Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 22:16:03
Subject: Deathwing Assault - They are in Reserve but do they Count Toward Limit? (Starting Pg.2)
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
"Deathwing Assault: Units entirely composed of models that have both this rule and Terminator armour can choose to make a Deathwing Assault. Immediately after determining Warlord Traits, tell your opponent which units are making a Deathwing assault, and make a secret note of whether it takes place during your first or second turn. All units making the Deathwing assault automatically arrive via Deep Strike at the start of the chosen turn - there is no need to roll for reserves."
So, based on the above are Deathwing officially in reserve?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/11 14:50:13
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 22:19:55
Subject: Re:Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Yes, of course they are in reserves. They just have a special rule that they automatically come in on Turn 1, that you must declare to your opponent right after rolling for warlord traits.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 22:23:24
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
Please explain. It doesn't state to place them in reserve. You're not deepstriking or outflanking. You're Deathwing Assaulting which has it's own rule.
Bear in mind this is purely for the sake of discussion. I have no vested interest but it's always good to have solid arguments for when it comes up either way
|
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 22:26:37
Subject: Re:Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
In order for a unit to Deep Strike, it has to be coming in from Reserves. Drop Pods get put in reserves, and just like the Deathwing have a rule that lets some come in on first turn.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 22:27:28
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
When you use the psychic power Gate are you in reserves? Or that summoning power from Grey Knights? Gate of Infinity: "The Libraririan, and any unit he is with, are removed from the tabletop and immediately placed back together anywhere within 24" using the deep strike rules"
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/10 22:28:54
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 22:27:35
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
"You're not deepstriking or outflanking"
"All units making the Deathwing assault automatically arrive via Deep Strike"
Think you missed that. They are arriving via DS. Summoning/Gate must be used on models already on the table
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/10 22:28:16
I am the Hammer. I am the point of His spear. I am the mail about His fist... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 22:31:31
Subject: Re:Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Gate is an exception allowing models not in reserves to be redeployed like they were deep striking and following all the rules for it.
|
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 22:33:27
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
@ veidin That's for the deepstrike special rule. Which has it's own special rule now. I would say you use the rule Arriving By Deep Strike. And take the no need for rolling for reserves to replace that portion of it. Like I said, just debating stuff people are going to throw out there.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/10 22:34:15
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 22:35:28
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I dont have my GK book with me, but Mordrak has a rule called First to the Fray I believe that lets him arrive turn 1 via DS and not scattering. Anyone able to see if that has the wording "reserves" anywhere? Would be a good guideline or comparable ability to look at for wording at least.
|
I am the Hammer. I am the point of His spear. I am the mail about His fist... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 22:36:39
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
Good call, I'll check when I get home.
As a secondary point for it not being reserve I'd point to the time you have to declare it. It's not being declared during deployment as Reserves are. It's being done prior to deployment. Just another thing to think about.
|
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 22:39:05
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Wouldn’t "there is no need to roll for reserves." imply they start in reserves? As if it didn’t start it reserves that line wouldn’t be necessary.
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 23:08:28
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Powerful Ushbati
|
The next dark angels codex will be here in a week and should help shed light on this. I always assumed they were in reserves and I could bring half of them on turn 1 like a drop pod.
At the beginning of your first turn, you may choose up to half (rounding up_ of the deathwing terminator squads kept in reserve to make a deathwing assault.
Seems pretty cut and dry to me. Unless the new dex changed this.
The crazy thing is necrons can bring their entire reserve when this happens as well if they have Zahndrekh and they are deep striking which all their fliers can.
|
TK - 2012 40K GT Record 18-5
4th in 2nd bracket Feast of Blades 2012 (IG/SoB); 4th Overall Midwest Massacre (IG/SW); 5th Overall Indy Open (IG); Final 16 Adepticon Open (IG)
TK - 2013 40K GT Record 24-4
Best General Indy Open (Crons/CSM)
Top 5! Bugeater GT (TauDar)
Final 4 Nova Invitational (Eldau)
Best Overall Midwest Massacre (Crons/CSM)
TK- 2014 to Date: http://www.torrentoffire.com/rankings |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 23:32:09
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
They can't deepstrike unless in reserve.
The Gate power can't be use as an argument, as the gate power tells you to remove the model from the board, allowing it to deepstrike. Deathwing Assault doesn't.
If they're not in reserve, they're on the table. The rule doesn't allow them to be removed, so Deepstriking isn't possible. The game breaks.
So if they're in reserve, all good. If not in reserve the game breaks and the rule does nothing.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/10 23:32:58
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/10 23:45:17
Subject: Re:Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
|
If they are deepstriking the only place they can be is in reserve. Its just you dont have to roll for them to come on, they come on automatically.
|
I represent the Surrey Spartans gaming group. Check us out and feel free to come along for a game! https://www.facebook.com/groups/425689674233804/
Tzeentch Daemons 2000pts
Kabal of the Sundering Strike 2500pts
Eldar Corsairs 750pts
400pts Corregidor/Nomads
300pts Yu Jing
200pts+ each of Imperial and Rebel fleets for X-Wing
A Terran Alliance and Dindrenzi Fleet for Firestorm Armada
A Necromunda Goliath gang and Spyrer gang |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 00:42:25
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
@Tombking
The rule is from the new dex.
@Thread
I can see where you guys are coming from. Now a follow-up. Would they count toward the 50% of your army that can start in reserve?
|
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 00:49:27
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Absolutely. There's a general rule saying that anything in reserve counts against it and nothing saying they don't.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 01:09:44
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
General rule says anything that doesn't have to start in reserve. I'd say that since the DWA rule is in play before actual deployment they have to deploy from reserve and so wouldn't count.
Refute my point!
|
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 01:15:08
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw
|
Hulksmash wrote:General rule says anything that doesn't have to start in reserve. I'd say that since the DWA rule is in play before actual deployment they have to deploy from reserve and so wouldn't count.
Refute my point! 
Either they start deployed or in reserves right?
If they're not A; they must be B?
How I see it in this case.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 01:16:49
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Unless otherwise stated yes. though if i recal atleast on one rumor blogs it stated it didnt count twards the 50% also the only way to bring them on the field is via deepstrike, meening they must start in reserves. no other way to play DWA and there for mandatory it dosnt count twards the 50% right?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/11 01:19:48
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 01:38:35
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Archmagos Veneratus Extremis
Home Base: Prosper, TX (Dallas)
|
@jdjamesdean@mail.com
My point is the rule is instituted before deployment. Ergo they start deployment required to deepstrike onto the field with no option to be deployed. So they wouldn't count toward the 50%.
When rules take place order is important. Thoughts!
|
Best Painted (2015 Adepticon 40k Champs)
They Shall Know Fear - Adepticon 40k TT Champion (2012 & 2013) & 40k TT Best Sport (2014), 40k TT Best Tactician (2015 & 2016) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 04:36:01
Subject: Re:Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Deathwing making Deathwing Assault don't count for the 50% rule because they *have* to start in reserve to make use of the DWA rule.
Some with Drop Pods and DPA.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 05:21:35
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
Not the same, because Drop Pods never have the ability to deploy on the table. Deathwing have the option to be deployed.
Presently the only things you ignore for Reserve purposes are units which NEVER have the option to deploy, and models inside transports which never have the option to deploy.
|
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 05:59:58
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
The units in pods then should count toward the 50% as they can choose to deploy.
Drop pod armies are completely illegal by that logic.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 06:15:11
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
ansacs wrote:The units in pods then should count toward the 50% as they can choose to deploy.
Drop pod armies are completely illegal by that logic.
Except there is a specific exemption for Drop Pod passengers. They are not counted because the rules specifically say they do not count for the calculation.
Therefore Drop pod armies are completely legal.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 06:15:28
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills
|
ansacs wrote:The units in pods then should count toward the 50% as they can choose to deploy.
Drop pod armies are completely illegal by that logic.
Right. Except that the deep strike rules explicitly tells us not to count any models inside a vehicle which always deep strikes.
And the main rulebook FAQ expands that by telling us not to count any models inside any transport that always starts in reserve. Prior to that FAQ, I always counted the units inside my Storm Ravens against the Reserve limit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/11 06:16:24
Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.
Maelstrom's Edge! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 06:18:37
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Hulksmash wrote:General rule says anything that doesn't have to start in reserve. I'd say that since the DWA rule is in play before actual deployment they have to deploy from reserve and so wouldn't count.
Refute my point! 
Are you forced to DWA or is it an option?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 09:40:50
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
You choose to dwa after warlord and before deployment. Dwa critically does not say the units are in reserve when using dwa, it says they automatically arrive via deep strike on a chosen turn.
During deployment, dwa units are still units. Because dwa is not specific, units that are death wing assaulting need to go into reserve as deep strikers. After all, the rule makes no sense if you dwa out of outflanking, or dwa while being deployed on the table.
It seems to me that you can declare dwa, and then during deployment still deploy normally as dwa does not put you in reserve, only change when you come in if you reserve as a deep striker during deployment. In this case your dwa ability to arrive via deep strike without rolling for reserve would do nothing.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/11 09:43:06
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 10:30:05
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
"All units making the Deathwing assault automatically arrive via Deep Strike at the start of the chosen turn - there is no need to roll for reserves."
"
You arrive via Deep Strike, not by using the DS rules. You are required therefore to be in reserve, as that is how you arrive by Deep Strike. Being place by the DS rules is a different phrase with a subtly different meaning, as it is only the placement that follows the rules, ergo you only follow the placement rules for DS - not the others.
They count towards the 50%, but have an allowance to be in reserves
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 13:18:24
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Focused Dark Angels Land Raider Pilot
|
Of course they are in reserve, for the reasons brilliantly explained by Nosferatu.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/11 13:50:40
Subject: Deathwing Assault - Are They In Reserve? (Rule Text in Post)
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Isnt it in the rule book, anything not on the table at turn 1 is in reserves?
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
|