Switch Theme:

Night Scythes & Deep Strike  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Can a Flyer with Deep Strike rule Deep Strike units that don't have deep strike rule? As an example, can Night Scythes Deep Strike Immortals? Night Scythes have Deep Strike rule whereas Immortals do not.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

Are you asking if the transport can DS with the unit inside?

If that's the question, than as long as the transport has DS than yes

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/05 05:35:01


   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Yes, basically I was wondering if I can Deep Strike the unit of Immortals inside the Night Scythe even though Immortals don't have the Deep Strike Rule.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

methodic wrote:
Yes, basically I was wondering if I can Deep Strike the unit of Immortals inside the Night Scythe even though Immortals don't have the Deep Strike Rule.


Yes as long as the Immortals can embark in the Night Scythe that's legit.

Don't have the cron codex, so I'm not sure who can get what/etc

   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

The night scythe is a dedicated transport for immortals(and other units as well) so they can start the game embarked in it. you can then choose when you put it in reserve to have it either fly on from the board edge or deep strike with the immortals on board.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker





LaPorte, IN

methodic wrote:
Yes, basically I was wondering if I can Deep Strike the unit of Immortals inside the Night Scythe even though Immortals don't have the Deep Strike Rule.
So you are suggesting that Drop pods can't carry anything?
   
Made in gb
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge






 NecronLord3 wrote:
methodic wrote:
Yes, basically I was wondering if I can Deep Strike the unit of Immortals inside the Night Scythe even though Immortals don't have the Deep Strike Rule.
So you are suggesting that Drop pods can't carry anything?


No hes just asking, in YMDC section.

Current Army: Death Korp of Krieg
Armies I have played:
Necrons
Space Marines (Ice Lords)
Death Guard
 
   
Made in nl
Daring Dark Eldar Raider Rider





The Netherlands

 TheAvengingKnee wrote:
The night scythe is a dedicated transport for immortals(and other units as well) so they can start the game embarked in it. you can then choose when you put it in reserve to have it either fly on from the board edge or deep strike with the immortals on board.
Though with the new FAQ, you are unable to disembark the Immortals in the turn you deepstrike. Making it kind of risky, as you pretty much lose all your Immortals if the Scythe gets blown up.

   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

I agree and in almost every case I have yet to find a good reason to deep strike the night scythes(especially since you cannot disembark when you do) unless you are playing on a larger than normal board.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

Could be handy for apoc games then.

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

Don't get me wrong it's great they have the option, it just is very situational.

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Why can't they disembark?
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

40k-noob wrote:
Why can't they disembark?


Think its from a FAQ

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
Why can't they disembark?


Think its from a FAQ


The Necron FAQ allows for units to disembark a NS if it moved up to 36" DS counts as moving at Cruising Speed, 18-36"

so, again why can't the Immortals disembark?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/06 19:39:15


 
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

40k-noob wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
Why can't they disembark?


Think its from a FAQ


The Necron FAQ allows for units to disembark a NS if it moved up to 36"

so, again why can't the Immortals disembark?


When they Deepstrike, due to the FAQ.
Think it might be the BGB one.
Don't have the time to look it up right now.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
40k-noob wrote:
Why can't they disembark?


Think its from a FAQ


The Necron FAQ allows for units to disembark a NS if it moved up to 36"

so, again why can't the Immortals disembark?


When they Deepstrike, due to the FAQ.
Think it might be the BGB one.
Don't have the time to look it up right now.


DS rule:

"In the Movernent phase during which they arrive, deep
striking units may not move any further, other than to
disembark frorn a deep striking Transport vehicle if they
are in one."
   
Made in us
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws



Sioux Falls, SD

Page 6 of the BRB FAQ:
"Q: If a Flyer arrives via Deep Strike, can embarked passengers
disembark from it on the same turn it arrives? (p80-)
A: No."

Blood for the bloo... wait no, I meant for Sanguinius!  
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Generally, you can disembark from a deep striking vehicle.

However, you are prohibited from disembarking from a Deep Striking Flyer.

Specific > General

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 TheAvengingKnee wrote:
Page 6 of the BRB FAQ:
"Q: If a Flyer arrives via Deep Strike, can embarked passengers
disembark from it on the same turn it arrives? (p80-)
A: No."


Thanks. I had missed that FAQ.

Good to know.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

40k-noob wrote:
 TheAvengingKnee wrote:
Page 6 of the BRB FAQ:
"Q: If a Flyer arrives via Deep Strike, can embarked passengers
disembark from it on the same turn it arrives? (p80-)
A: No."


Thanks. I had missed that FAQ.

Good to know.


Yep thats the one :-D

   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




 Mandor wrote:
 TheAvengingKnee wrote:
The night scythe is a dedicated transport for immortals(and other units as well) so they can start the game embarked in it. you can then choose when you put it in reserve to have it either fly on from the board edge or deep strike with the immortals on board.
Though with the new FAQ, you are unable to disembark the Immortals in the turn you deepstrike. Making it kind of risky, as you pretty much lose all your Immortals if the Scythe gets blown up.



Lol I ALMOST found this out the hard way last night. I don't think I'll be deep striking with immortals much in the future. Thanks everyone for the responses!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 NecronLord3 wrote:
methodic wrote:
Yes, basically I was wondering if I can Deep Strike the unit of Immortals inside the Night Scythe even though Immortals don't have the Deep Strike Rule.
So you are suggesting that Drop pods can't carry anything?

no

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/07 05:10:51


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: