Switch Theme:

Typhus's Destroyer Hive, and Piling In  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Fort Wayne, IN

Today I had a game playing as Orks against a friend's CSM. He was running Typhus with some Terminators, and I had my own deathstar of a Mega-Armoured Boss with some Cybork Nobs. In his turn, he detached Typhus from the Terminators (so he wouldn't hit them with the Hive), and tried to charge me, but failed. In my own turn, I charged him, and this is where the rules question comes up.

I had a pretty bad roll for my charge range (3") which was still enough to get me a couple of models in B2B with Typhus. My other models were unable to make B2B, and knowing he would use the Hive against me, I spread out my other Nobs and my Boss to be exactly 2" from my B2B Nobs. This meant I was able to contribute to the combat with Typhus, but I was positioned in such a way that the Hive couldn't hit me (2.5" radius centered on Typhus, Nob is on a 25mm (~1") base, with my models 2" from my Nob). My opponent was suspicious of whether this was actually a valid move, but after we both looked it up in the rulebook, we decided that it was legal (albeit cheesy).

6th Edition Rulebook, page 21 wrote:If a charging model cannot reach any enemy models, it must try to move within 2" of one of its own unit's models that is already in base contact with the enemy.

So my question is: is this legal by RAW? I will admit it's a somewhat cheesy tactic, but it's also difficult to actually pull off (without using weighted dice). If I had rolled, say, a 5" charge, I would have been forced to have the majority of my models in B2B with Typhus, as you must end your charge move in base contact with an enemy model if at all possible.

DT:80+S++G++M--B--IPw40k11+D+A+++/cWD-R+++T(D)DM+
8000, mostly painted
14000, all over the place 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

If you couldn't get in B2B you did what the rules required, try to move within 2". So yes, maybe a bit cheesy/tactical but legit

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




However remember you still Pile In at each Init step, and doesnt the Hive go off at I1? So your nobs would have been forced forwards another 3"
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal





Fort Wayne, IN

Don't have the codex in front of me, but I believe the Hive goes off at the start of the Fight sub-phase. I doubt it would have made a difference on the overall outcome of the game, but it might have forced a couple of extra Wounds on my Nobz. I was just curious as to whether this was a viable tactic.

DT:80+S++G++M--B--IPw40k11+D+A+++/cWD-R+++T(D)DM+
8000, mostly painted
14000, all over the place 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

"At the start of Typhus' Initiative Step" C:CSM 61

   
Made in se
Snord





Stockholm

Since he isnt attacking with his unweildy manreaper doesnt it go off at int 5?


Also ive been wondering how the Hive works in a challenge, mostly becuase of the rulebook faqing and that typhus has to challenge?

"Q: Can Wounds caused by a character in a challenge only be
allocated to the opposing character in the challenge? (p64)
A: Yes."

Does this mean that the hive only hits his challengee?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/10/26 16:27:42


 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Bla_Ze wrote:
Since he isnt attacking with his unweildy manreaper doesnt it go off at int 5?


Also ive been wondering how the Hive works in a challenge, mostly becuase of the rulebook faqing and that typhus has to challenge?

"Q: Can Wounds caused by a character in a challenge only be
allocated to the opposing character in the challenge? (p64)
A: Yes."

Does this mean that the hive only hits his challengee?


It says instead of attacking, not sure when you would declare that. However as it doesnt say instead of his normal attacks It sounds more liable to go at I5.

Yes in a challenge you can only wound the challengee

   
Made in us
Foolproof Falcon Pilot





The attack would go off at I5 since he is not using his weapon. Any area effect ability will allocate all wounds to the challengee only. This is the case with Yriel, The Doom, and a few others out there that have blasts in melee.

"Ask not the Eldar a question, for they will give you three answers, all of which are true and terrifying to know."
-Inquisitor Czevak
~14k
~10k
~5k corsairs
~3k DKOK 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Bla_Ze wrote:
Since he isnt attacking with his unweildy manreaper doesnt it go off at int 5?


Also ive been wondering how the Hive works in a challenge, mostly becuase of the rulebook faqing and that typhus has to challenge?

"Q: Can Wounds caused by a character in a challenge only be
allocated to the opposing character in the challenge? (p64)
A: Yes."

Does this mean that the hive only hits his challengee?


hmm that is a good question. I would say yes, based on current FAQ's, only the model in a challenge would take the hit from the Hive, plus any other unit(s) that may be close enough to fall under the blast marker.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Nope, every model under the marker is hit, including from the same unit as the challenge, but any wounds generated must go to the challenging model.

So if 4 models + challenger are under the blast, and you wound 3 times from 5 hits, then the challenger must take 3 saves
   
Made in se
Snord





Stockholm

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Nope, every model under the marker is hit, including from the same unit as the challenge, but any wounds generated must go to the challenging model.

So if 4 models + challenger are under the blast, and you wound 3 times from 5 hits, then the challenger must take 3 saves


While i understand your logic here i dont think it applies to this special rule, typhus "group" can also recive wounds from this spell, and following your line of reasoning (i think) they would go to typhus, who is immune?
What do you think?

 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Bla_Ze wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Nope, every model under the marker is hit, including from the same unit as the challenge, but any wounds generated must go to the challenging model.

So if 4 models + challenger are under the blast, and you wound 3 times from 5 hits, then the challenger must take 3 saves


While i understand your logic here i dont think it applies to this special rule, typhus "group" can also recive wounds from this spell, and following your line of reasoning (i think) they would go to typhus, who is immune?
What do you think?


Correct typhus is immune to wounds from that.

Seems to work just as Nos described

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





But the BRB says that models in a Challenge .."can only strike blows against each other.." and wounds caused against the unit cannot be allocated to the characters and so while the Hive may be over the other models in the unit, Typhus can't hit them nor cause wounds to them and vice versa.
   
Made in se
Snord





Stockholm

40k-noob wrote:
But the BRB says that models in a Challenge .."can only strike blows against each other.." and wounds caused against the unit cannot be allocated to the characters and so while the Hive may be over the other models in the unit, Typhus can't hit them nor cause wounds to them and vice versa.


I agree, the rules point to that wounds cant go from challenge to unit or from unit to challenge, where that leaves us, who knows.
Following strict raw my oppinion is that in a challenge one hit goes to the challengee and one to typhus which is ignored.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Wounds are not gong from the unit to the challenger, just the number of hits. You then roll to wound against the character

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: