Switch Theme:

Mooving charging models.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

Hello I have a question. Since your charging models need to stay in unit coherency during the charge, and not just after the charge. As long as you try to fill the requierments can you end up with situvations where you wait with moving certain models resulting in gaining advantages of it?

Say you move the first model and then you start to move the left charging flank to (your) right flank of the charged models unit. Now your right flank does not have the posibilaty to reach the left flank of your oponent ebcause of movement, but you could have done so if your left flank moved to his left flank. However, since you do not know where your models moved and this becomes aparrent during the movement of the models (of coursed planed the whole way (is it then legal?)) you can multicharge.

I am sorry if I explained it badly.

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

You must get in base contact if possible. If not possible you must engage. If you cannot you must move into coherency.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





There is nothing wrong with doing what you describe.
   
Made in us
Incorporating Wet-Blending






Glendale, AZ

The only model in a charging unit that has a mandatory path and end point is the first model to be moved. The rest of the (non-IC) models may move in any order and in any direction as long as they follow the mandates laid down by Happyjew.

Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.


 
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

I think you missunderstood the nature of my question:

Does the game asume you have ann allknowing knowledge of how to maxemise move your charges, or is it room to mess it up, and if so, since the game is blind in these sort of things, can you mess it up volenteraly.

In senario 1 (green arrows) The 2. dark eldar charges the closest one, the 1. moves to the left one, the 3. one takes the back one and the 4.

In senario 2 I move the 2. to the closest one, I move 1. to the right korn figure and 3. to the back one. Now number 4. cannot reach the korn figure on the left. Asuming I would have had enough models to "block" number 4. from reaching the only kohrn figure in his reach would I be abel to charge the blue chaos figures? Or would when it becomes apparent that I could theoreticaly have moved them diferently to get more into base to base contact I would have to move them back and start over again. I would like to point out that moving them back would be imposible and cheating as we do not know where they stood.

Th excample I drawed was flaves as the 4. dark eldar model could have reached a model from the khorn unit, but once you start doing this with tyranids or large bodies of models this could be possible. (Se picture 2.)
[Thumb - Charging.jpg]

[Thumb - Charging 2.jpg]


   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




You can move your figures in any way you like as long as you keep to the charge rules. This can result in your guys being able or forced to go a certain way. In your Scenario 2 with the Dark eldar, that is a legit way to move your guys, assuming you did not roll high enough to let #4 move all the way around the pile to get to the enemy on the left.
   
Made in ca
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Vancouver, BC

You have to declare you are multi charging from the onset, do you not? So that your opponent my overwatch you with both units.

 warboss wrote:
Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Crazyterran wrote:
You have to declare you are multi charging from the onset, do you not? So that your opponent my overwatch you with both units.

No, you never have to declare a Multi-Assault.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
Dakka Veteran





 DeathReaper wrote:
Crazyterran wrote:
You have to declare you are multi charging from the onset, do you not? So that your opponent my overwatch you with both units.

No, you never have to declare a Multi-Assault.


p27, "...all targets being charged by the unit must be declared at the same time.". Am I misunderstaning something, or aren't you required to declare the charge against both opponents, and both then have the option to Overwatch you?
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Snapshot wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
Crazyterran wrote:
You have to declare you are multi charging from the onset, do you not? So that your opponent my overwatch you with both units.

No, you never have to declare a Multi-Assault.


p27, "...all targets being charged by the unit must be declared at the same time.". Am I misunderstaning something, or aren't you required to declare the charge against both opponents, and both then have the option to Overwatch you?
Okay, they changed that. I must have missed that bit.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in fi
Dakka Veteran




Yeah, major change from 5e. Multi-charge must be explicitly declared and you're not allowed to contact any models from units you haven't declared charge on.
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

But my question is still: Is this movement legal?

   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




Yeah that movement is fine.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: