| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/22 23:40:27
Subject: Noob questions about Shifting Stones, and their UA
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
So in a recent game I was a bit confused about moving the Stone Keeper shifting stones UA. I'm really new at Warmahordes, with this being only my third game, so I'm still learning how all the terminology interacts.
Anyway, when moving the unit of stones via 'Shifting', how does the Stone Keeper move? Does he also have 'Shifting'? His card doesn't list it as an ability, but his 'Disorientation' rule says he can't advance after being placed by Shifting, which kind of implies he has it? Does he simply inherit all of the shifting powers of the stones? If so does that mean he can also use Healing Field, and/or count as a model for the purposes of Teleportation?
Speaking of Healing Field, the card says to 'roll seperately for each model'. So just to confirm, that means one beast could in theory gain 3d3 damage points back if he was in range of all three stones? (or four if my above question is true?)
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/23 01:14:36
Subject: Noob questions about Shifting Stones, and their UA
|
 |
Druid Warder
SLC UT
|
The first question is kind of a tricky one, but while he doesn't have the abilities of the unit specifically, the Shifting Powers rules say "Models in the unit..." for Healing Field and "Each model in this unit..." for Shifting. This means that while he doesn't have the rule himself, the way those rules are worded means that all members of the unit do the same thing. He kind of gets "dragged along" in a way with them. This does mean he has Healing Field and Shifting. It does not count for Teleportation, as it refers specifically to having all three Shifting Stones, which he is not one of.
On the topic of Healing Field, note that it says "one or more" in the term. This is a logic or: if either or both are met, you then get the effect. So in this case (1 or more) then heal 1d3. Not 1d3 for every stone you are near. The "roll seperately for each model" is referring to the fact that you roll a different d3 for each model, not roll once and apply the result as healing to everyone.
And stuff.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/23 02:11:13
Subject: Noob questions about Shifting Stones, and their UA
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Right, I understand the wording for Shifting and Healing Field as it relates to the Stone Keeper now.
As for the Healing, so if I'm understanding you correctly it means that a given warbeast can only ever heal 1d3 per turn from a unit of stones? So the 'roll seperately for each model' relates to the beast, not the stone. In effect you could theoretically heal a whole bunch of beasts for 1d3 each, as long as they were all within 1" of a stone?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/23 03:11:01
Subject: Noob questions about Shifting Stones, and their UA
|
 |
Druid Warder
SLC UT
|
Correct. Each thing can only be healed by a unit 1d3, but as many things as you can cram within 1" of all the Stones or the Stone Keeper will be able to heal.
And stuff.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/30 09:09:43
Subject: Noob questions about Shifting Stones, and their UA
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Including the stones of the very same unit I presume.
Also, with two units models can heal a total of 2d3?
But the Stone Keeper don't have to Shift just because the unit does it? He could choose to move normally, yes?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/30 16:03:17
Subject: Noob questions about Shifting Stones, and their UA
|
 |
Praetorian
|
The Shifting ability says to place each model in the unit, the Keeper is a model in the unit, so yes he is also be placed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/30 21:10:55
Subject: Noob questions about Shifting Stones, and their UA
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Thanks. When I come to think of it, why would I even bother moving instead of shift the Stone Keeper...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/30 23:11:21
Subject: Noob questions about Shifting Stones, and their UA
|
 |
Druid Warder
SLC UT
|
Well, sometimes the Stones do something else (Healing Field or Teleport). He might then want to wander something and nail it with a Rock Hammer.
And stuff.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/10 01:08:54
Subject: Noob questions about Shifting Stones, and their UA
|
 |
Stealthy Grot Snipa
|
Blaque wrote:The first question is kind of a tricky one, but while he doesn't have the abilities of the unit specifically, the Shifting Powers rules say "Models in the unit..." for Healing Field and "Each model in this unit..." for Shifting. This means that while he doesn't have the rule himself, the way those rules are worded means that all members of the unit do the same thing. He kind of gets "dragged along" in a way with them. This does mean he has Healing Field and Shifting. It does not count for Teleportation, as it refers specifically to having all three Shifting Stones, which he is not one of.
I've played since Superiority, and just recently picked up a Stone Keeper. I was really curious about the OP's question as well, and your response clarifies things really well. Thanks!
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|