Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/13 12:58:07
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
Decided to throw this into the ring since it shouldn't be clogging up a tactics thread. Here is the rulle: "Before deployment, roll on the boon table (pg 29) and mark the result on your army roster. Do not apply any spawnhood or dark apothesis results: roll again on the table instead. The model has that result for the entire game." Now the way I see it it allows for re-rolls fo re-rolls. Codex trumps Rulebook and it states you do not apply "any results" which means you would continue to re-roll spawn or dark apothesis. That's my take. What do you guys think?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/13 12:58:19
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/13 13:04:48
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Sinister Chaos Marine
|
Do you mean that if you roll a spawn, then do your re-roll and get another spawn you roll a third time? Automatically Appended Next Post: That's how I see it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/13 13:05:16
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/13 13:13:30
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Looks that way. I wouldn't expect it to set any presedants though, this is a very specific rule.
|
Unnessesarily extravegant word of the week award goes to jcress410 for this:
jcress wrote:Seem super off topic to complain about epistemology on a thread about tactics. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/13 13:36:48
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
Not expecting it to happen all over the place but I do think this rule allows for multiple re-rolls if you happen to roll a spawn or dp twice in a row.
|
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/13 14:05:30
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Its a pretty clearly stated rule. I am not sure what the question is. Its the same format as generating Psychic Powers.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/13 15:13:26
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
I would say that the 1st one gets re-rolls but if you get the one that says D3 rolls then you loose the re-rolls. As I believe it's D3 rolls on the boon table and ignore any spawn/prince roll.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/13 15:21:47
Subject: Re:Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
You reroll all Spawn/DP results, except for the D3 rolls result's rolls. Those are whatever is rolled, ignoring Spawn and DP results.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/13 15:39:10
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Fragile wrote:Its a pretty clearly stated rule. I am not sure what the question is. Its the same format as generating Psychic Powers.
The question is also pretty clearly stated, but it was asked due to the "you can never re-roll a re-roll" rule that has been in the game for lord-knows-how-long. Up until now, there have been exceedingly few, if any, ways of breaking that rule, so it's only logical to make sure one has it right before one goes and tries it; after all, a lot of people will have gotten used to the rule being unbreakable after so many years of it. There's no harm in checking that one is correct, especially when it comes to rulings like this.
|
Mandorallen turned back toward the insolently sneering baron. 'My Lord,' The great knight said distantly, 'I find thy face apelike and thy form misshapen. Thy beard, moreover, is an offence against decency, resembling more closely the scabrous fur which doth decorate the hinder portion of a mongrel dog than a proper adornment for a human face. Is it possibly that thy mother, seized by some wild lechery, did dally at some time past with a randy goat?' - Mimbrate Knight Protector Mandorallen.
Excerpt from "Seeress of Kell", Book Five of The Malloreon series by David Eddings.
My deviantART Profile - Pay No Attention To The Man Behind The Madness
"You need not fear us, unless you are a dark heart, a vile one who preys on the innocent; I promise, you can’t hide forever in the empty darkness, for we will hunt you down like the animals you are, and pull you into the very bowels of hell." Iron - Within Temptation |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/13 15:57:01
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Roll again != Reroll, according to the rules. Hasnt been for 3 editions now, at least (cf the roll off for first turn in 4th, etc)
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/13 16:05:49
Subject: Re:Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
There are a lot of things mentioning re-rolling spawnhood and dark apotheosis results on the chaos boon table. However in the rulebook it states for anything re-roll you only do it once and accept the 2nd result. This leads me to believe that if you roll dark apotheosis or spawn hood twice in a row that you would be stuck with that result. Am i right or would you keep re-rolling those results? I dont see anything that would break the re-roll rules in the main rulebook.
Example:
boon 64: Roll another D3+1 times on this table,re-rolling spawnhood and dark apotheosis results.
Page 5 of rulebook: No dice can be re-rolled twice regardless of the source of the re-roll. It is not trumping the codex in any means its merely stating what a re-roll is. Had the csm codex said something to the effect of re-rolling all spawnhood and dark apotheosis results or even easier just canceled out those results it wouldn't have been an issue. However, as it has been already noticed it is left too open to rule in my favor in a match if I get called on it in a game I will have to yield to it whether my lord becomes a spawn or loses all his gear and becomes a prince. Unless I see clear text or faq otherwise.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/13 16:29:51
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
If it states "roll again", that is not a reroll.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/13 16:30:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/14 04:11:03
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
boon 64 actually states re-rolling as stated in my last post.
Dont wanna derail the thread but i was told I could not take a plague zombie unit above 10 guys do to the wording on that. This codex might need an faq faster then expected.
Actually played a game in a tournament today where i got boon 64 and actually rolled spawnhood but didnt get it on the re-roll luckily.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/14 04:13:16
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/14 04:49:03
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard
|
Tomb King wrote:
Dont wanna derail the thread but i was told I could not take a plague zombie unit above 10 guys do to the wording on that.
Wow that is some bull there. I disagree with nos about 50% of the time, that doesn't mean I disregard what he says off hand. We cannot have rational discussions here if we just ignore people cos they thought something different one time.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/14 04:52:11
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine
|
Well I would handle it like the Jokearo from the GK codex. That you roll once on the table if you get a six you can roll two more dice. Well on those dice your ignore future results of a 6. So in turn I would apply it here, you roll once. If you must reroll you must accept the second result. Even if you are not allowed to use it. So in turn if you roll Spawn and then Daemon Prince you will get nothing for the Boon Mutation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/14 05:14:49
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
Zedrenael wrote:Well I would handle it like the Jokearo from the GK codex. That you roll once on the table if you get a six you can roll two more dice. Well on those dice your ignore future results of a 6. So in turn I would apply it here, you roll once. If you must reroll you must accept the second result. Even if you are not allowed to use it. So in turn if you roll Spawn and then Daemon Prince you will get nothing for the Boon Mutation.
Except you cant apply a rule that isn't there. It doesn't say anywhere to ignore those results only to re-roll them.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/14 06:28:18
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
For what its worth Warriors of Chaos, who have a similar mechanic, are allowed to break 8th ed you can't re-roll a re-roll under certain circumstances. It wouldn't strike me odd if Chaos Marines could do the same, re-rolling until they don't get those two, despite the number of re-rolls. However I do concede that there is no RAW for this line of thought, and only a very shaky precedent.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/14 12:44:23
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
We're not talking about #64 on the boon table. That states re-roll and doesn't allow for the mechanic to be broken. We're discussing Gift of Mutation which is worded completely differently.
Let's keep it on the GoM discarding and rolling again, multiple times as required.
|
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/14 19:48:17
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
really? you need clarification. Its not this hard people.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/14 19:54:45
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Concur that it's just like generating psychic powers. You keep re-rolling as many times as necessary until you get a legal result.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/14 20:29:03
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
To be fair I only posted as a lot of people seem to be interpreting this incorrectly. Figured it was good to have out there.
|
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/10/14 21:31:42
Subject: Gift of Mutation - Does it Allow Multiple Re-rolls?
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
Imho the only one in question is boon 64
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
|