Switch Theme:

Chariots in assault  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Adolescent Youth with Potential




If you are assaulted by a Necron Overlord in CCB can you instead of hitting him back use a Melta bomb on the rear armour of the CCB?

I can't see anything that says you can't but it seems a bit stupid.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Why does it seem stupid? You are in combat with both the vehicle and the rider.
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

i think it says somewhere that attacks are directed against the rider but i may be wrong.

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in bg
Cosmic Joe





Bulgaria

It says they CAN be directed at him, doesn't say they MUST.


Nosebiter wrote:
Codex Space Marine is renamed as Codex Counts As Because I Dont Like To Loose And Gw Hates My Army.
 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




You can attack the CCB if you wish. You're in base contact with 2 separate units: CCB and the Overlord. Rules allow you to split your attacks between these two units as you see fit.
Quite often the tactically correct decision is to kill the CCB.

And before someone asks, charging CCB doesn't count as disordered charge, because you only declared charge against single unit.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





also i believe the Overlord cannot issue or accept a challenge while on the CCB, i am not 100% but i am fairly certain of it.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






40k-noob wrote:
also i believe the Overlord cannot issue or accept a challenge while on the CCB, i am not 100% but i am fairly certain of it.


They're not locked in combat, so no.
   
Made in us
Stormblade





Are the melta bombs resolved against the rear armor of the CCB?
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

For some reason, and I don't have the cron codex on me. I thought you hit the CCB like a walker* in CC front armor only

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, CCB are not walkers and have no special rules stating you are to use the front armour, so you use the rear armour.
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

The CCB is essentially a Fast Skimmer for all shooting/combat purposes i think.

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Not even "essentially" - it IS a fast skimmer. "chariot" is a special rule like "Jump"
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Its a Fast Skimmer Chariot.

None of those classifications have anything referring to which facing is hit in assault, so you use the default rule. Which is rear armor.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Pooler, GA

masterofthedark wrote:
If you are assaulted by a Necron Overlord in CCB can you instead of hitting him back use a Melta bomb on the rear armour of the CCB?
Page 82: CHARIOTS: Fighting from a Chariot: '[ ], the rider of the Chariot is treated as being in base contact with all enemy models that are themselves in contact with the Chariot.'

All of your models that are in base contact with the Chariot are also in base contact with the Rider. You can choose for any or all of the models ENGAGED in the combat to strike blows against the rider. if any strike blows against the Chariot, then they follow the assault rules for vehicles and strike on rear armour.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/10 20:36:00


I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Any models that are engaged with the chariot are also, by definition engaged wtht he character.
   
Made in us
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon





Pooler, GA

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Any models that are engaged with the chariot are also, by definition engaged wtht he character.
You're right.

I don't write the rules. My ego just lives and dies by them one model at a time. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: