Switch Theme:

Can Paladin Squad use it's Brotherhood Banner in the same turn they activate Hammerhand?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord




New York

As the title says,

Can a Paladin Squad use it's Brotherhood Banner in the same turn they activate Hammerhand?

Please explain your response.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/14 04:31:56


1. Tyranids - 15,000 pts
2. Chaos Space Marines - 7,100 pts
3. Space Marines - 6,000 pts
4. Orks - 5,900 pts
5. Dark Angels - 4,300 pts
6. Necrons - 4,600 pts
7. Grey Knights - 3,200 pts
8. Eldar - 3,400 pts
9. Blood Angels - 3,200 pts
10. Chaos Daemons - 3,200 pts
11. Tau Empire - 3,000 pts
12. Space Wolves - 2,400 pts 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

 Akaiyou wrote:
As the title says,

Can a Paladin Squad use it's Brotherhood Hammer in the same turn they activate Hammerhand?

Please explain your response.
Not sure what a Brotherhood Hammer is, but if you meant Brotherhood Banner, then it depends on how many warp charges they have.

It takes a warp charge for Hammerhand, and a Warp charge to activate the Force property on their NFW's.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Nope. (unless by some unusual circumstance your paladins are mastery level 2 for some reason) However any ICs that have not yet expended their warp charges completely that have joined the squad may benefit from the banner however.
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord




New York

So independent characters can activate ther brotherhood banner carried by the unit they joined?

Or do you mean that if the paladins activate the banner (thus not using hammerhand) an IC in the unit counts as also having his own FW activated without needing to take a psychic test for himself?

1. Tyranids - 15,000 pts
2. Chaos Space Marines - 7,100 pts
3. Space Marines - 6,000 pts
4. Orks - 5,900 pts
5. Dark Angels - 4,300 pts
6. Necrons - 4,600 pts
7. Grey Knights - 3,200 pts
8. Eldar - 3,400 pts
9. Blood Angels - 3,200 pts
10. Chaos Daemons - 3,200 pts
11. Tau Empire - 3,000 pts
12. Space Wolves - 2,400 pts 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Not quite, the banner itself doesn't need to be activated. (it's effects are continuous and constant.)

However the effect of 'automatically passing it's Psychic test to 'activate' it's force weapons' needs to be done on a per model basis for any ICs in the unit. (so they need to have warp charges available to do so, but provided the do in fact have them success is automatic).

If i may also offer a tactical suggestion: It'd probably be better in a lot of cases to have an attached IC manifest the 'hammerhand' if it is required rather than the paladin squad as a whole.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2013/01/14 04:41:56


 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord




New York

So lets say I attach Draigo to a unit of paladins.

Both draigo and the paladins use hammerhand to become Strength 6.

Let's assume they are fighting a monstrous creature.

Does the entire unit count as having their force weapons activated automatically? Since Draigo is Mastery Level 2?

Will only draigo count as having his force weapon activated upon inflicting a wound himself?

Or how exactly would this all work?

1. Tyranids - 15,000 pts
2. Chaos Space Marines - 7,100 pts
3. Space Marines - 6,000 pts
4. Orks - 5,900 pts
5. Dark Angels - 4,300 pts
6. Necrons - 4,600 pts
7. Grey Knights - 3,200 pts
8. Eldar - 3,400 pts
9. Blood Angels - 3,200 pts
10. Chaos Daemons - 3,200 pts
11. Tau Empire - 3,000 pts
12. Space Wolves - 2,400 pts 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Using your example: Only draigo would/can have his force weapon activated in that scenario.

Normally, you activate force weapons on a per model basis. Multiple psykers, multiple checks, individual passes or failures.

The 'Brotherhood of Psykers' USR changes this for the paladins themselves, allowing them to collectively count as one psyker with a mastery level of 1 and spend one charge to activate all of their (the paladins) force weapons with one Psychic check.

Draigo would count as being part of the Paladin unit and therefore benefit from the banner; but you'd still have to expend one of his own warp charges to activate his personal weapon since he does not have the
'Brotherhood of Psykers' rule.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Draigo could have joined the squad, cast Hammerhand, and then the squad could have used the Brotherhood Banner to activate their Force Weapons. Draigo would need to use a seperate Warp Charge to activate his, but any model that is in the unit may autopass his Psychic Test to activate a Force Weapon. They must still have been able to take the test in the first place however.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: