Switch Theme:

Machine wraith  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Worthiest of Warlock Engineers






preston

I was thinking the other day...... What happens if a machine wraith is in a jack and another tries to get in? is the first one forced out? or does it fai

either
1there both on the same side

or
2there opposing forces

Free from GW's tyranny and the hobby is looking better for it
DR:90-S++G+++M++B++I+Pww205++D++A+++/sWD146R++T(T)D+
 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh




I asked almost the exact same question on PP's website about a year ago. You should do a search over there for an answer. (I forget what the exact wording was but IIRC you can't force one wraith out with another).
   
Made in pt
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Machine Wraiths can only meld with enemy warjacks, so for that to occur you would have to have a Cryx on Cryx match up with both players running Machine Wraiths.

When the second MW melded with a warjack that had another MW inside, he would take control of it but the other MW would not be pushed out because the warjack suffered no damage.

The controler of the first MW could choose to make him pop out of the warjack during its next Maintenance Phase.

   
Made in gb
Worthiest of Warlock Engineers






preston

Thanks guys

Free from GW's tyranny and the hobby is looking better for it
DR:90-S++G+++M++B++I+Pww205++D++A+++/sWD146R++T(T)D+
 
   
Made in us
Battlefield Professional





St.Joseph MO

PhantomViper wrote:
Machine Wraiths can only meld with enemy warjacks, so for that to occur you would have to have a Cryx on Cryx match up with both players running Machine Wraiths.

When the second MW melded with a warjack that had another MW inside, he would take control of it but the other MW would not be pushed out because the warjack suffered no damage.

The controler of the first MW could choose to make him pop out of the warjack during its next Maintenance Phase.



This is incorrect

Question from PP Rules forum.

Over on another board is a huge discussion about the following situation:

Your slayer has been taken over by an enemy machine wraith, can your machine wraith repossess it back to be under your control?

Here is the answer from the Infernal

All in all I prefer that people do not answer rules questions when they are not sure that they know the answer.

The answer is no.

-Warmahordes-
Mercenaries


Menoth 
   
Made in pt
Tea-Kettle of Blood




 Spyder68 wrote:
PhantomViper wrote:
Machine Wraiths can only meld with enemy warjacks, so for that to occur you would have to have a Cryx on Cryx match up with both players running Machine Wraiths.

When the second MW melded with a warjack that had another MW inside, he would take control of it but the other MW would not be pushed out because the warjack suffered no damage.

The controler of the first MW could choose to make him pop out of the warjack during its next Maintenance Phase.



This is incorrect

Question from PP Rules forum.

Over on another board is a huge discussion about the following situation:

Your slayer has been taken over by an enemy machine wraith, can your machine wraith repossess it back to be under your control?

Here is the answer from the Infernal

All in all I prefer that people do not answer rules questions when they are not sure that they know the answer.

The answer is no.


Link if you would be so kind?
   
Made in us
Battlefield Professional





St.Joseph MO

Of Course

http://privateerpressforums.com/showthread.php?79002-Machine-Wraith-Vs-Machine-Wraith&highlight=Machine+Wraith


-Warmahordes-
Mercenaries


Menoth 
   
Made in pt
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Thank you for your reply.

So:

Originally Posted by Leo_the_Rat
Would you explain the reason why the answer is no? Based on the way the power is written it seems like you could "override" one wraith with an enemy wraith since all of the conditions for the melding are present.

Yes it seems.
That's why it was worth asking. It is one of the very rare cases of "we say so".


So basically it is one of those rare cases where the Infernal "clarification" directly contradict the rules... PP has just dropped a bit in my consideration...
   
Made in us
Battlefield Professional





St.Joseph MO

They ask the People at Privateer Press, and they make a decision. Infernal Rulings are as good as their Errata's.

There is no reason why it doesnt work, except the fact, they do not want this happening.

It honestly beats a 10page long argument over if the Sky is Light Blue or Blue.

-Warmahordes-
Mercenaries


Menoth 
   
Made in us
Bane Thrall





PhantomViper wrote:
PP has just dropped a bit in my consideration...


Why? I'm sure DC was consulted in this ruling. Perhaps it could prevent a player from putting a Machine Wraith in his own warjack, and using it as a transport.

GW Rules Interpretation Syndrom. GWRIS. Causes people to second guess a rule in a book because that's what they would have had to do in a GW system.


 SilverMK2 wrote:
"Well, I have epilepsy and was holding a knife when I had a seizure... I couldn't help it! I was just trying to chop the vegetables for dinner!"
 
   
Made in pt
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Mattman154 wrote:
PhantomViper wrote:
PP has just dropped a bit in my consideration...


Why? I'm sure DC was consulted in this ruling. Perhaps it could prevent a player from putting a Machine Wraith in his own warjack, and using it as a transport.


Meld already stated that it could only be performed on enemy warjacks, so for that to work the other player had to be controlling the warjack already. There is no reason for this ruling other then the stated "because we said so", that is why I'm a bit disappointed in PP in this regard. But its such a marginal case that its no big deal either way.
   
 
Forum Index » Privateer Press Miniature Games (Warmachine & Hordes)
Go to: