| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/12 19:58:48
Subject: Assualting out of destroyed transports legal?
|
 |
Hungry Little Ripper
|
As the title implies I am wondering if it is legal to assault with a unit whose transport has been destroyed in the previous players turn. It doesn't seem to make sense to me that a unit is more efficient climbing out of a burning wreckage than out the front door but as I can't seem to find any official ruling on it I don't really have ground to stand on when an opponent argues he can.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/12 20:04:15
Subject: Assualting out of destroyed transports legal?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
If it's not an assault vehicle, then no they can't.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/12 21:05:45
Subject: Assualting out of destroyed transports legal?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Have you checked the FAQ? Explicitly covered there
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 01:24:18
Subject: Assualting out of destroyed transports legal?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Which is particularly important since prior to the FAQ it didn't work if it ws an assault vehicle either...
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 01:28:49
Subject: Assualting out of destroyed transports legal?
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
I'm looking and I can't find the particular section on this.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 01:37:00
Subject: Assualting out of destroyed transports legal?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Q: If a unit disembarks from a destroyed vehicle during the enemy
turn, can it Charge in the Assault phase of its own turn? (p80)
A: No, unless the vehicle in question was an Assault Vehicle.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 15:41:46
Subject: Re:Assualting out of destroyed transports legal?
|
 |
Hungry Little Ripper
|
Ok thanks guys missed that in the FAQ
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 15:58:34
Subject: Assualting out of destroyed transports legal?
|
 |
Huge Hierodule
|
So RAI it's pretty clear that if your vehicle gets destroyed (ie "explodes") there's no assaulting unless it was an assault vehicle.
HOWEVER -- what about RAW players who try to claim that passengers in a vehicle 'explodes' result are actually placed, and not disembarked? Is there an argument to counter that line of logic, should it come up in a game?
I'm just asking as a preemptive measure, as nobody i play regularly has been this obtuse (yet).
|
Been out of the game for awhile, trying to find time to get back into it. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 16:10:03
Subject: Re:Assualting out of destroyed transports legal?
|
 |
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant
Toronto, Ontario
|
I had something similar to this question come up in a game earlier this week, friend of mine had a stormraven, that was flying, explode and we weren't sure whether the unit that survived could assault or not. The stormraven is an assault vehicle but apparently only when it's hovering, if it's flying it doesn't have the assault rule. We weren't sure how to play it since technically after it explodes it's not flying anymore so would it gain the assault rule back? Luckily it was right at the end of the game and made no difference on the out come.
|
10000
4000
7000
Dwarves: 4000 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 16:12:31
Subject: Re:Assualting out of destroyed transports legal?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Rythem wrote:I had something similar to this question come up in a game earlier this week, friend of mine had a stormraven, that was flying, explode and we weren't sure whether the unit that survived could assault or not. The stormraven is an assault vehicle but apparently only when it's hovering, if it's flying it doesn't have the assault rule. We weren't sure how to play it since technically after it explodes it's not flying anymore so would it gain the assault rule back? Luckily it was right at the end of the game and made no difference on the out come.
The Storm raven always has the assault vehicle rule.
However you can't assault after using "skies of blood" At least IIRC.
Automatically Appended Next Post: tetrisphreak wrote:So RAI it's pretty clear that if your vehicle gets destroyed (ie "explodes") there's no assaulting unless it was an assault vehicle.
HOWEVER -- what about RAW players who try to claim that passengers in a vehicle 'explodes' result are actually placed, and not disembarked? Is there an argument to counter that line of logic, should it come up in a game?
I'm just asking as a preemptive measure, as nobody i play regularly has been this obtuse (yet).
A vehicle that suffers an explodes result is still destroyed.
Yes, they still disembark. GW tends to use place/disembark hand in hand. Even in their faq's.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/13 16:13:52
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 16:55:15
Subject: Assualting out of destroyed transports legal?
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
Strmo raven case.....nto conasidered it before.
I woudl have thought that if the raven was in hover mode at the time it exploded - then the guys inside woudl count as disembarkign and, assuming the Ravne moved 6" or less, they coudl charge.
if it was zoomign then they woudl take the Crash and Burn its and essentially be disembarking from a zooming flyer. So no assault.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 17:00:31
Subject: Assualting out of destroyed transports legal?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Praxiss wrote:
if it was zoomign then they woudl take the Crash and Burn its and essentially be disembarking from a zooming flyer. So no assault.
Why is that? The transport has the assault vehicle rule.
I see nothing that says they cannot.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 17:07:47
Subject: Assualting out of destroyed transports legal?
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
because the only way they can disembark from a zooming flyer is via Skies of Blood (in the case of BA), in which they Deep Strike - therefore they can't assault. If they want to assault out of it the Raven has to go into Hover mode and move 6" or less as per the normal dismebarking rules - only then can troops get out AND assault. If the flyer explodes and they survivve the explosion (assuming the flyer was Zooming), they have dismbarked after moving more than 6" - so technically an illegal disembarkation - so they couldn't charge. Surely? I'm wiling to be proved wrong here. If a Land Raider moved 12" could the occupants get out and charge?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/13 17:20:57
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 17:09:44
Subject: Assualting out of destroyed transports legal?
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Praxiss wrote:because the only way they can disembark from a zooming flyer is via Skies of Blood (in the case of BA), in which they Deep Strike - therefore they can't assault.
If they want to assault out of it the Raven has to go into Hover mode and move 6" or less as per the normal dismebarking rules - only then can troops get out AND assault.
If the flyer explodes and they survive the explosion (assuming the flyer was Zooming), they have dismbarked after moving more than 6" - so technically an illegal disembarkation - so they couldn't charge.
Surely? I'm wiling to be proved wrong here.
Read Crash and Burn on pg 81. They don't use skies of blood.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 17:21:49
Subject: Assualting out of destroyed transports legal?
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
But the fact remains that they have essentially disembarked frm a flyer which moved more than 6".
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/13 17:25:54
Subject: Assualting out of destroyed transports legal?
|
 |
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard
|
Praxiss wrote:But the fact remains that they have essentially disembarked frm a flyer which moved more than 6".
That doesn't matter?
They where allowed to disembark because their flyer was destroyed. Since the Stormraven is still an Assault Vehicle, they may assault in their following turn.
If they had used Skies of Blood to disembark, they would have been disallowed to assault. However, since they did not use Skies of Blood, they may assault.
|
warboss wrote:Is there a permanent stickied thread for Chaos players to complain every time someone/anyone gets models or rules besides them? If not, there should be. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|