Switch Theme:

Swarm template instant deaths  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Indiana

This Post has been rescinded for a much more clarified post later in the topic. Please Refer to the later post, and I happily retract my statement that you have to take wounds to models under the template. Loopholes have been detected, so have fun.

Unyielding Hunger

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/04 02:56:22


"There is a cancer eating at the Imperium. With each decade it advances deeper, leaving drained, dead worlds in its wake. This horror, this abomination, has thought and purpose that functions on an unimaginable, galactic scale and all we can do is try to stop the swarms of bioengineered monsters it unleashes upon us by instinct. We have given the horror a name to salve our fears; we call it the Tyranid race, but if is aware of us at all it must know us only as Prey."
Hive Fleet Grootslang 15000+
Servants of the Void 2000+ 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





sirlynchmob wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
In a same save unit you populate the wound pool. then the unit takes a saving throw. any failed save are wounds suffered by the models in the unit, which all have the swarm rule, so the wounds will double at this point.

A single STR 6 weapon hits a Ripper unit. According to you, the unit fails its save and then the entire unit is wiped out.


Since you still have no real argument for not doubling the wounds, you're now resorting to the slippery slope arguments? Nice, this is why I'm sure you're on the wrong end of this.

No real argument? I'm sorry, is there a post of yours I didn't respond to?
Please don't insult me.

But since you started us down this road how about you address that since you think suffers=lose 1 wound

then you break invuln saves, because you never suffer a wound to save against.

RAW they're broken already, yes. We came to that conclusion earlier in the thread. Have you read it?
Units don't have saves so the whole unit takes every wound.

That would be true except that the rules give the unit a save by having you check each model to see if they're the same save, and then allowing you to roll that.
FNP stops working because if you've already lost the wound there's no wound to save against.

FNP isn't a save.
in a mixed unit, you probably would also claim that even though swarm doubles the wounds, you still only lose 1 wound, because pg 15 says you "reduce that model's wounds by 1.

Please don't pretend to assume what I would argue. This is a lie, I'd never say that.

A single str 6 wound caused ends up in the wound pool

Which isn't on a model yet.
you take your armor save against it.

Still not on a model.
we now note you have a str 6 unsaved wound in the wound pool.
Now we allocate that one str 6 unsaved wound to the model, which based on the model may or may not cause ID. Because this is the step we reduce wounds.

Correct, the ID isn't determined until you allocate the wound.

for a swarm though
A single str 6 wound caused ends up in the wound pool
you take your armor save against it. You used a swarm models save characteristic.

Correct but irrelevant.
we now note you have a str 6 unsaved wound in the wound pool. Swarm triggers on unsaved wounds, they double here at first mention of unsaved wounds.

Absolutely false. Which means any assumptions after this point cannot be true. Perhaps you'd like to apply the actual rules instead of your incorrect reading?

Even with a mixed save unit A lot of stuff happens between "if it fails" and "reduce the models wounds by 1." That comma is where the model now has a unsaved wound, for any unsaved wound effects to occur. ie FNP, swarm, etc. it is in that comma that the wound would get doubled creating 2 unsaved wounds. so you now have the 1 wound with a extra wound being created which is floating at this point. We finish the sentence by reducing the model's wounds by 1 which causes ID then we still have a duplicate wound to resolve. So we move on to the next paragraph

So you've allocated a wound. It doubles. Where is your permission to move it back to the wound pool?

"continue allocating wounds ..", taking saves (the wound has already been saved against, its already an unsaved wound) so you reduce the next models wounds by 1 which causes ID.

So in a mixed unit, according to you, a S6 AP6 blast that causes 3 wounds would kill 3 bases and deliver 3 unsaveable wounds to the attached IC? (Assuming a unit of 3 Rippers and a Tyranid Prime)


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Perhaps if you were less conceited you'd be correct.
 Unyielding Hunger wrote:

1. 4 Wounds are issued to the Unit of Ripper Swarms, and are then placed in the Wounds Pool.
2. From the Wounds Pool, 1 Wound is issued to each Ripper Swarm.

Citation required. The Same Save rules do not say this.

In this case, instead of trying to weasel out some extra kills, you should have focused on the simple and straightforward rules that dictate a Blast Template.

You mean the ones that say to use the normal shooting rules to resolve the attack? The ones you've failed to use?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/03 16:54:36


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Unyielding Hunger wrote:
Ok guys, I have come to save this thread, but before I do, I would like to make some important notes. For those that have championed the fact that you shouldn't be killing 8 Ripper Swams, I thank you. However, you guys have spent far too long looking at the wrong section, and for that, shame on you.

For those that insist that you can kill 8 models, I am sorry to inform you that you guys are wrong.

To the Original Poster, I have come to solve this important question in 1 post, that when done, should completely kill this thread because there is no way to refute simple logic, which is how I plan to solve this. So, without further ado, may I present the 100% answer that no one can deny.

The Scenario: A swarm of 9 Ripper Swarms has been hit by a Strength 6 Armor Penetration 2 Blast Template. 4 of the Ripper Swarms fall under the template.

1. 4 Wounds are issued to the Unit of Ripper Swarms, and are then placed in the Wounds Pool.
2. From the Wounds Pool, 1 Wound is issued to each Ripper Swarm.
3. Each Ripper Swarm has simultaneous checks for Armor Saves, which auto-fail from Armor Penetration.
4. Each Ripper Swarm suffers a Wound, which is immediately doubled from the Swarms rule.
5. Each Ripper Swarm suffers the first wound, which immediately makes a check for Instant Death, which it fails, and immediately dies.
6. 4 extra Wounds that were allocated to the Rippers Swarms immediately go away, due to the fact that these Wounds were issued from a Blast Template, and Wounds dealt from a Blast Template cannot be issued to Models that were not initially affected by the Blast Template.
7. Game continues on.

I must say, I am dissapointed in this thread. No one ever thought to challenge this shouting match with the simple rules of a Blast Template. Instead of fighting over wording, you should have simply gone back to the beginning of the problem. Remember, the effect of any problem is determined by the cause. In this case, instead of trying to weasel out some extra kills, you should have focused on the simple and straightforward rules that dictate a Blast Template.

Unyielding Hunger


Perhaps you should explain your number 6 and cite rules to back it up.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Fragile wrote:
 Unyielding Hunger wrote:

6. 4 extra Wounds that were allocated to the Rippers Swarms immediately go away, due to the fact that these Wounds were issued from a Blast Template, and Wounds dealt from a Blast Template cannot be issued to Models that were not initially affected by the Blast Template.


Perhaps you should explain your number 6 and cite rules to back it up.

I completely missed that - stopped reading when he got step 2 wrong.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Indiana

 Unyielding Hunger wrote:

1. 4 Wounds are issued to the Unit of Ripper Swarms, and are then placed in the Wounds Pool.
2. From the Wounds Pool, 1 Wound is issued to each Ripper Swarm.

Citation required. The Same Save rules do not say this.

Pg 15, right hand side. Allocate Wounds down to Emptied Wound Pool.

In this case, instead of trying to weasel out some extra kills, you should have focused on the simple and straightforward rules that dictate a Blast Template.

You mean the ones that say to use the normal shooting rules to resolve the attack? The ones you used?


Fixed that for you. Read the rules. The initial wounds were allocated to the wounds pool from the shot. The extra wounds given by Swarms are never given to the wounds pool, therefore they cannot be reallocated. 4 wounds were caused by the shot, and those are the only wounds given to the wounds pool.

And modified original post to be more clear.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/03 17:15:50


"There is a cancer eating at the Imperium. With each decade it advances deeper, leaving drained, dead worlds in its wake. This horror, this abomination, has thought and purpose that functions on an unimaginable, galactic scale and all we can do is try to stop the swarms of bioengineered monsters it unleashes upon us by instinct. We have given the horror a name to salve our fears; we call it the Tyranid race, but if is aware of us at all it must know us only as Prey."
Hive Fleet Grootslang 15000+
Servants of the Void 2000+ 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Unyielding Hunger wrote:
For those that insist that you can kill 8 models, I am sorry to inform you that you guys are wrong.

If your premise was correct, then you would be correct, but your premise falls apart. See below for more info.
To the Original Poster, I have come to solve this important question in 1 post, that when done, should completely kill this thread because there is no way to refute simple logic, which is how I plan to solve this. So, without further ado, may I present the 100% answer that no one can deny.

The Scenario: A swarm of 9 Ripper Swarms has been hit by a Strength 6 Armor Penetration 2 Blast Template Marker. 4 of the Ripper Swarms fall under the Template Marker.

1. 4 Wounds are issued to the Unit of Ripper Swarms, and are then placed in the Wounds Pool.
2. From the Wounds Pool, 1 Wound is issued to each Ripper Swarm.

This is where you are incorrect (#2). Read P.15 the wounds are not allocated until after saves are made. So Denied.
6. 4 extra Wounds that were allocated to the Rippers Swarms immediately go away, due to the fact that these Wounds were issued from a Blast Template Marker, and Wounds dealt from a Blast Template Marker cannot be issued to Models that were not initially affected by the Blast Template Marker.


This is incorrect as well. Any model in the unit can be allocated the wound even if they were not under the blast marker. If it was not barrage you must remove the closest model to the firing unit first even if it was not under the Blast Marker. See the remove casualties section on P. 15 for more details.

Also Blast Marker, not Template. The Template is the teardrop shaped Template they use for flamer weapons.
7. Game continues on.

I must say, I am dissapointed in this thread. No one ever thought to challenge this shouting match with the simple rules of a Blast Template Marker. Instead of fighting over wording, you should have simply gone back to the beginning of the problem. Remember, the effect of any problem is determined by the cause. In this case, instead of trying to weasel out some extra kills, you should have focused on the simple and straightforward rules that dictate a Blast Template Marker.

Unyielding Hunger

Added the orange.

Please re-read the blast marker section, any model can be killed as a result of the blast marker hits.
rigeld2 wrote:
Because you're applying the wound to the models (so you can double it).
Why are you being inconsistent?
I am not applying anything.

They tell us to use the common armor save in the unit to make armor saves before allocation. after the models fail their armor saves, which is before applying the wounds to the models, you see that Swarm rule doubles unsaved wounds.

A unit is just a collection of models, so does the unit have the swarm rule? If so the wounds get doubled when they are suffered.

Basically the process is this:

1. Cause wounds and populate the wound pool.
2. Roll armor saves and fail 4 armor saves (Note it says the unit gets an armor save but models take saves not units so this step either does not work, or we have to look to the models for the SV value).
3. Since the unit suffers an unsaved wound and the unit has the Swarm rule the wounds are now doubled.
4. Allocate wounds and remove casualties.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Unyielding Hunger wrote:
 Unyielding Hunger wrote:

1. 4 Wounds are issued to the Unit of Ripper Swarms, and are then placed in the Wounds Pool.
2. From the Wounds Pool, 1 Wound is issued to each Ripper Swarm.

rigeld2 wrote:Citation required. The Same Save rules do not say this.


Pg 15, right hand side. Allocate Wounds down to Emptied Wound Pool.

Same save units do armor saves first, then allocate, and its not allocated 1 to each ripper swarm, but one to the closest model, resolved, repeat.

In this case, instead of trying to weasel out some extra kills, you should have focused on the simple and straightforward rules that dictate a Blast Template.

You mean the ones that say to use the normal shooting rules to resolve the attack? The ones you used?


Fixed that for you. Read the rules. The initial wounds were allocated to the wounds pool from the shot. The extra wounds given by Swarms are never given to the wounds pool, therefore they cannot be reallocated. 4 wounds were caused by the shot, and those are the only wounds given to the wounds pool.

And modified original post to be more clear.

Oh, so exactly what I've been saying, only with incorrect rules citation and confusing wording? Thanks for being so disappointed and bringing up irrelevant rules - protip: in this case the blast rules are absolutely irrelevant.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 DeathReaper wrote:

1. Cause wounds and populate the wound pool.
2. Roll armor saves and fail 4 armor saves (Note it says the unit gets an armor save but models take saves not units so this step either does not work, or we have to look to the models for the SV value).

I've addressed this. The rule requires checking the models saves as you must determine if its a mixed or same save unit. Once you determine it's same save, you roll that save for the unit.
3. Since the unit suffers an unsaved wound and the unit has the Swarm rule the wounds are now doubled.
4. Allocate wounds and remove casualties.

The unit suffered an unsaved wound that has a STR double the units toughness the entire unit is removed, according to you.

The Swarm trigger and the ID trigger are identical. Applying one but not the other is inconsistent.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/01/03 17:33:30


My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster





North Denver

So what was wrong with my post that it got completely skipped over?

The rules are all about timing.

Eternal warrior activates upon an unsaved wound. So does the double rainbow effect of templates on swarms. They activate simultaneously, so the person who's turn it is chooses which applies first. You also roll all saves at the same time in a non-mixed unit, so all wounds are rolled simultaneously, unless they are mixed str and ap value shots, which the shooting player chooses which set of shots hit and resolve first.

There are 4 scarab bases. I wound 3 with baleflamer hits. I choose ID to apply first. I kill 3 models.

If I chose double wounds, I would have 6 wounds, and each base has 3 wounds. I kill 2 bases, with no spill-over to the other 2 bases, so ID applies to no model. I kill only 2 bases.

I hit and wound with a bolter and 3 wounds from a baleflamer. I apply the bolter first, remove 1 wound, double the wounds to 6 first, then apply instant death. 1 wound spills over to the other base and I kill 3 scarabs. Had I applied instant death first, the same amount of models would have died, because the bolter left 2 wounds open for ID to stick to.


In a mixed unit, it's more complex. You must allocate wounds on a model-by-model basis. You would have to roll each save separately, and then upon a failure, resolve the double wound/ID order, which would mean that either order would do nothing for you in my example.

4 scarab bases and 1 lord attached. Scarabs are up front, but the unit is mixed. I can, therefore, assign wounds on a model-by-model basis, RAW.

"First, allocate a Wound from the Wound pool to the enemy model closest to the firing unit." If there is no save or a failed save, then you choose to apply the template or the ID effect first, MODEL-BY-MODEL per RAW. I can elect to use the fast dice rule as the defender. "You can instead allocate them in groups equal to however many models with the same, best save are nearest to the firing unit."

3 scarabs, 1 lord w/ phase shifter. 4 baleflamer wounds. I apply 3 wounds only, per mixed saves.

If shooter doubles first: 6 wounds, 2 dead scarabs, 1 leftover flamer wound to other scarab base. Lord takes no wound.

If shooter IDs first: 3 ID wounds, 3 dead scarabs, 1 leftover flamer to the lord.

Work complete!
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The fact that you ignore allocation in all of your examples.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:
The unit suffered an unsaved wound that has a STR double the units toughness the entire unit is removed, according to you.

The Swarm trigger and the ID trigger are identical. Applying one but not the other is inconsistent.
They still need to be allocated the wound to be removed. I am surprised you glossed over that fact.

@katfude 2 things.

1) it was back on Page 4
2) Doubling of wounds and Determining ID have nothing to do with "Applying rules first" Not sure what you post is supposed to imply.

Basically you said "so the person who's turn it is chooses which applies first." where did you get that from, because it is not a rule. You may be confusing it with P. 9, the exceptions section says: if both players have to do something at the same time then the player whose turn it is decides the order.

This is not the case here as both players do not have to do something.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/03 17:55:36


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
The unit suffered an unsaved wound that has a STR double the units toughness the entire unit is removed, according to you.

The Swarm trigger and the ID trigger are identical. Applying one but not the other is inconsistent.
They still need to be allocated the wound to be removed. I am surprised you glossed over that fact.

I'm not glossing over it.
The triggers for the two are exactly identical. You're applying one and not the other. Why?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster





North Denver

 DeathReaper wrote:

Basically you said "so the person who's turn it is chooses which applies first." where did you get that from, because it is not a rule. You may be confusing it with P. 9, the exceptions section says: if both players have to do something at the same time then the player whose turn it is decides the order.

This is not the case here as both players do not have to do something.



Thank you, I totally misapplied that.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
The unit suffered an unsaved wound that has a STR double the units toughness the entire unit is removed, according to you.

The Swarm trigger and the ID trigger are identical. Applying one but not the other is inconsistent.
They still need to be allocated the wound to be removed. I am surprised you glossed over that fact.

I'm not glossing over it.
The triggers for the two are exactly identical. You're applying one and not the other. Why?
The triggers for both Swarm and ID are identical (Suffering an unsaved wound) then we have to apply them when the unit suffers an unsaved wound, which is after saves are rolled, but before allocation as per the rules.

So we try and save 4 wound, and fail 3. At this point we have 3 unsaved wounds which are doubled to 6 unsaved wounds due to swarm and cause ID due to Str double tough.

We then allocate those 6 wounds, one at a time, and we see that 1 ID wound kills one base. We then have 5 wounds left to allocate, so we allocate another to the next closest model to the firing unit and kill that one as well etc...


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Again, you're forcing a model to suffer a wound before allocating it. You have no permission to do so.

And you're misapplying ID. Using your interpretation, the wounds wound double and all wounds in the unit would be reduced to zero, per the ID rules. You can't insert a step for no reason.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

Except you would be applying Swarm USR at unit level to double them and ID at the model level. As you just said you have to apply them both at the same time as they are identical but where the Same Save method tells you to determine the save you don't have any permission to compare strength the unit's toughness. Can you show me where it tells you in Same Save method it tells you to compare strength to toughness?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
You have special permission to do one thing out of order and that is to takes saves before allocation that is all. It does not say you can do anything else. It doesn't say to apply all rules before allocation.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/03 20:58:01


ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

"If a model suffers an unsaved Wound from an Attack that has a Strength value of double its Toughness value or greater" P. 16

"If a Swarm suffers an unsaved Wound from a Blast, Large Blast or Template weapon, each unsaved Wound is multiplied to two unsaved Wounds." P. 43

Notice the difference?

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Yes, one refers to a model, the other refers to a model with the Swarms special rule.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

You mean a unit with the swarms rule

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
You mean a unit with the swarms rule

Cite a unit with that special rule.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

When every model in the rule has Swarms, the unit has that rule.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
When every model in the rule has Swarms, the unit has that rule.

And of course you can cite the rule that says that.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
When every model in the rule has Swarms, the unit has that rule.

And of course you can cite the rule that says that.
The rules of the English language.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
When every model in the rule has Swarms, the unit has that rule.

And of course you can cite the rule that says that.
The rules of the English language.

Which would be inconsistent with how GW words special rules.

Do units test for Dangerous Terrain, or do models?

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

rigeld2 wrote:
The rule requires checking the models saves as you must determine if its a mixed or same save unit. Once you determine it's same save, you roll that save for the unit.

Basically the Swarms rule has the same requirement as armor saves.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/01/03 23:01:36


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
The rule requires checking the models saves as you must determine if its a mixed or same save unit. Once you determine it's same save, you roll that save for the unit.

Basically the Swarms rule has the same requirement as armor saves.

Really? Can you show it to me? I'm not seeing it. I see it in the Same Save rules for armor saves...

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

You have to check if it is a Swarm or not.

It all boils down to what is a "Swarm"

"If a Swarm suffers an unsaved Wound..." P. 43

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 DeathReaper wrote:
You have to check if it is a Swarm or not.

Citation required. We know that you have to check armor saves - so you can tell the difference between a same and mixed save unit.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

"If a Swarm suffers an unsaved Wound from a Blast, Large Blast or Template weapon, each unsaved Wound is multiplied to two unsaved Wounds" Page 43.

You have to check if it is a Swarm when the unit suffers an unsaved Wound to be able to apply the rule.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

You are still not allowed to apply any rules that affect models at this point till a model suffers a wound, the unit has suffered a wound not a model. You have permission to change one timing issue alone and that is saves before allocation. Swarm USR is a model only rule as all rules that apply to entire units are the ones that say "A unit containing at least one model with this special rule" or something nearly identical. If the wounds applied to the unit without regard to models it would have been worded in Same Save method as remove a number of models with wounds equal to the wounds in the wound pool. It does not. INstead the focus shifts to individual models again as soon as the saves are failed via allocation.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
As an aside by saying that Swarm applies to the whole unit as it is all a Swarm due to the english language you are also saying that the only time a Swarm has it's unsaved wounds doubled is when it suffers a single unsaved wound. Note the rule says wound not wounds. So either it doubles at allocation of an unsaved wound or at the failure of a save of an allocated wound any other time it is wounds.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/04 00:20:00


ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in us
Uhlan




Dothan, AL

So, new to this discussion, but trying to get it straight in my head also.
Is there a rule that allows a unit to wound more models than it hits in the shooting phase?
My reason for asking this is what if a unit shoots a heavy incinerator and can only just reach one swarm base in a unit of 6 (stupid positioning, but thats the scenario.)
By the doubling and going back to the wound pool that would would kill a second base. But in this instance, only one base was hit.
Where in the rules does it allow you to move wounds from shooting onto a model that was not even hit in the first place? I had thought that shooting was a 1 for 1 on hit vs. wound?
Not trying to be a pain, but much of this discussion seems confusing and circular.

I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I've watched c-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhäuser Gate. All those ... moments will be lost in time, like tears...in rain
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: