Switch Theme:

Can Cato Sicarius get Infiltrate by joining a tactical squad he gives infiltrate to?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Conniving Informer





Let's say Sicarius gives infiltrate to a tac squad and joins that tac squad. Can you then deploy Sicarius in infiltration along with that squad?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I may have answered my own question but I want to make sure I have this right. Looking at page 38 of the rulebook:

"Units that contain AT LEAST ONE MODEL with this (Infiltrate) special rule..."

Page 39:
"An Independent Character can begin the game already with a unit, either by being deployed in unit coherency with it..."

So I would guess that the answer is yes, right?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/21 14:55:49


 
   
Made in us
Tzeentch Aspiring Sorcerer Riding a Disc






Battle Barge Impossible Fortress

Nopers.

You may have overlooked the area in "Characters" that says something along the lines of "Independent Characters without this rule may not Infiltrate with units who have it".

Probably not the exact quote, but I'm not at home.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2012/10/21 15:20:44


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





How is his rule worded?

Chaos warlords can give infiltrate to themselves, then join a squad which gives that squad infiltrate.

   
Made in us
Tzeentch Aspiring Sorcerer Riding a Disc






Battle Barge Impossible Fortress

It's worded like "sicarius can give a single Tactical Squad one of the following USRS:" type deal.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Per the Infiltrate rule, an IC has to be one of the models with Infiltrate in order to use the rule. This is different then Outflank where only one model needs the rule, or Fleet where everyone needs it.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

bowloflostcells wrote:
Let's say Sicarius gives infiltrate to a tac squad and joins that tac squad. Can you then deploy Sicarius in infiltration along with that squad?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
I may have answered my own question but I want to make sure I have this right. Looking at page 38 of the rulebook:

"Units that contain AT LEAST ONE MODEL with this (Infiltrate) special rule..."

Page 39:
"An Independent Character can begin the game already with a unit, either by being deployed in unit coherency with it..."

So I would guess that the answer is yes, right?


In short, no.

   
Made in us
Conniving Informer





ok I found the actual rule that I was overlooking. It's the last paragraph of the Infiltrate section under Special Rules which states "An Independent Character without the Infiltrate special rule cannot join a unit of Infiltrators during deployment."
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: