Switch Theme:

zoanthrope brood, gate of infinity and multiple blessings  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




I run a school league at my school and had a question from one of our kids about this.

How do multiple blessings interact with the power "gate of infinity"

As far as i can tell if you use the GOI to deep strike then the unit has moved ,
So is it correct that you can no longer cast any further blessings because a unit has moved as it is no longer the start of your movement phase.

if deep strike isn’t a move does that mean you could chain DS 3 zoanthropes if you were lucky enough to get GOI on each of them?

how does a tervigon power interact with gate of infinity, can he DS and then spawn?
can he spawn before he uses GOI to DS.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




pottsye wrote:
I run a school league at my school and had a question from one of our kids about this.

How do multiple blessings interact with the power "gate of infinity"

As far as i can tell if you use the GOI to deep strike then the unit has moved ,
So is it correct that you can no longer cast any further blessings because a unit has moved as it is no longer the start of your movement phase.


It can move no further in its movement phase. You can continue to use blessings.

if deep strike isn’t a move does that mean you could chain DS 3 zoanthropes if you were lucky enough to get GOI on each of them?

You could chain GOI with 3 Zoans in the same brood, however its pretty risky.

how does a tervigon power interact with gate of infinity, can he DS and then spawn?
can he spawn before he uses GOI to DS.


This is debated issue and probably will have to wait for a FAQ to answer. Ask your opponent.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

pottsye wrote:
how does a tervigon power interact with gate of infinity, can he DS and then spawn?
can he spawn before he uses GOI to DS.

You need to use Spawn before you moved.
Using gate makes you count as moving.
So you can't Spawn after Gating (because you've moved), and you can't Spawn before Gating (because Blessings need to happen first).
So basically, not Spawning and Gating in the same turn.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 grendel083 wrote:
pottsye wrote:
how does a tervigon power interact with gate of infinity, can he DS and then spawn?
can he spawn before he uses GOI to DS.

You need to use Spawn before you moved.
Using gate makes you count as moving.
So you can't Spawn after Gating (because you've moved), and you can't Spawn before Gating (because Blessings need to happen first).
So basically, not Spawning and Gating in the same turn.


Not so sure about that. Both happen at the start of the movement phase. And for things that happen at the same time the controlling player decides the order, so you should be able to Spawn then Gate. Gating then Spawn is probably out as gating counts as moving and you have to spawn before moving.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

barnowl wrote:
 grendel083 wrote:
pottsye wrote:
how does a tervigon power interact with gate of infinity, can he DS and then spawn?
can he spawn before he uses GOI to DS.

You need to use Spawn before you moved.
Using gate makes you count as moving.
So you can't Spawn after Gating (because you've moved), and you can't Spawn before Gating (because Blessings need to happen first).
So basically, not Spawning and Gating in the same turn.


Not so sure about that. Both happen at the start of the movement phase. And for things that happen at the same time the controlling player decides the order, so you should be able to Spawn then Gate. Gating then Spawn is probably out as gating counts as moving and you have to spawn before moving.

Spawn doesn't happen at the start of the turn.
It happens before it moves, which can be any time during the movement phase.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The issue comes in that the rule states you can move no further during movement phase. It doesn't exclude that model from having a movement phase. It can still legally move 0" during movement and can legally disembark from a DSing vehicle. It counts as moving for shooting purposes.

Again its a debate that needs a FAQ.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Fragile wrote:
The issue comes in that the rule states you can move no further during movement phase. It doesn't exclude that model from having a movement phase. It can still legally move 0" during movement and can legally disembark from a DSing vehicle. It counts as moving for shooting purposes.

Again its a debate that needs a FAQ.

The deepstrike rule makes you count as moving. This would stop any futher movement (so no, moving 0" would not be legal. You've already moved).
In a similar regard, you can't then spawn (you must do this before moving) because, as before, you've already moved.
No need for an FAQ, following the normal sequence of events you simply can't gate and spawn in the same turn.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: