Switch Theme:

space wolf confusion questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Tokyo, Japan

Got into some sort of debate with the following questions and hoping to find out how to clarify them, I'll leave the situation out to not sway decisions one way or another but I'll try to form it into a question instead.

Can Jaws affect jump infantry or jump MC, how about grounded FMC? (the FAQ says jetbikes and artillary but doesn't specify jump infantry) I can't find the reference that says it affects them.

Do lone wolves give first blood? It says doesn't give a victory point but doesn't first blood just depend on it dying. I'd imagine it not giving up a victory point for like scourge but not sure on first blood.

Can lone wolves deep strike if they have fenrisian wolves?

Can iron priests buff ruins like other techmarines?

The Jaws FAQ was still confusing, so can you "allocate" things to objects out of line of sight? Say the first model hit is in line of sight, but then there's a wall, and another model is behind the wall and out of LOS, do you hit both models or just the one in front?

Does a regular rune priest that did not buy master of runes still get to roll twice for psy powers as he knows 2 powers? I'd imagine he's limited to casting one per turn but still get to chose 2 ?

And lastly, can you take necron reanimation protocols or ever-living vs Jaws. How about things like Justicar Thawn or St. Celestine?





+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.


 
   
Made in ca
Trustworthy Shas'vre




Technically there is no longer infantry, only Infantry with the Jump sub type, so yes, Jump Infantry (and Jet pack infantry) get Jaws'd

No official ruling on First Blood, but seeing as Lone Wolves don't surrender a victory point when killed, I'd say, yeah, no first blood from them.

Lone Wolves cannot Deep Strike. Wolves or not.

gotta think/check on the rest.


Tau and Space Wolves since 5th Edition. 
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord






Can Jaws affect jump infantry or jump MC?

RAW, yes, I'm afraid so. "Jump Infantry" is no longer a unit type; 6th Ed. now considers them "Infantry (jump)", which is no different in this situation than "infantry (character)".

Can lone wolves deep strike if they have fenrisian wolves?

No. Also, they cannot Deep Strike if they do not have Fenrisian Wolves, either.

Does a regular rune priest that did not buy master of runes still get to roll twice for psy powers as he knows 2 powers? I'd imagine he's limited to casting one per turn but still get to chose 2 ?

That is correct.

And lastly, can you take necron reanimation protocols or ever-living vs Jaws. How about things like Justicar Thawn or St. Celestine?

Necrons cannot use RP against JotWW; that ability is the Goddamned bane of the Necron army. To the best of my knowledge, St. Celestine is unique in her ability to come back from JotWW; although I am unfamiliar with Thawn.


   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 azazel the cat wrote:

And lastly, can you take necron reanimation protocols or ever-living vs Jaws. How about things like Justicar Thawn or St. Celestine?

Necrons cannot use RP against JotWW; that ability is the Goddamned bane of the Necron army. To the best of my knowledge, St. Celestine is unique in her ability to come back from JotWW; although I am unfamiliar with Thawn.


Thawn cannot as he has not been FAQ'd to allow it.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Per the SW faq, the first model affected by the power is treated as the target model and thus must be in LoS. The rest are just hit as the power goes through. So yes, models out of LoS are, "just hit as the power goes through".

If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




There IS a ruling on First Blood - they are a unit and, as per the rulebook if they die first they give up First Blood. Until contradicted by a FAQ that is the rule

Jaws does not cause wounds, so any model after the first that is affected CAN be out of LOS and still die.
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





nosferatu1001 wrote:There IS a ruling on First Blood - they are a unit and, as per the rulebook if they die first they give up First Blood. Until contradicted by a FAQ that is the rule

Jaws does not cause wounds, so any model after the first that is affected CAN be out of LOS and still die.

And the SW codex says they don't give up a point when they die --> specific trumps general.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Good job the errata doesnt say that.

"“Furthermore, in missions that award Victory Points for each enemy unit that has been completely destroyed, a Lone Wolf does not concede a Victory Point if he dies in battle. Instead, to represent his failure to meet a spectacular end, a Lone Wolf awards a Victory Point in such a mission if he survives until the end of the game!”"

First blood isnt a mission that awards VPs for EACH enemy unit, just the FIRST enemy unit. So this rule does not apply.

Next time please quote rules....
   
Made in za
Poxed Plague Monk





Cape Town



Please read the latest FAQ v1.1 on the GW website:

http://www.games-workshop.com/MEDIA_CustomProductCatalog/m2570051a_Space_Wolves_v1.1.pdf


Page5:

Q: Are models with an ability to return to play (e.g. Necrons, St.
Celestine, etc) able to use their special rule even after being removed
from play by The Last Laugh? (p52)
A: Yes they can. It sounds odd but their special rule works just
fine

Sorry, my bad, just re-read the post and FAQ and you were talking about Jaws and the FAQ is last laugh... my bad

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/04 13:07:26


Its better to burn out than to fade away

@kevinwarhammer 
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight






Tokyo, Japan

This thread has actually been very informative! Answered alot of the questions I had.

I'm just kind of glad / mad my interceptors ate jaws correctly. Now I'll know how to behave around it and won't feel cheated now.

Also we totally played it wrong for several games now apparently, the SW guy's been deep striking his lone wolves in my back field like crazy and I'm glad he's been screwing me over this whole time! wmahahaha. kind of sucks now that I kind of want to try lone wolf striking lol.

+ Thought of the day + Not even in death does duty end.


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




He's made the mistake of assuming that termie armour is always the same - in SW it does NOT give them DS.
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





nosferatu1001 wrote:Good job the errata doesnt say that.

"“Furthermore, in missions that award Victory Points for each enemy unit that has been completely destroyed, a Lone Wolf does not concede a Victory Point if he dies in battle. Instead, to represent his failure to meet a spectacular end, a Lone Wolf awards a Victory Point in such a mission if he survives until the end of the game!”"

First blood isnt a mission that awards VPs for EACH enemy unit, just the FIRST enemy unit. So this rule does not apply.

Next time please quote rules....

No need to be rude, Nos.

Your reading of the errata would imply that the only mission that triggers A Glorious Death is Purge the Alien. Were that the case, then the errata would simply specify that A Glorious Death applies only to that one mission. But it doens't. Instead, the errata says for each enemy unit, not for every enemy unit. Lone Wolves do not give up First Blood. Any mission that gives up a victory point for killing a unit (Bigs Guns Never Tire, Purge the Alien, etc.) triggers the Lone Wolves' rule, not just Purge the Alien.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/04 19:47:35


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 azazel the cat wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Good job the errata doesnt say that.

"“Furthermore, in missions that award Victory Points for each enemy unit that has been completely destroyed, a Lone Wolf does not concede a Victory Point if he dies in battle. Instead, to represent his failure to meet a spectacular end, a Lone Wolf awards a Victory Point in such a mission if he survives until the end of the game!”"

First blood isnt a mission that awards VPs for EACH enemy unit, just the FIRST enemy unit. So this rule does not apply.

Next time please quote rules....

No need to be rude, Nos.

Errata says for each enemy unit, not for every enemy unit. Lone Wolves do not give up First Blood. Any mission that gives up a victory point for killing a unit (Bigs Guns Never Tire, Purge the Alien, etc.) triggers the Lone Wolves' rule, not just Purge the Alien.

There's only one mission that awards "Victory Points for each enemy unit that has been completely destroyed".

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in ca
Depraved Slaanesh Chaos Lord





rigeld2 wrote:
 azazel the cat wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Good job the errata doesnt say that.

"“Furthermore, in missions that award Victory Points for each enemy unit that has been completely destroyed, a Lone Wolf does not concede a Victory Point if he dies in battle. Instead, to represent his failure to meet a spectacular end, a Lone Wolf awards a Victory Point in such a mission if he survives until the end of the game!”"

First blood isnt a mission that awards VPs for EACH enemy unit, just the FIRST enemy unit. So this rule does not apply.

Next time please quote rules....

No need to be rude, Nos.

Errata says for each enemy unit, not for every enemy unit. Lone Wolves do not give up First Blood. Any mission that gives up a victory point for killing a unit (Bigs Guns Never Tire, Purge the Alien, etc.) triggers the Lone Wolves' rule, not just Purge the Alien.

There's only one mission that awards "Victory Points for each enemy unit that has been completely destroyed".

Pretty sure that's almost half of what I said, so thanks?

My point is that if the Lone Wolves rule only applies to a single mission, as is Nos' interpretation, then the errata would have just named the mission. But my interpretation, (each, rather than every) reads that the Lone Wolves rule applies to all missions that offer a victory point for killing units.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 azazel the cat wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 azazel the cat wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:Good job the errata doesnt say that.

"“Furthermore, in missions that award Victory Points for each enemy unit that has been completely destroyed, a Lone Wolf does not concede a Victory Point if he dies in battle. Instead, to represent his failure to meet a spectacular end, a Lone Wolf awards a Victory Point in such a mission if he survives until the end of the game!”"

First blood isnt a mission that awards VPs for EACH enemy unit, just the FIRST enemy unit. So this rule does not apply.

Next time please quote rules....

No need to be rude, Nos.

Errata says for each enemy unit, not for every enemy unit. Lone Wolves do not give up First Blood. Any mission that gives up a victory point for killing a unit (Bigs Guns Never Tire, Purge the Alien, etc.) triggers the Lone Wolves' rule, not just Purge the Alien.

There's only one mission that awards "Victory Points for each enemy unit that has been completely destroyed".

Pretty sure that's almost half of what I said, so thanks?

My point is that if the Lone Wolves rule only applies to a single mission, as is Nos' interpretation, then the errata would have just named the mission. But my interpretation, (each, rather than every) reads that the Lone Wolves rule applies to all missions that offer a victory point for killing units.

Nos' interpretation allows the possibility of other missions using the same rule as well. GW has a history of doing that - look at all the rules that allowed reserves even if the mission denied it... in 5th where no base mission denied reserves. Your base assumption is incorrect, therefore anything that uses that as proof is incorrect as well.
And no, I wasn't supporting you. That phrase must be taken as a whole - only one (book) mission awards VP for each enemy unit destroyed. The others do not. Therefore Lone Wolves do give up First Blood.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep, my intepretation, which has the advantage of following the written errata, allows them the option of adding additional missions. they have written the rule in as general way as possible, so they dont have to keep going back and changing it.

Your supposition that they would have specified the singlemission is just that - a supposition.

Lone Wolves give up First Blood

Oh, and it wasnt being rude - you just stated "the codex says..." when the codex does not say - an errata does. You also didnt given anything LIKE an accurate reading of it.
   
Made in us
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout





Lone Wolves give up a VP for First Blood, but not the normal VP for destroying a unit. Nothing in the LW rule supercedes being the first unit killed.

If you are jumping on the Dinobot meme bandwagon regarding the new Warhammer 40k Chaos models, grow the feth up! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: