Switch Theme:

Drop pods and assaulting.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine




GA


remember that drop pods are open-topped and therefore assault vehicles, this has saved my life many times.



I was reading a post and read this. Is this true, for some reason I thought the rules stated that you could not assault out of the drop pod.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Primestick wrote:

remember that drop pods are open-topped and therefore assault vehicles, this has saved my life many times.


I was reading a post and read this. Is this true, for some reason I thought the rules stated that you could not assault out of the drop pod.

Normally there would be two restrictions on drop pods.
You cannot assault out of reserve.
You cannot assault after disembarking.

Being open-topped removes the 2nd restriction but not the first.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

From the rulebook FAQ:

Q: Do Transports with the Assault Vehicle special rule permit their passengers to charge on the turn they arrive from Reserve? (p33)
A: No.
   
Made in us
Perturbed Blood Angel Tactical Marine




GA

That's what I thought. I cant pull up GW site here at work so I figured I would ask.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Not to mention the drop pod rules themselves mention that you can't assault from them IIRC. Because in 5th there were no restrictions on assaulting from reserves, or moving assault/open topped vehicles, etc.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

IamCaboose wrote:
Not to mention the drop pod rules themselves mention that you can't assault from them IIRC. Because in 5th there were no restrictions on assaulting from reserves, or moving assault/open topped vehicles, etc.


However there was a restriction to assaulting after deep striking, and units that arrived via a vehicle that deep struck counted as deep striking.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in au
Been Around the Block




So wait even a chaos dreadclaw wouldn't allow assaulting? It came out in aeronautica after 6th and still has the assault special rule
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

lexx108 wrote:
So wait even a chaos dreadclaw wouldn't allow assaulting? It came out in aeronautica after 6th and still has the assault special rule


If it comes from reserves it cannot assault as per 6th.


   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

To date I can only think of 3 things that can assault following reserve:
Zagstruck, Vanguards and Ymgarls.
   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut






This whole thing seems messy to me. Either stuff with specific rules can assault from reserve, or nothing can. GW are effectively contradicting themselves in their FAQ ruling about assault vehicles, since that includes the Lucius pod, which specifically states that a disembarking dreadnought can assault.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Johnno wrote:
This whole thing seems messy to me. Either stuff with specific rules can assault from reserve, or nothing can. GW are effectively contradicting themselves in their FAQ ruling about assault vehicles, since that includes the Lucius pod, which specifically states that a disembarking dreadnought can assault.


So the Lucias pod which has specific permission to allow a unit to assault out of it means that other vehicles that can DS should be allowed to? You have never been allowed to assault after DS unless you had specific permission to do so. This has not changed. The only thing that has changed is you cannot assault after arriving from reserves in general, as well as after DSing.
   
Made in gb
Daemonic Dreadnought





Derby, UK.

the Dreadclaw (i think, i've not seen the latest rules) is slightly different to a dro pod in that it comes in from reserve in, for example, turn 2, flies accross the table. in turn 3 it lands and they can charge out.

Armies:

(Iron Warriors) .......Gallery: Iron Warriors Gallery
.......Gallery: Necron Gallery - Army Sold
.......Gallery: Crimson Fists Gallery - Army Sold

Iron Warriors (8000 points-ish)

 
   
Made in se
Regular Dakkanaut






Happyjew wrote:

So the Lucias pod which has specific permission to allow a unit to assault out of it means that other vehicles that can DS should be allowed to? You have never been allowed to assault after DS unless you had specific permission to do so. This has not changed. The only thing that has changed is you cannot assault after arriving from reserves in general, as well as after DSing.


Not what I was getting at, but you do have a point. I guess I was a bit too anxious over the fact that the rule seemed to sweepingly disallow the pod, which in hindsight just depends on how you read the rule. Reading the rule as just disallowing getting around the not assaulting from reserve by claiming the assault vehicle rule, makes more sense now.

Thanks for putting my mind at ease Happyjew.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 Praxiss wrote:
the Dreadclaw (i think, i've not seen the latest rules) is slightly different to a dro pod in that it comes in from reserve in, for example, turn 2, flies accross the table. in turn 3 it lands and they can charge out.


Nope, those are the old, slightly better rules. now it HAS to DS, with no IG system, and then you can immediately disembark OR you can wait inside and go around as a flyer. For even MORE points than it used to cost.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

nosferatu1001 wrote:
 Praxiss wrote:
the Dreadclaw (i think, i've not seen the latest rules) is slightly different to a dro pod in that it comes in from reserve in, for example, turn 2, flies accross the table. in turn 3 it lands and they can charge out.


Nope, those are the old, slightly better rules. now it HAS to DS, with no IG system, and then you can immediately disembark OR you can wait inside and go around as a flyer. For even MORE points than it used to cost.

Actually, since the Dreadclaw is now a flyer the troops inside can't disembark on the turn by arrive. Page 6 of he rulebook FAQ.

Q: If a Flyer arrives via Deep Strike, can embarked passengers disembark from it on the same turn it arrives? (p80-)
A: No.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Gah, even worse - id forgotten that ruling!

Damn this thing is rubbish....love the model though
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: