Switch Theme:

Very Bulky  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in it
Infiltrating Broodlord





Italy

Hi all, does anyone may resume me what very bulky confers to a model? I don't have my BRB with me and I'm completing a list right now.

Every molecule will be useful

6000+ pts NIDS
() 2000 pts growing to 4000... 
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

Only that he doesn't fit in most transports, and takes up more space in transports that specifically state they can transport Very Bulky models.

   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

A transport doesn't have to list whether it can take Very Bulky models. It'll specify when it can't take certain troops - for instance, Rhinos state they can't transport models in Terminator armour.

Very Bulky simply means each model with the rule takes more space to transport. I forget how many though.

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

The new CSM codex doesn't state Rhinos cannot transport Terminator models, it now just specifies it cannot transport Bulky, Very Bulky and Extremely Bulky models (while the Land Raider doesn't have that exception, so it could transport e.g. a model in a Palanquin of Nurgle). A trend I assume will continue with the upcoming 6th edition transports.

And note, that you can still only carry Infantry unless specified otherwise.

   
Made in gb
Chalice-Wielding Sanguinary High Priest





Stevenage, UK

It does, doesn't it...good point. And yeah, I expect the trend to continue going forwards. But right now you can pull some odd tricks with Battle Brothers, not that most of the time you'd want to...

"Hard pressed on my right. My centre is yielding. Impossible to manoeuvre. Situation excellent. I am attacking." - General Ferdinand Foch  
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

Can't embark upon allied transports, so no issue there.

   
Made in us
Ravager






Okinawa, Japan

Each level confers +1 to transport. So if Bulky is 2 models "slots", do the math for Very Bulky and Extremely Bulky(which I think are now Bike models? Why would they be in transports anyways?!?!?!)

To be honest, there is a reason most Bulky models can teleport =P it's basically a waste to stick a terminator in a transport in most cases, unless it's a Wolf without the Teleporter. But then, just cram em in a drop pod!

That which is unknown and unseen always commands the greatest fear. - Culexus Temple, Officio Assassinorum
Circle Orboros 35 pts
*Shelved*1850 Pts
*Shelved* 1000 Pts  
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




California

Without the restrictions it seems like i might be able to transport some obliterators or maybe even chaos spawn in a land raider.
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

Extremely Bulky is 5 spaces actually.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Cyvash wrote:
Without the restrictions it seems like i might be able to transport some obliterators or maybe even chaos spawn in a land raider.


Obliterators can indeed, but you cannot put Chaos Spawn in a Land Raider because they're Beasts.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/19 13:49:28


   
Made in us
Leaping Dog Warrior




New York

Can BA Chaplain or librarian in termie armor go in a drop pod with say 8 death company?


Not smart enough for witty signatures 
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

Yes

   
Made in mx
Morphing Obliterator





Mexico

 Redemption wrote:
Extremely Bulky is 5 spaces actually.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Cyvash wrote:
Without the restrictions it seems like i might be able to transport some obliterators or maybe even chaos spawn in a land raider.


Obliterators can indeed, but you cannot put Chaos Spawn in a Land Raider because they're Beasts.


Where is this only infantry rule? If there is no way to transport them for being beasts kinda makes irrelevant giving them the very bulky rule

CSM 10k points
IG 3k points
Orks 2k points
WoC 3.5k points
VC 2.5k points
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 ZakFaire wrote:
Each level confers +1 to transport. So if Bulky is 2 models "slots", do the math for Very Bulky and Extremely Bulky(which I think are now Bike models? Why would they be in transports anyways?!?!?!)

To be honest, there is a reason most Bulky models can teleport =P it's basically a waste to stick a terminator in a transport in most cases, unless it's a Wolf without the Teleporter. But then, just cram em in a drop pod!


Bikes are very bulky.

And the Night Scythe can carry the necron jetbikes. I know it doesn't make much sense but maybe you don't want them on the board at the very beginning of the game when they're most vulnerable.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Lord Yayula wrote:
 Redemption wrote:
Extremely Bulky is 5 spaces actually.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Cyvash wrote:
Without the restrictions it seems like i might be able to transport some obliterators or maybe even chaos spawn in a land raider.


Obliterators can indeed, but you cannot put Chaos Spawn in a Land Raider because they're Beasts.


Where is this only infantry rule? If there is no way to transport them for being beasts kinda makes irrelevant giving them the very bulky rule


In the transport rules, pg 78.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/19 16:08:55


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Kevin949 wrote:
And the Night Scythe can carry the necron jetbikes. I know it doesn't make much sense but maybe you don't want them on the board at the very beginning of the game when they're most vulnerable.

Unless 6th changed it (can't check my book right now) the jetbikes can't start in the Scythe because it's a Dedicated transport and they can't buy it.
They can Embark any turn after it comes on the board though.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






rigeld2 wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
And the Night Scythe can carry the necron jetbikes. I know it doesn't make much sense but maybe you don't want them on the board at the very beginning of the game when they're most vulnerable.

Unless 6th changed it (can't check my book right now) the jetbikes can't start in the Scythe because it's a Dedicated transport and they can't buy it.
They can Embark any turn after it comes on the board though.


Oh ya, that's true. I keep forgetting it's "only" a dedicated transport.

   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

You could attach a Destoyer Lord to a squad with a dedicated Night Scythe, if I'm not mistaken.

   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Redemption wrote:
You could attach a Destoyer Lord to a squad with a dedicated Night Scythe, if I'm not mistaken.

Sure - but a Destroyer Lord isn't a jetbike model, and isn't what we were talking about in the first place.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

Oh right, keep forgetting Destoyers aren't Jetbikes anymore, but Jump Infantry.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: