Switch Theme:

Question about the Vindicare Assassin  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




So I was asking my friend about the vindicare assassins shieldbreaker move and he said that the way it works is "I shoot, I hit who i want, (if they are an independent character) they look out sir, then when that is over the model with the shot on it takes all saves available (including invulns) b/c its taking its saving throws, then if it fails it takes a wound and loses its invulns from that point on." The way i understood it was i shoot, i allocate the wound, then if you dont have a lookout sir or fail or whatever the model IMMEDIATELY loses all invulns b4 it takes the saves then can use a cover if it has one or whatever save it might have left.

Anyways thats the delema, please tell me what you think!!
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

the rule says allocated. Even if you LOS it the original would lose the invul.

   
Made in us
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator






MD. Baltimore Area

Yes, you lose the INV save during allocation (before saves are rolled). You cannot take an INV save against a shield breaker round.




I am not certain, about the interaction of Look Out Sir and the shield breaker. It kinda looks like LOS does not "allocate" the wound to someone else, but just that the wound is "resolved" against the unlucky fellow.

personally, I would PLAY it that LOS transfers all effects of the shieldbreaker, but I am not sure if that is RAW.




40k: 2500 pts. All Built, Mostly Painted Pics: 1 -- 2 -- 3
BFG: 1500 pts. Mostly built, half painted Pics: 1
Blood Bowl: Complete! Pics: 1
Fantasy: Daemons, just starting Pic: 1  
   
Made in ie
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard





Ireland

This old chestnut has been played out a few times here since 6th edition began. Try using the search bar next time.

It's not the size of the blade, it's how you use it.
2000+
1500+
2000+

For all YMDC arguements remember: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vbd3E6tK2U

My blog: http://dublin-spot-check.blogspot.ie/ 
   
Made in us
Neophyte undergoing Ritual of Detestation





How I've been playing it and how it seems to be fairly accepted is that the Shieldbreaker round is allocated to whomever the Vindicare's owner would like and that model immediately loses its Invulnerable save. If the model chosen is capable of a Look out Sir they're free to try that to pass off the wound but they still have lost their invulnerable save.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






It's "reallocated" on a successful LoS! roll.
   
Made in us
Grey Knight Purgator firing around corners




Boston, MA

You cannot make a LOS roll against shield breaker, because there is no unsaved wound to make. You roll to wound as normal, but instead of causing a wound, you destroy wargear. As no unsaved wound is caused, there is nothing to LOS from.

0000 - Rest Period - BUT YOU BETTER NOT SPEND FOUR WHOLE HOURS SLEEPING. IF YOU DO YOU ARE NOT ANGRY ENOUGH AND TOMORROW YOU GET THE FIRST CHANCE TO PLAY PIN THE TAU ON THE CARNIFEX. 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 djdarknoise wrote:
You cannot make a LOS roll against shield breaker, because there is no unsaved wound to make. You roll to wound as normal, but instead of causing a wound, you destroy wargear. As no unsaved wound is caused, there is nothing to LOS from.

Absolutely false. Shieldbreaker still causes a wound.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Technically, both the guy who was originally targeted and the guy jumping in the way lose their invulns. Both had the shot allocated to them, thus both meet the trigger for destroying the Invuln granted by Wargear.

Only the guy jumping in the way takes the wound however.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 djdarknoise wrote:
You cannot make a LOS roll against shield breaker, because there is no unsaved wound to make. You roll to wound as normal, but instead of causing a wound, you destroy wargear. As no unsaved wound is caused, there is nothing to LOS from.


Odd, because it still causes a wound at AP1
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






 Grey Templar wrote:
Technically, both the guy who was originally targeted and the guy jumping in the way lose their invulns. Both had the shot allocated to them, thus both meet the trigger for destroying the Invuln granted by Wargear.

Only the guy jumping in the way takes the wound however.


I believe that "reallocation" would disagree with this assessment as your method would require allocation to both models.

To "reallocate" is completely divert from the original.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Kevin949 wrote:
 Grey Templar wrote:
Technically, both the guy who was originally targeted and the guy jumping in the way lose their invulns. Both had the shot allocated to them, thus both meet the trigger for destroying the Invuln granted by Wargear.

Only the guy jumping in the way takes the wound however.


I believe that "reallocation" would disagree with this assessment as your method would require allocation to both models.

To "reallocate" is completely divert from the original.


Only in a perfect rules set. You allocated to the IC, the IC's controller LOS's it off. It's now been allocated twice.

   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
 Grey Templar wrote:
Technically, both the guy who was originally targeted and the guy jumping in the way lose their invulns. Both had the shot allocated to them, thus both meet the trigger for destroying the Invuln granted by Wargear.

Only the guy jumping in the way takes the wound however.


I believe that "reallocation" would disagree with this assessment as your method would require allocation to both models.

To "reallocate" is completely divert from the original.


Only in a perfect rules set. You allocated to the IC, the IC's controller LOS's it off. It's now been allocated twice.


It has not. It has been reallocated. To allocate twice would be to allocate two wounds and two shots.
   
Made in us
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw




Stephens City, VA

 Kevin949 wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
 Grey Templar wrote:
Technically, both the guy who was originally targeted and the guy jumping in the way lose their invulns. Both had the shot allocated to them, thus both meet the trigger for destroying the Invuln granted by Wargear.

Only the guy jumping in the way takes the wound however.


I believe that "reallocation" would disagree with this assessment as your method would require allocation to both models.

To "reallocate" is completely divert from the original.


Only in a perfect rules set. You allocated to the IC, the IC's controller LOS's it off. It's now been allocated twice.


It has not. It has been reallocated. To allocate twice would be to allocate two wounds and two shots.


Not in the least. Unless you're telling me you don't allocate with the Vindi.

It's worth noting pg 16 BGB LOS says nothing about reallocating. Just transferring a wound.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/17 21:39:41


   
Made in tr
Willing Inquisitorial Excruciator





But what breaks the shield is the hit not the wound. So a wound being allocated would not break the invul save now would it?

Weyland-Yutani
Building Better Terrains

https://www.weyland-yutani-inc.com/

https://www.facebook.com/weylandyutaniinc/

 Grey Templar wrote:
The Riptide can't be a giant death robot, its completely lacking a sword or massive chainsaw. All giant death robots have swords or massive chainsaws.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 pizzaguardian wrote:
But what breaks the shield is the hit not the wound. So a wound being allocated would not break the invul save now would it?

Actually what breaks the shield is a wound being allocated - per the Shieldbreaker rule.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
jdjamesdean@mail.com wrote:
 Kevin949 wrote:
 Grey Templar wrote:
Technically, both the guy who was originally targeted and the guy jumping in the way lose their invulns. Both had the shot allocated to them, thus both meet the trigger for destroying the Invuln granted by Wargear.

Only the guy jumping in the way takes the wound however.


I believe that "reallocation" would disagree with this assessment as your method would require allocation to both models.

To "reallocate" is completely divert from the original.


Only in a perfect rules set. You allocated to the IC, the IC's controller LOS's it off. It's now been allocated twice.


It has not. It has been reallocated. To allocate twice would be to allocate two wounds and two shots.


Not in the least. Unless you're telling me you don't allocate with the Vindi.

It's worth noting pg 16 BGB LOS says nothing about reallocating. Just transferring a wound.


Read the very last line of the LoS! rules on that page.

I believe there are several other places that reference reallocation using LoS! but I don't remember off the top of my head where they were.

*Edit*
Pg 26.

Pg 64 - Fighting a challenge

Precursory search...

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2012/12/17 23:56:52


 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Yes, a wound needs to be allocated for the Shieldbreaker to break the wargear.

1) Vindicare Hits

2) Vindicare wounds

3) Vindicare's controlling player allocated the wound to Character X

3a) Character X's invulns are broken

4) Character X gets to LoS the wound he was allocated

5) Joe Schmo from the unit gets reallocated the wound

5a) Joe Schmo's invuln is broken



If the wound was reallocated, it must have been allocated prior to the reallocation. Therefore, the criteria for breaking invulns is satisfied and the Invulns are broken on both poor sods.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yep, reallocation requires an initial allocation
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Well, my hands are tied with not being able to bring in english definitions of words so I'll bow out of this.

It's ludicrous and I'd never agree to it.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Grey Templar wrote:
Yes, a wound needs to be allocated for the Shieldbreaker to break the wargear.

1) Vindicare Hits

2) Vindicare wounds

3) Vindicare's controlling player allocated the wound to Character X

3a) Character X's invulns are broken

4) Character X gets to LoS the wound he was allocated

5) Joe Schmo from the unit gets reallocated the wound

5a) Joe Schmo's invuln is broken



If the wound was reallocated, it must have been allocated prior to the reallocation. Therefore, the criteria for breaking invulns is satisfied and the Invulns are broken on both poor sods.


This is incorrect. The wound is not "re-allocated" only re-assigned, so Shieldbreaker doesn't magically go off twice. It should be:

1) Vindicare Hits

2) Vindicare wounds

3) Vindicare's controlling player allocated the wound to Character X

3a) Character X's invulns are broken

4) Character X gets to LoS the wound he was allocated

5) Joe Schmo from the unit gets transferred the wound
   
Made in gr
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Estimated number of opponents & TOs willing to accept this: 0.0.
Shield breaker acts on allocation in oorder to prevent invus from stopping it. It was never intended to break a wargear in one model and wound another. It's simply ridiculous. As with any other re-, reallocating the wound would transfer all its properties to the LOS model.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/18 17:49:55


 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






MadmanMSU wrote:
 Grey Templar wrote:
Yes, a wound needs to be allocated for the Shieldbreaker to break the wargear.

1) Vindicare Hits

2) Vindicare wounds

3) Vindicare's controlling player allocated the wound to Character X

3a) Character X's invulns are broken

4) Character X gets to LoS the wound he was allocated

5) Joe Schmo from the unit gets reallocated the wound

5a) Joe Schmo's invuln is broken



If the wound was reallocated, it must have been allocated prior to the reallocation. Therefore, the criteria for breaking invulns is satisfied and the Invulns are broken on both poor sods.


This is incorrect. The wound is not "re-allocated" only re-assigned, so Shieldbreaker doesn't magically go off twice. It should be:

1) Vindicare Hits

2) Vindicare wounds

3) Vindicare's controlling player allocated the wound to Character X

3a) Character X's invulns are broken

4) Character X gets to LoS the wound he was allocated

5) Joe Schmo from the unit gets transferred the wound


It does reallocate, as specified earlier in this thread.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Nowhere in the LoS! rule is the word "re-allocated" used. Only "re-assigned". The wound only gets allocated once, therefore there is only one place Shieldbreaker can activate.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






MadmanMSU wrote:
Nowhere in the LoS! rule is the word "re-allocated" used. Only "re-assigned". The wound only gets allocated once, therefore there is only one place Shieldbreaker can activate.


Read the thread, and the rule. Yes, it is there.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





MadmanMSU wrote:
Nowhere in the LoS! rule is the word "re-allocated" used. Only "re-assigned". The wound only gets allocated once, therefore there is only one place Shieldbreaker can activate.

Please quote the rule.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




rigeld2 wrote:
MadmanMSU wrote:
Nowhere in the LoS! rule is the word "re-allocated" used. Only "re-assigned". The wound only gets allocated once, therefore there is only one place Shieldbreaker can activate.

Please quote the rule.


To make a Look Out, Sir attempt, rol1a D6.
. On a roll of 3 or less, the look Out, Sir attempt fails.
. On a roll of 4+,the look Out, Sir attempt is successful.
You must pick a model from the same unit within 6"
and resolve the W'ound against them instead. This can
even be a model that is out of range or line of sight of the
Shooting attack.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






MadmanMSU wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
MadmanMSU wrote:
Nowhere in the LoS! rule is the word "re-allocated" used. Only "re-assigned". The wound only gets allocated once, therefore there is only one place Shieldbreaker can activate.

Please quote the rule.


To make a Look Out, Sir attempt, rol1a D6.
. On a roll of 3 or less, the look Out, Sir attempt fails.
. On a roll of 4+,the look Out, Sir attempt is successful.
You must pick a model from the same unit within 6"
and resolve the W'ound against them instead. This can
even be a model that is out of range or line of sight of the
Shooting attack.


The "entire" rule:

Look Out SIr
When a wound (or unsaved Wound) is allocated to one of your
characters, and there is another model from the same unit within
6", he's allowed a look Out, Sir attempt. This represents the
character ducking back further into the unit, holding a comrade in
the line of fire, or being pushed aside by a selfless ally. If no model
is in range, then you cannot make a look Out, Sir attempt.
To make a Look Out, Sir attempt, roll a D6.
. On a roll of 3 or less, the look Out, Sir attempt fails.
. On a roll of 4+,the look Out, Sir attempt is successful.
You must pick a model from the same unit within 6"
and resolve the W'ound against them instead. This can
even be a model that is out of range or line of sight of the
Shooting attack.
If the unit only consists of characters, a look Out, Sir attempt can
still be rnade, with one character within 6" taking the place of the
erstwhile victim if the roll is passed. Only one Look Our, Sir attempt
can be made per wound allocated - once the wound has been
transferred (or not), no further attempts to reallocate it can be made.

Also, I stated earlier, there are two other places that reallocation is mentioned. One place, however, is just a rehash of this rule.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/18 18:29:53


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Kevin949 wrote:
MadmanMSU wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
MadmanMSU wrote:
Nowhere in the LoS! rule is the word "re-allocated" used. Only "re-assigned". The wound only gets allocated once, therefore there is only one place Shieldbreaker can activate.

Please quote the rule.


To make a Look Out, Sir attempt, rol1a D6.
. On a roll of 3 or less, the look Out, Sir attempt fails.
. On a roll of 4+,the look Out, Sir attempt is successful.
You must pick a model from the same unit within 6"
and resolve the W'ound against them instead. This can
even be a model that is out of range or line of sight of the
Shooting attack.


The "entire" rule:

Look Out SIr
When a wound (or unsaved Wound) is allocated to one of your
characters, and there is another model from the same unit within
6", he's allowed a look Out, Sir attempt. This represents the
character ducking back further into the unit, holding a comrade in
the line of fire, or being pushed aside by a selfless ally. If no model
is in range, then you cannot make a look Out, Sir attempt.
To make a Look Out, Sir attempt, roll a D6.
. On a roll of 3 or less, the look Out, Sir attempt fails.
. On a roll of 4+,the look Out, Sir attempt is successful.
You must pick a model from the same unit within 6"
and resolve the W'ound against them instead. This can
even be a model that is out of range or line of sight of the
Shooting attack.
If the unit only consists of characters, a look Out, Sir attempt can
still be rnade, with one character within 6" taking the place of the
erstwhile victim if the roll is passed. Only one Look Our, Sir attempt
can be made per wound allocated - once the wound has been
transferred (or not), no further attempts to reallocate it can be made.

Also, I stated earlier, there are two other places that reallocation is mentioned. One place, however, is just a rehash of this rule.


Well, I suppose if you read it that way, then you're right, Shieldbreaker does affect both models, so they would both lose their invulnerable save. Doesn't seem right to me, but that's how it reads.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






I will restate, I do not agree that shieldbreaker affects both models.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: