Switch Theme:

Flyrant in a unit?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

Is there anyway to have the hive tyrant flyer in a unit of tyrant guards and get it to fly? If you had a long kongaline of guards you could probably get one turn of flying. How would that be trated by the rules?

   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No way for it to be "flying" and have any effect, because Hard to hit effects units that are flying - and the unit isnt.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





does a hive tyrant have the IC special rule?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Doesnt need it, see the tyrant Guard rule Shieldwall, where he gets to join them as if he has the IC rule
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





nosferatu1001 wrote:
Doesnt need it, see the tyrant Guard rule Shieldwall, where he gets to join them as if he has the IC rule


i dont have a nyd dex, that is why i asked. How many guard can the unit size be?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




2 -3 from memory. Not really relevant to the thread though..
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





3.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





it is because the OP wants to know if he could line up his guard in such a manner that his tyrant could fly from one end of the line to the other.

depending on the base size of the guard it may be possible but i doubt as the fmc must fly a min of 12"

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/11 14:52:13


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





It's be trivial go get one round of flying. More than that wouldn't be possible.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, but there is also no real point to actually flying, as you gain no benefit from it while in the TG unit
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

So they all need flyer to get the hard to hit rule.

You could get a pretty long kongaline with 3 guards and a warrior prime and then fly the tyrant from the back to the middel and then last turn front.

I supise one of the units in the group could get skyfire :-p but it is more hassel then it is worth.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





I think the OP want s to be able realign his unit in 1 turn, perhaps to avoid a charge or prepare for a charge in the following turn..

but i just realized that when in a unit you could move as fast as the slowest member of the unit, so that means no flying even within the unit.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





40k-noob wrote:
but i just realized that when in a unit you could move as fast as the slowest member of the unit, so that means no flying even within the unit.


That was a 5th edition rule. 6th changed that.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




40k-noob wrote:
I think the OP want s to be able realign his unit in 1 turn, perhaps to avoid a charge or prepare for a charge in the following turn..

but i just realized that when in a unit you could move as fast as the slowest member of the unit, so that means no flying even within the unit.


6th edition has changed that.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





oh really? good to know. funny how somethngs just stick in your head.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It all blurs into one after a while, sadly....
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





on a side but related front.

can a flyrant join a guard unit that is already joined to a different tyrant/swarmlord?

wondering if a fmc can frog leap around to guard units.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No reason two couldnt join, however you cannot leave voluntarily - the TG have to die first.
   
Made in us
Tunneling Trygon






http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/464722.page

Had a bit of a debate on that already. (Bare in mind, I posted this with the intent of never using it in a real game. Way too controversial, and completely unsupported by the rules either way. There's really not enough precedent to make a call.)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/11/11 15:37:12



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: