Switch Theme:

40k Heldrake targeting  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User




Do the wings can be target or just the heldrake body?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




The wings, same as a vendetta
   
Made in fr
Fresh-Faced New User




i dont know about the vendetta too
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Any part of the model I have it as

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




..that isnt a weapon barrel, or other parts that are disallowed
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Ha, It would have to be a strange situation and a non very sporting opponent to claim to see the end of a barrel.

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

bowlord wrote:
Do the wings can be target or just the heldrake body?


Yes the wings can be targeted

   
Made in ie
Sniping Hexa




Dublin

usually, only the spiky bits (think Dark Eldar / Chaos) and weapon barrels are not taken into account
it's important to remember that you measure distances from the support of vehicles' weapons, not from the end of the barrel (it is thus balanced as you have to reach the hull / wings of a vehicle to be in range)

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

TanKoL wrote:
usually, only the spiky bits (think Dark Eldar / Chaos) and weapon barrels are not taken into account
it's important to remember that you measure distances from the support of vehicles' weapons, not from the end of the barrel (it is thus balanced as you have to reach the hull / wings of a vehicle to be in range)
The underlined is in contradiction with the rules.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

I call bs on not measuring from the end of a gun.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Range is measured from the end of the barrel. LOS is determined from the weapon mount, down the length of the barrel.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/03 17:17:22


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

"When firing a vehicle's weapons, ranges are measured from the muzzle of the firing weapon," P.71 (So we have the relevant rules quote).

The muzzle is the circular opening on the business end of the gun.

(So technically if there is no opening then the weapon can not check range from anywhere...)

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2012/11/03 20:09:03


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






 DeathReaper wrote:
"When firing a vehicle's weapons, ranges are measured from the muzzle of the firing weapon," P.71 (So we have the relevant rules quote).

The muzzle is the circular opening on the business end of the gun.

(So technically if there is no opening then the weapon can not check range from anywhere...)



Validation for the drill-your-guns crowd?

What if it's a missile.. they don't have muzzles.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/03 21:01:59


Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Shandara wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
"When firing a vehicle's weapons, ranges are measured from the muzzle of the firing weapon," P.71 (So we have the relevant rules quote).

The muzzle is the circular opening on the business end of the gun.

(So technically if there is no opening then the weapon can not check range from anywhere...)



Validation for the drill-your-guns crowd?

What if it's a missile.. they don't have muzzles.


I guess at some point common sense has to strike, and we agree that the "muzzle" of a missile could be the "warhead"

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Shandara wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
"When firing a vehicle's weapons, ranges are measured from the muzzle of the firing weapon," P.71 (So we have the relevant rules quote).

The muzzle is the circular opening on the business end of the gun.

(So technically if there is no opening then the weapon can not check range from anywhere...)



Validation for the drill-your-guns crowd?

What if it's a missile.. they don't have muzzles.
Yes you have to drill-your-guns on your vehicles in 6th.

By strict RAW missiles may never check range and thus may not fire.

But that is a silly interpretation.

We should just play it as the front tip or "Warhead" of the missile instead of the muzzle in that case, like jdjamesdean@mail.com suggests. (This is the RAI viewpoint as RAW you are only allowed to check range for a vehicle weapon with a muzzle).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/11/03 21:47:47


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

When you are targeting DE gunboats, can you target the sail?

   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Niiai wrote:
When you are targeting DE gunboats, can you target the sail?

The rules for targeting a vehicle are on Page 73, Left column, 1st graph.

You "(ignor[e] the vehicle's gun barrels, antennas decorative banner poles, etc.)." Not sure what exactly is covered by etc.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






The sail, IIRC, is an upgrade called Enhanced Aether sails. Personally I would say its a decorative element as one is never required to modeled them aside from when they buy that upgrade, and even then they could count as it to something else, like enhanced engines.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 arinnoor wrote:
The sail, IIRC, is an upgrade called Enhanced Aether sails. Personally I would say its a decorative element as one is never required to modeled them aside from when they buy that upgrade, and even then they could count as it to something else, like enhanced engines.


So by that logic I can draw LOS to the Mast, as it's not an upgrade. Just the sails

   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Isn't the mast a piece of the sail? I'm just saying the Raider/Ravager doesn't need them on too my knowledge. I know a player or two who've intentionally not put the sail pieces on, because he thought they would count as the aether sail and he didn't want to model an upgrade he wasn't buying, WYSIWYG and all that.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 arinnoor wrote:
Isn't the mast a piece of the sail? I'm just saying the Raider/Ravager doesn't need them on too my knowledge. I know a player or two who've intentionally not put the sail pieces on, because he thought they would count as the aether sail and he didn't want to model an upgrade he wasn't buying, WYSIWYG and all that.


No a sail is a piece of fabric or material that is used to catch wind or in this case "aether" or something of the sort.

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





Just seen this as I was reading about something else, page 80

It says, 'distances are still measured to and from the flyers hull, with the exceptions of the vehicles weapons and fire points, which all work as normal'.

Going by that I would say you have to be able to see the hull in order to target the flyer?

40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




MarkyMark wrote:
Just seen this as I was reading about something else, page 80
It says, 'distances are still measured to and from the flyers hull, with the exceptions of the vehicles weapons and fire points, which all work as normal'.
Going by that I would say you have to be able to see the hull in order to target the flyer?
Yes, same as with all other vehicles. Remember that the wings are part of vehicles hull (see page 73).
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Luide wrote:
MarkyMark wrote:
Just seen this as I was reading about something else, page 80
It says, 'distances are still measured to and from the flyers hull, with the exceptions of the vehicles weapons and fire points, which all work as normal'.
Going by that I would say you have to be able to see the hull in order to target the flyer?
Yes, same as with all other vehicles. Remember that the wings are part of vehicles hull (see page 73).


Yes, and assuming you follow the assembly directions on raiders you need to put the mast/sail on as well. Which are not barrels,antennas or decorative banners. With models like Heldrakes/Vendettas/StormRavens it's hard not to see the hull though.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Okay, did not realize the Heldrake was a flyer. Though it was an FMC. Wings are target able on it then, good to know as out local CSM fields 2 of them.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: