| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 17:25:43
Subject: Daemons and Daemonic Assault
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
If you have a daemon independent character and daemon troop choice as allies do you still roll for daemonic assault if the IC joins the unit? Their is only 1 unit for reserve purposes so they can be divided for primary or secondary.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 17:29:02
Subject: Daemons and Daemonic Assault
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
There is no definitive answer I've seen discussed here. How we played it is you declare the daemonically assulting unit as normal, then do the roll to see if they deploy as normal or on reserve, the Chaos gods roll or which ever. Gives a reasonable approximation of getting the wrong unit deployed like normal.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 17:32:03
Subject: Daemons and Daemonic Assault
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You have 1 unit, that you split into two groups as evenly as possible. A group of 1, and a group of 0
You then roll to see which group turns up.
Basic maths there.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 17:39:14
Subject: Daemons and Daemonic Assault
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:You have 1 unit, that you split into two groups as evenly as possible. A group of 1, and a group of 0
You then roll to see which group turns up.
Basic maths there.
This sums it up, following the rule to a tee.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 17:47:38
Subject: Daemons and Daemonic Assault
|
 |
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:You have 1 unit, that you split into two groups as evenly as possible. A group of 1, and a group of 0
You then roll to see which group turns up.
Basic maths there.
But I was called out for a similar situation. I was told I had two units: 1 HQ and 1 Troop. The division between primary and secondary waves is done first. You can then attach ICs to any available unit within that wave.
Bottom line is what comes first: attaching units or dividing up waves?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 18:13:08
Subject: Daemons and Daemonic Assault
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
USA
|
Green is Best! wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:You have 1 unit, that you split into two groups as evenly as possible. A group of 1, and a group of 0
You then roll to see which group turns up.
Basic maths there.
But I was called out for a similar situation. I was told I had two units: 1 HQ and 1 Troop. The division between primary and secondary waves is done first. You can then attach ICs to any available unit within that wave.
Bottom line is what comes first: attaching units or dividing up waves?
Attaching units comes first. From page 27 of the Daemon Codex:
"You must declare if any independent characters are on their own, counting as a separate unit in reserve, or if they are joining a unit, in which case they and their unit are a single unit in reserve. The enemy deploys as normal
At the beginning of your first turn, divide the army into two groups that must include, as much as possible, the same number of units."
|
Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 18:16:29
Subject: Daemons and Daemonic Assault
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Green is best - given you are told exactly what to do in the DA rules, as undertow pointed out, I wuld follow those rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 18:54:01
Subject: Daemons and Daemonic Assault
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
nosferatu1001 wrote:You have 1 unit, that you split into two groups as evenly as possible. A group of 1, and a group of 0
You then roll to see which group turns up.
Basic maths there.
lol it says as much as possible. You cant split units... or at least daemons cant.
I guess to conclude the way to rule it would be:
1 unit in primary wave
0 in secondary wave.
If I fail to roll 3+ then the unit is just in reserves. Though its an interesting situation none the less.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 21:05:03
Subject: Daemons and Daemonic Assault
|
 |
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar
USA
|
Tomb King wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:You have 1 unit, that you split into two groups as evenly as possible. A group of 1, and a group of 0
You then roll to see which group turns up.
Basic maths there.
lol it says as much as possible. You cant split units... or at least daemons cant.
I guess to conclude the way to rule it would be:
1 unit in primary wave
0 in secondary wave.
If I fail to roll 3+ then the unit is just in reserves. Though its an interesting situation none the less.
I'm pretty sure Nos wasn't saying to split 'a unit', just that you have one unit, and you must split that number of units into two, leaving you with a group of one and a group of zero.
|
Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/29 23:28:43
Subject: Daemons and Daemonic Assault
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
That is exactly what I said.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/30 00:18:00
Subject: Daemons and Daemonic Assault
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
undertow wrote: Tomb King wrote:nosferatu1001 wrote:You have 1 unit, that you split into two groups as evenly as possible. A group of 1, and a group of 0
You then roll to see which group turns up.
Basic maths there.
lol it says as much as possible. You cant split units... or at least daemons cant.
I guess to conclude the way to rule it would be:
1 unit in primary wave
0 in secondary wave.
If I fail to roll 3+ then the unit is just in reserves. Though its an interesting situation none the less.
I'm pretty sure Nos wasn't saying to split 'a unit', just that you have one unit, and you must split that number of units into two, leaving you with a group of one and a group of zero.
nosferatu1001 wrote:That is exactly what I said.
lol, roger! I misread it and thought you sarcastically said divide the squad in half as evenly as possible and roll for it.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/11/30 13:24:56
Subject: Daemons and Daemonic Assault
|
 |
Noise Marine Terminator with Sonic Blaster
|
undertow wrote:
Attaching units comes first. From page 27 of the Daemon Codex:
"You must declare if any independent characters are on their own, counting as a separate unit in reserve, or if they are joining a unit, in which case they and their unit are a single unit in reserve. The enemy deploys as normal
At the beginning of your first turn, divide the army into two groups that must include, as much as possible, the same number of units."
That works. Good to know. I am not playing daemons as much as I used to, but it is nice to be able to reference a page and tell my opponent "Here, read this."
Thanks,
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|