Switch Theme:

KnockDown and random rule questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Iron Fang



South West VA

Does a model stay in shield wall if they are knocked down?

Can you be in shield wall a turn you made combat actions? I.E. can I be engaged in melee combat and still receive my shield wall bonus?

Can you walk/run/trample or otherwise move through knock downed models?

If one model is engaged in melee, and the rest of the unit is not, can they declare a charge? Or do they just have to walk into combat.

Reading the rules for intervening models, does a large based model provide concealment or cover for a small based model that is within 1" of the large based model?

Thanks,

“Ideas are more powerful than guns. We would not let our enemies have guns, why should we let them have ideas.”

Khador 133 Points and 11 Casters
W:11 L:4 D:0 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





promo wrote:



1-) Does a model stay in shield wall if they are knocked down?

2-)Can you be in shield wall a turn you made combat actions? I.E. can I be engaged in melee combat and still receive my shield wall bonus?

3-)Can you walk/run/trample or otherwise move through knock downed models?

4-)If one model is engaged in melee, and the rest of the unit is not, can they declare a charge? Or do they just have to walk into combat.

5-)Reading the rules for intervening models, does a large based model provide concealment or cover for a small based model that is within 1" of the large based model?

Thanks,


Numbers added to the above quote for clarity.

1-) Yes. Shield Wall requires the models be in B2B it doesn't care if they're knocked down or not.
2-) Yes. Shield Wall places no restrictions on the actions you take. Note that Shield Wall is an order so it typically can't be used in the same turn as a run or charge, as they also require orders.
3-) You may trample as normal if they are small based models. You may not otherwise advance through them.
4-) Yes. A charge order does not check the models for any kind of state when given. When the order is issued all models in the unit must run or charge. The models already engaged will charge but their charge movement will be insufficient to claim the boosted damage rolls from the charge.
5-) No. Models never provide cover or concealment. However, note that some abilities or effects may grant concealment or cover based on some are around a model subject to that special effect.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/05 16:57:11


 
   
Made in us
Mutilatin' Mad Dok




Philadelphia, PA

promo wrote:
Does a model stay in shield wall if they are knocked down?

Can you be in shield wall a turn you made combat actions? I.E. can I be engaged in melee combat and still receive my shield wall bonus?

Can you walk/run/trample or otherwise move through knock downed models?

If one model is engaged in melee, and the rest of the unit is not, can they declare a charge? Or do they just have to walk into combat.

Reading the rules for intervening models, does a large based model provide concealment or cover for a small based model that is within 1" of the large based model?

Thanks,


1. I believe shield wall requires the model not to be knocked down, I remember that somewhere, so my answer differs, you might want to check on that.
2. Shieldwall is an most commonly and order. So you can advance shieldwall, and make regular attacks / with shock troopers shoot the shield cannons. The Iron Fang Pikeman adds versatility where he can 1x per game, make a unit shield wall after charging or PRE running.
3. You cannot advance through a knocked down model with a move / run. You can trample over them. There are models who have rules that let them advance through models.
4. Unengaged models can receive a charge order. The engaged model could charge IF it can move 3 inches. The only exceptions are if something prevents it IE a feat, polarity field, etc
5. Models can block LOS, they do not provide cover / concealment.

Tournment Record
2013: Khador (40-9-0)
============
DQ:70+S++++G+M+B+I+Pw40k95-D++A+++/aWD100R+++T(M)DM+

 
   
Made in us
Wraith





njpc wrote:

1. I believe shield wall requires the model not to be knocked down, I remember that somewhere, so my answer differs, you might want to check on that.
2. Shieldwall is an most commonly and order. So you can advance shieldwall, and make regular attacks / with shock troopers shoot the shield cannons. The Iron Fang Pikeman adds versatility where he can 1x per game, make a unit shield wall after charging or PRE running.
3. You cannot advance through a knocked down model with a move / run. You can trample over them. There are models who have rules that let them advance through models.
4. Unengaged models can receive a charge order. The engaged model could charge IF it can move 3 inches. The only exceptions are if something prevents it IE a feat, polarity field, etc
5. Models can block LOS, they do not provide cover / concealment.


1) Shieldwall is independent of knockdown. http://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?106725-Shieldwall-vs-Knock-Down
2) IFP cannot pop the minifeat prior to running since the shieldwall happens after completed action and running cannot complete the action. BDP can because it says at any point during activation. Failing a charge with the IFP also means no minifeat.
   
Made in us
Bane Thrall





njpc wrote:
promo wrote:
Does a model stay in shield wall if they are knocked down?

Can you be in shield wall a turn you made combat actions? I.E. can I be engaged in melee combat and still receive my shield wall bonus?

Can you walk/run/trample or otherwise move through knock downed models?

If one model is engaged in melee, and the rest of the unit is not, can they declare a charge? Or do they just have to walk into combat.

Reading the rules for intervening models, does a large based model provide concealment or cover for a small based model that is within 1" of the large based model?

Thanks,


1. I believe shield wall requires the model not to be knocked down, I remember that somewhere, so my answer differs, you might want to check on that.
2. Shieldwall is an most commonly and order. So you can advance shieldwall, and make regular attacks / with shock troopers shoot the shield cannons. The Iron Fang Pikeman adds versatility where he can 1x per game, make a unit shield wall after charging or PRE running.
3. You cannot advance through a knocked down model with a move / run. You can trample over them. There are models who have rules that let them advance through models.
4. Unengaged models can receive a charge order. The engaged model could charge IF it can move 3 inches. The only exceptions are if something prevents it IE a feat, polarity field, etc
5. Models can block LOS, they do not provide cover / concealment.


Just to clear this up, Orders are issued unit wide. If you charge, everyone must either charge or run. You can still charge a model you are in melee with, but unless you move 3" or more, you do not get the boosted damage. However, you still get to attack as normal.

GW Rules Interpretation Syndrom. GWRIS. Causes people to second guess a rule in a book because that's what they would have had to do in a GW system.


 SilverMK2 wrote:
"Well, I have epilepsy and was holding a knife when I had a seizure... I couldn't help it! I was just trying to chop the vegetables for dinner!"
 
   
Made in us
Sinewy Scourge




Lawrence, KS

Mattman154 wrote:
njpc wrote:
promo wrote:
Does a model stay in shield wall if they are knocked down?

Can you be in shield wall a turn you made combat actions? I.E. can I be engaged in melee combat and still receive my shield wall bonus?

Can you walk/run/trample or otherwise move through knock downed models?

If one model is engaged in melee, and the rest of the unit is not, can they declare a charge? Or do they just have to walk into combat.

Reading the rules for intervening models, does a large based model provide concealment or cover for a small based model that is within 1" of the large based model?

Thanks,


1. I believe shield wall requires the model not to be knocked down, I remember that somewhere, so my answer differs, you might want to check on that.
2. Shieldwall is an most commonly and order. So you can advance shieldwall, and make regular attacks / with shock troopers shoot the shield cannons. The Iron Fang Pikeman adds versatility where he can 1x per game, make a unit shield wall after charging or PRE running.
3. You cannot advance through a knocked down model with a move / run. You can trample over them. There are models who have rules that let them advance through models.
4. Unengaged models can receive a charge order. The engaged model could charge IF it can move 3 inches. The only exceptions are if something prevents it IE a feat, polarity field, etc
5. Models can block LOS, they do not provide cover / concealment.


Just to clear this up, Orders are issued unit wide. If you charge, everyone must either charge or run. You can still charge a model you are in melee with, but unless you move 3" or more, you do not get the boosted damage. However, you still get to attack as normal.


Further clarification: If you move less than 3" you may attack, but that attack is not a "Charge Attack," for all of the related abilities that may be affected (powerful charge, brutal charge, the boosted damage, etc. Similarly if a model's combat action comes up and it is no longer engaging its charge target (for any reason, usually someone else killed it on their charge) but IS engaging another model, it may make a normal (not charge) melee attack against that model.

Therefore, if you have a couple Wolves of Orboros with Powerful Charge already engaging someone and the rest of the unit charges that target (or any others) those two wolves will NOT get their +2 to attack rolls against it. They received the Charge Order, they made a Charge Move, but as they did not move at least 3", they do not make a Charge Attack, as PA states that you get +2 to Charge Attack rolls.

Therion wrote:
6th edition lands on June 23rd!

Good news. This is the best time in the hobby. Full of promise. GW lets us down each time and we know it but secretly we're hoping that this is the edition that GW gives us a balanced game that can also be played competitively at tournaments. I'm loving it.
 
   
Made in us
Wraith





Mattman154 wrote:


Just to clear this up, Orders are issued unit wide. If you charge, everyone must either charge or run. You can still charge a model you are in melee with, but unless you move 3" or more, you do not get the boosted damage. However, you still get to attack as normal.


You do not get the boosted damage period. You cannot charge something you are already engaged with, regardless of if you move more than 3".
   
Made in us
Bane Thrall





12thRonin wrote:
Mattman154 wrote:


Just to clear this up, Orders are issued unit wide. If you charge, everyone must either charge or run. You can still charge a model you are in melee with, but unless you move 3" or more, you do not get the boosted damage. However, you still get to attack as normal.


You do not get the boosted damage period. You cannot charge something you are already engaged with, regardless of if you move more than 3".


Nowhere in the charge portion of the rules is that mentioned. Would you be able to point me to a specific paragraph?

GW Rules Interpretation Syndrom. GWRIS. Causes people to second guess a rule in a book because that's what they would have had to do in a GW system.


 SilverMK2 wrote:
"Well, I have epilepsy and was holding a knife when I had a seizure... I couldn't help it! I was just trying to chop the vegetables for dinner!"
 
   
Made in us
Wraith





Infernal ruling

Valander wrote:
1. Yes, every member of the unit must either charge or run. However, you can declare a charge against a target you're already engaged with; you just will not move 3" or more, and thus will not get the charge attack bonus, but since you never left the melee range of an enemy model, no free strike.


This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/11/03 16:51:12


 
   
Made in us
Bane Thrall





Hmm.. I'm not sure if that's right. He may be talking about a scenario where you are b2b, and that particular model won't be able to get 3". But if you have reach and you move at a sharp angle you should be able to.

I'll ask on the forums

GW Rules Interpretation Syndrom. GWRIS. Causes people to second guess a rule in a book because that's what they would have had to do in a GW system.


 SilverMK2 wrote:
"Well, I have epilepsy and was holding a knife when I had a seizure... I couldn't help it! I was just trying to chop the vegetables for dinner!"
 
   
Made in gb
Bane Lord Tartar Sauce





Oxford, Great Britain

You can easily move over three inches when engaged and charging that model. If you have reach, that is. Collossals make this ridiculously easy as well as the charging model having a 4" melee range (chain strike?).
   
Made in us
Bane Thrall





Apparently the infernal ruling was in regards to a different scenario. So as long as you fulfill the 3" move requirement you DO get a charge attack even if you were previously engaged with that same model.

GW Rules Interpretation Syndrom. GWRIS. Causes people to second guess a rule in a book because that's what they would have had to do in a GW system.


 SilverMK2 wrote:
"Well, I have epilepsy and was holding a knife when I had a seizure... I couldn't help it! I was just trying to chop the vegetables for dinner!"
 
   
Made in us
Wraith





Fair enough then. I'd been told this by PG's using that post on the forums.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/03 19:23:08


 
   
 
Forum Index » Privateer Press Miniature Games (Warmachine & Hordes)
Go to: