Switch Theme:

Gate of Infinity and teleport homers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in br
Longtime Dakkanaut




Brazil

Ok, this may sound like an exploit, but fluffwise the power Gate of Infinity is just a "short range teleport", as all imperial teleports are done using the imaterium, exactly like this power do, but based on tecnology instead of psychic powers.

So, the question is: do teleport hommers work on Gate of Infinity "jumps"? The description of the wargear say it only work on teleporting DS, but give a very fluffy explanation, and is not much "clear" rulewise (it take terminator squads as an example).

And, if this is true, what happens when a unit with Teleport Hommers is teleported using Gate of Infinity? The unit was alredy in table on the last turn, so it would not scatter?

What you guys think about it? Acceptable? Exploit? Horrendou misinterpreting of the rules?

By myself, i think this as ok, except that a "jumping unit" would not give itself "no scatter" for the hommer...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/29 21:06:20


If my post show some BAD spelling issues, please forgive-me, english is not my natural language, and i never received formal education on it...
My take on Demiurgs (enjoy the reading):
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/537654.page
Please, if you think im wrong, correct me (i will try to take it constructively). 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, they are not teleporting. The homer does not work

This has been asked a couple times before...
   
Made in us
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard






Peoria IL

Locator Beacon + GoI = RAW win

Homing/teleport beacon/homer + GoI = no different than a normal DS. You're not teleporting, you're just deep striking.

DO:70S++G++M+B++I+Pw40k93/f#++D++++A++++/eWD-R++++T(D)DM+
Note: Records since 2010, lists kept current (W-D-L) Blue DP Crusade 126-11-6 Biel-Tan Aspect Waves 2-0-2 Looted Green Horde smash your face in 32-7-8 Broadside/Shield Drone/Kroot blitz goodness 23-3-4 Grey Hunters galore 17-5-5 Khan Bikes Win 63-1-1 Tanith with Pardus Armor 11-0-0 Crimson Tide 59-4-0 Green/Raven/Deathwing 18-0-0 Jumping GK force with Inq. 4-0-0 BTemplars w LRs 7-1-2 IH Legion with Automata 8-0-0 RG Legion w Adepticon medal 6-0-0 Primaris and Little Buddies 7-0-0

QM Templates here, HH army builder app for both v1 and v2
One Page 40k Ruleset for Game Beginners 
   
Made in us
Huge Bone Giant





Oakland, CA -- U.S.A.

Still doesn't work, but people will still argue it.

"It is not the bullet with your name on it that should worry you, it's the one labeled "To whom it may concern. . ."

DQ:70S++G+++MB+I+Pwhfb06+D++A+++/aWD-R++++T(D)DM+ 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

it doesn't work with Teliport Homers. it does with Locator Beacons and any equipment or rule that effects Deep Strike.

Teliport homers only work on Terminators, or GKs that explicitly teliport into battle(Dreadknights, Strike Squads, anything with a Personal Teliporter)

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Locator beacons do not work with Gate of Infinity either.

The Locator beacon rules state "If a unit wishes to arrive on the battlefield via deep strike" (SM codex 67)

The unit using Gate of Infinity is not arriving on the battlefield (from reserves) so the beacon does not help them.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 DeathReaper wrote:
The Locator beacon rules state "If a unit wishes to arrive on the battlefield via deep strike" (SM codex 67)

The unit using Gate of Infinity is not arriving on the battlefield (from reserves) so the beacon does not help them.

The locator beacon says nothing about reserves, just that the unit has to be arriving via deep strike. GoI uses the Deep Strike rules, so the beacon works just fine.

 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

No it does not work.

The unit is not arriving on the battlefield, as they are already on the battlefield.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

No they aren't. You remove them from the table before they deep strike back on.

 
   
Made in fi
Regular Dakkanaut




If you are using the rulebook version of GoI, it specifically mentions arriving.

"Remove the target unit from the board. It then
immediately arrives using the rules for Deep Strike."


The SM codex version is a little different.


"The Librarian, and any unit he is with, are
removed from the tabletop and immediately placed back
together anywhere within 24" using the deep strike rules."


Even though SM codex version does not mention arriving, I would say it still works, because they are removed from the table.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2012/12/29 13:43:38


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: