| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/03 04:23:53
Subject: Obscure rule, at least to me
|
 |
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte
|
Okay I have a question! My roommate and I were playing a game earlier tonight and my Emperors Champion was charging. The way I interpret the rules, is that with ACC he has Rage. So +2 for charging, then he has 2 on his profile, then he would get an additional die for 2 weapons. Now my roommate and I kinda got into it because he thinks that because he's not holding his pistol he doesn't get the +1 for two weapons. But the pistol is listed in his wargear and is also represented on his model, it's on his hip. Please, some insight would be welcomed
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/03 04:26:23
Subject: Obscure rule, at least to me
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
he is armed with a power sword and a bolt pistol. he receives the bonus attack. your roommate is trying to screw you.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/03 04:29:48
Subject: Re:Obscure rule, at least to me
|
 |
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte
|
Thank you SoloFalcon. That's what I thought. For that game, we discounted it because it was in the air, like it mattered though, I stomped him
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/03 04:32:43
Subject: Obscure rule, at least to me
|
 |
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot
|
Your model could be holding nothing and it wouldn't matter, it's what he's equipped with in the book. Only the super strict TFG players care about WYSIWYG on base equipment. Hell, a SM tactical squad all have bolt pistols as wargear, but the box comes with 1, maybe 2?
|
- 3000
- 145 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/03 04:55:55
Subject: Obscure rule, at least to me
|
 |
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte
|
So a base tac squad would get the +1 for 2 weapons also?
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/03 04:58:45
Subject: Obscure rule, at least to me
|
 |
Androgynous Daemon Prince of Slaanesh
|
No, base tacticals have a bolter and a pistol. Bolter requires 2 hands, and never gives the option for dual wielding with a pistol. It's one or the other.
|
Reality is a nice place to visit, but I'd hate to live there.
Manchu wrote:I'm a Catholic. We eat our God.
Due to work, I can usually only ship any sales or trades out on Saturday morning. Please trade/purchase with this in mind. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/03 05:00:56
Subject: Obscure rule, at least to me
|
 |
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte
|
Okay I thought so. That was the argument my roommate made and he kind of just shrugged off my comment that a bolter is a two handed weapon.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/03 05:08:55
Subject: Obscure rule, at least to me
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
timetowaste85 wrote:
No, base tacticals have a bolter and a pistol. Bolter requires 2 hands, and never gives the option for dual wielding with a pistol. It's one or the other.
Correct, but for the wrong reason.
A bolter is not a CCW. So a basic Marine will not gain a pistol+ CCW bonus attack.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/03 05:25:12
Subject: Obscure rule, at least to me
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
WYSIWIG does not cover base equipment, only upgrades. Even if he was holding a trout, he'd still count as having his base equipment, which includes a power sword and bolt pistol.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/03 05:56:10
Subject: Obscure rule, at least to me
|
 |
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine
Ye Olde North State
|
You can skip it for psychic powers and certain vehicle upgrades (armor plates, vectored engines, ect.)
|
grendel083 wrote:"Dis is Oddboy to BigBird, come in over."
"BigBird 'ere, go ahead, over."
"WAAAAAAAAAGGGHHHH!!!! over"
"Copy 'dat, WAAAAAAAGGGHHH!!! DAKKADAKKA!!... over" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/03 06:02:32
Subject: Obscure rule, at least to me
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
The Bolt Pistol on the Tac Marine, is only there to allow you to shoot a weapon and charge in the same turn. Shot the Bolt Pistol that is, not the Boltgun
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/03 08:43:08
Subject: Obscure rule, at least to me
|
 |
Emboldened Warlock
Duncan, B.C
|
-Loki- wrote:WYSIWIG does not cover base equipment, only upgrades. Even if he was holding a trout, he'd still count as having his base equipment, which includes a power sword and bolt pistol.
Now I want to see an Emperor's Champion running around slapping dudes with a fish.
|
40k Armies:
Alaitoc 9300 points
Chaos 15000 points
Speed Freeks 3850 points
WHFB Armies:
Lizardmen 1000 points
Check out my blog at http://wayofthedice.blogspot.ca/ |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/03 09:14:41
Subject: Obscure rule, at least to me
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
me too.
Anyways, if you keep on having serious trouble with this, just glue a bolt pistol onto the model. It's not that difficult to get your hands on one.
Not that you need to.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/03 09:49:39
Subject: Obscure rule, at least to me
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
What's that bolt pistoley thing on his hip?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/03 11:22:22
Subject: Obscure rule, at least to me
|
 |
Newbie Black Templar Neophyte
|
Ha thank you guys  and Formosa as I said in the original post, even though he's not holding it, it's still represented on his hip. But thanks everyone.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/03 13:43:08
Subject: Obscure rule, at least to me
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
There's nothing in the rules about effects based on how the model looks holding a weapon. Terminators carry their guns in one hand but they still follow the rules for weapons as found in the big rulebook. Many models have holstered pistols or swords but if you've paid the points for them you can use them. Banner bearers often have guns slung over the shoulder but they can use them.
Your champion could be modeled with his sword shoved up where the sun doesn't shine and he'd still get to use it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|