Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/31 11:26:47
Subject: Challenges and assault questions
|
 |
Flailing Flagellant
Lost in L.A. smog
|
Hi there,
1. Say a squad of Chaos Termies charge a squad of SM, Chaos termies sarge challenges the SM sarge but the SM sarge refuses (there is no other character in the squad). What happens to the SM sarge?
A. Does the SM sarge sulks in the back and not do anything for the whole combat as rounds go by, until there is an absolute winner for the whole combat?
B. Does the SM sarge sulks for just the enemy turn and then attack normally on his turn?
C. Does the SM sarge sulks, but attacks normally on the squad only and not on the Chaos termie sarge?
2. Can the Chaos termies sarge keep challenging the SM sarge which he keeps refusing and he keeps not fighting at all? If SM sarge refuses, does he just hit the squad normally?
3. Same example, say a this time the SM sarge accepts the challenge. Does the rest of the SM squad attack the Chaos temies normally? Once all wounds are done, say SM squad did 2 wounds and SM sarge did 1, do all wounds add together and the Chaos termies have do a LD test at -3?
Thx, ahead of time for any help on this.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/31 13:18:12
Subject: Challenges and assault questions
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
combat would continue normally. the first round; the round the charge happened, the sarge would sit the combat out. If you would do enough wounds to put him out, he'd die, but more than likely you wouldn't
the second round; the turn AFTER the charge, he would join combat. It would be a regualr combat.
I donn't think you could challenge him again, as he's already refused.
|
On building Tyranid army flow chart.
Do you have enough Termagaunts?
No > Add More
Yes > No you don' t > Add more
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/31 13:35:19
Subject: Challenges and assault questions
|
 |
Drone without a Controller
Scotland, UK
|
g0atsticks wrote:I donn't think you could challenge him again, as he's already refused.
I was under the impression that as long as there is no ongoing challenge in the combat that another challenge can be issued, even if previously refused
Perhaps i am wrong and i would double check the rulebook but its currently packed away under a lot of stuff
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/12/31 14:02:53
Subject: Challenges and assault questions
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Nathemo wrote: g0atsticks wrote:I donn't think you could challenge him again, as he's already refused.
I was under the impression that as long as there is no ongoing challenge in the combat that another challenge can be issued, even if previously refused
Perhaps i am wrong and i would double check the rulebook but its currently packed away under a lot of stuff
ok pg 64 & 82.
Only one challenge can be issued per close combat - the side whose turn it is has the opportuniry to issue a challenge first. If that side chooses not to, then the other side can issue a challenge
Once a challenge has been refused, the model that issued it fights notmally. If you refuse, your oPponent gets to nominate one of your characters from those that could have accepted. the chosen model cannot strike blows at all this turn,
|
On building Tyranid army flow chart.
Do you have enough Termagaunts?
No > Add More
Yes > No you don' t > Add more
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/01 00:45:00
Subject: Challenges and assault questions
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
While the second paragraph of page 64 states that only one challenge can be issued per combat, the following paragraph says "Once one challenge has been made, no further challenges can be issued in that combat whilst the previous challenge is ongoing. (Emphasis mine).
Further, page 65 goes on to say that "Even though further challenges cannot be issued in combat until the existing challenge has been resolved, there is the possibility that another character in the fight might intercede in a Glorious Intervention." (Emphasis mine).
This leads me to conclude that you can only have one challenge taking place in a given combat at one time, but challenges may be issued in subsequent rounds as long as there's not one CURRENTLY ongoing.
So, answering the original questions:
When the Chaos terminator champion challenges, if the SM Sgt. refuses, "he cannot strike blows at all this turn", nor can his LD be used by the squad this round (page 64). The chaos unit and the rest of the SM unit fight as normal, and wounds can carry over to the cowardly Sgt. He just doesn't strike blows. If he survives the round, the Chaos champ can (and must, per the Champion of Chaos rule) issue another challenge in the next round of close combat.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/01 00:45:26
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/02 02:20:23
Subject: Re:Challenges and assault questions
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
It also depends on current placement of models at time of challenge.
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/02 05:16:46
Subject: Challenges and assault questions
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Sure. A model can only challenge or accept or refuse a challenge if it's engaged with enemy models prior to Init 10 Pile In moves. If, after charge moves, the marine Sgt were too far back to swing, the chaos champ's challege would just go unanswered, and the Sgt would Pile in as normal at his initiative and potentially get to attack normally at that point, if his Pile In took him close enough*.
If the challenge is accepted, the models are placed in base contact with each other. Note that if the challenge is refused, the model placement actually doesn't change. While the fluff is that the character is hiding behind his fellows, the model actually stays where it is and functions normally in terms of determing which models are engaged, casualty resolution, etc. He just doesn't personally get to fight, and his unit can't use his LD.
(*And of course, he'd then be eligible for challenges in the next round, if both characters were still alive and engaged.)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/02 05:18:57
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/02 16:23:42
Subject: Challenges and assault questions
|
 |
Furious Raptor
Fort Worth, TX
|
Mannahnin wrote:Sure. A model can only challenge or accept or refuse a challenge if it's engaged with enemy models prior to Init 10 Pile In moves. If, after charge moves, the marine Sgt were too far back to swing, the chaos champ's challege would just go unanswered, and the Sgt would Pile in as normal at his initiative and potentially get to attack normally at that point, if his Pile In took him close enough*.
If the challenge is accepted, the models are placed in base contact with each other. Note that if the challenge is refused, the model placement actually doesn't change. While the fluff is that the character is hiding behind his fellows, the model actually stays where it is and functions normally in terms of determing which models are engaged, casualty resolution, etc. He just doesn't personally get to fight, and his unit can't use his LD.
(*And of course, he'd then be eligible for challenges in the next round, if both characters were still alive and engaged.)
This is also a strategy to keep your Champion of Chaos out of having to issue or accept a challenge for a round, either because they'd surely lose or you want their attacks to go against the unit as a whole instead of against a single target.
|
I out with in both 40k and WHFB.
Co-host of the HittingOn3s Podcast
|
|
 |
 |
|