place a point in the mid-air.
 He did mention that he didn't have access to a rulebook / GW website pdf updates.
The BRB update is pretty specific on this issue. It even mentions the Necron Death Ray by name
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Kevin949 wrote:You're missing the part in the FAQ that says a weapon that auto-hits when fired as a snap shot still auto-hits.
I'm still thinking about this part of it myself. I keep coming back to the point that it is the question that mentions "hits automatically", not the GW answer. Like I said, still thinking about it.
Kevin949 wrote:I don't know what you're getting at, and I think you're taking that line I typed out of context since we were talking in a satirical manner during that discussion.
Not really getting at anything. Just saying that the OSR is noted under Weapons in GK Codex and said to be treated as a weapon in its rules entry. I think that there are other rules that might be more helpful on this topic. Things that aren't weapons or attacks, but that cause hits.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/04 21:31:55
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 21:32:07
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Kevin949 wrote:Happyjew wrote:Again, terror from the deep and bomb squigs are not shooting attacks, and they cannot hit flyers.
Although not covered, one could argue that Swooping Hawk grenade packs are not a sitting attack either.
TFTD is a blast, so that's right out either way.
Re-read hard to hit please. It's blast weapons that are right out. TFTD is not a blast weapon. Please stop ignoring the point he's making.
It's exactly comparable. It's a special rule, not an attack or weapon, and is not allowed to hit flyers (because it does not roll to hit).
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 21:57:13
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
rigeld2 wrote:Re-read hard to hit please. It's blast weapons that are right out. TFTD is not a blast weapon. Please stop ignoring the point he's making.
It's exactly comparable. It's a special rule, not an attack or weapon, and is not allowed to hit flyers (because it does not roll to hit).
This does seem comparable. I would prefer if it did not use the Large Blast marker to determine what is affected, but we work with what we have.
Reading the rule in the Tyranids Codex, it sounds quite similar to the Necron rule for Death Ray.
"Every unit under the marker suffers a number of S6, AP2 hits equal to the number of models in that unit that are wholly or partially covered by the marker."
The only major difference I see between the TftD rule and the Lord of the Storm Rule, is that the hits for the former are automatic depending on position, while the hits for the latter are potential (6 on a d6).
I'm not sure if that is enough of a difference though.
If we are going to make a rules based, common sense, decision that TftD uses a Large Blast Marker, but is not a Blast Weapon, might we also consider that a roll that determines whether or not something is hit could be called a to hit roll (not a To Hit roll). I'm not saying that's what I think, merely that the two cases require about the same amount of favorable viewing to agree with.
|
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 21:57:56
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
GW has made it pretty clear they dont want their flyers messed with. And that one FAQ pretty much summed up that attitude.
"Therefore, any attacks that use blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them."
That pretty much covers about any generic power/ability, that does not use the snap shot rule. Prior to this set of FAQ's, there was alot of ground to argue how GW wanted/intended it to work. Now unless the ability or power states that it can hit a flyer, you can safely assume that it doesnt.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 22:04:24
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
rigeld2 wrote: Kevin949 wrote:Happyjew wrote:Again, terror from the deep and bomb squigs are not shooting attacks, and they cannot hit flyers.
Although not covered, one could argue that Swooping Hawk grenade packs are not a sitting attack either.
TFTD is a blast, so that's right out either way.
Re-read hard to hit please. It's blast weapons that are right out. TFTD is not a blast weapon. Please stop ignoring the point he's making.
It's exactly comparable. It's a special rule, not an attack or weapon, and is not allowed to hit flyers (because it does not roll to hit).
Per the FAQ that is pointed out so often, it says "attacks" not "weapons". So, I'm not ignoring anything. He's not making a point with TFTD.
And yes, it's absolutely an attack. It's directed by the player, it rolls for scatter, and it uses a marker.
Plus I'm willing to bet that TFTD has some mention of "on the battlefield" to it as well.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
foolishmortal wrote: Kevin949 wrote:You contradict yourself with the death ray and the battlefield, also there is NO stipulation it has to be fired on the ground, it says BATTLEFIELD. IF you incorporate the airspace to be the battlefield then I can place a point in the mid-air.
 He did mention that he didn't have access to a rulebook / GW website pdf updates.
The BRB update is pretty specific on this issue. It even mentions the Necron Death Ray by name
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
I know it does, but that doesn't really mean much, they're just using it as an example of the types of weapons that wouldn't work. Probably because these were the most debated weapons. Now obviously that doesn't mean the list stops with these mentioned here, but all they did mention were weapons/attacks that are directed by a model or directly controlled by a model. They didn't reference battlefield wide abilities at all. Well, I guess the "area of effect" bit might count, but again imotekh's ability is primarily bringing night fight into play. Anyway...
That being said, I'm on the fence now of whether the lightning would work or not.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/10/04 22:11:32
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 22:12:03
Subject: Re:Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
I keep coming back to the Hard to Hit rule and the BRB faq entry.
Q: How do maelstroms, novas and beams – or indeed any weapon
that doesn’t need to roll To Hit or hits automatically – interact with
Zooming Flyers and Swooping Flying Monstrous Creatures? (p13)
A: Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers and Swooping
Flying Monstrous Creatures. Therefore, any attacks that use
blast markers, templates, create a line of/area of effect or
otherwise don’t roll to hit cannot target them. This includes
weapons such as the Necron Doom Scythe’s death ray or the
Deathstrike missile of the Imperial Guard, and psychic
powers that follow the rule for maelstroms, beams, and
novas.
Some of the disagreement seems to be based on whether the underline portion of the FAQ entry prohibits anything other than snap shots from hitting a Zooming Flyer.
My 3 main problems with such an all encompassingly restrictive interpretation
1) That would rule out Skyfire weapons. That seems blatantly wrong.
2) The scope the answer would be much larger than the scope of the question
3) It ignores the implication of this being a FAQ entry and not an errata or an amendment. This should be clarifying somthing from the rulebook, not adding new restrictions. I know GW plays fast and loose with this. That does not mean we should as well
|
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 22:27:12
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
"Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers"
Is the Lightning fired as a Snap Shot? (No) Then how is it generating automatic hits on a flyer?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 22:29:08
Subject: Re:Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
Rough Rider with Boomstick
|
Let me see if I understand the potential positions on the issue of Lord of the Storm vs Hard to Hit
1) LotS instructs me to check for a lightning hit, but HtH prevents the check. If this is your position, I would ask, Why does HtH prevent the check?
2) LotS instructs me to check for a lightning hit, but HtH allows the check but negates the hits. If this is your position, I would ask, Why does HtH negates the hits?
3) LotS instructs me to check for a lightning hit, but the non-weapon nature of the lightning does not allow for a d6 to be added to the Armor Pen check. If this is your position, I would ask you what about Ramming on p86
4) LotS instructs me to check for a lightning hit and nothing in the HTH, Zooming, Swooping, or any related BRB/Codex Updates gives me a compelling reason not to apply such a hit as I might any other hit.
Strictest RAW, I would say I am a #3 right now.
RAW with rules based arguments, as well as RAI/ HIWPI, I would say I am #4 right now. I could be convinced to switch to #2 if someone could show how LotS is a template attack with the whole battlefield as the template. Automatically Appended Next Post: DeathReaper wrote:"Only Snap Shots can hit Zooming Flyers"
Is the Lightning fired as a Snap Shot? (No) Then how is it generating automatic hits on a flyer?
Is a ADL Quad gun fired as a Snap Shot? Then how is it generating hits on a flyer?
That faq entry does not live in a vacuum. There are other rules that allow hits to be generated without snap shots. In this case, the Skyfire rule, and in the OP's case, the Lord of the Storm rule.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/04 22:31:31
"Ignorance is bliss, and I am a happy man."
"When you claim to be a purple unicorn, and I do not argue with you, it is not because I agree with you."
“If the iron is hot, I desire to believe it is hot, and if it is cool, I desire to believe it is cool.”
"Beware when you find yourself arguing that a policy is defensible rather than optimal; or that it has some benefit compared to the null action, rather than the best benefit of any action." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/04 22:39:23
Subject: Imotekh's lightning Vs flyers
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Kevin949 wrote:
Per the FAQ that is pointed out so often, it says "attacks" not "weapons". So, I'm not ignoring anything. He's not making a point with TFTD.
And yes, it's absolutely an attack. It's directed by the player, it rolls for scatter, and it uses a marker.
Plus I'm willing to bet that TFTD has some mention of "on the battlefield" to it as well.
You threw out TFTD because it used a blast marker. I proved that was irrelevant. (Hard to Hit ignores blast weapons, not blast markers in general)
It's a special rule, just like LotS, that causes damage under certain circumstances, just like LotS.
And no, the words "on the battlefield" don't appear anywhere in the rules for TFTD. Are you seriously arguing about rules you don't know the wording of?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
|