Switch Theme:

Jusicar Thrawn's interaction with the Brotherhood of Psykers USR  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





How would Justicar Thrawn be effected by the 'Brotherhood of Psykers' rule, since the model doesn't have the rule itself but is invariably a part of a unit that does? For example: Would he personally count as Mastery level 1 or 2? Also could one of his warp charges be expended to activate the force weapons of the entire squad?

The wording on 'Brotherhood of Psykers' seems ambiguous regarding how it applies to all the models in a unit that is comprised of multiple different kinds of psykers.

I personally believe that he'd test seperately and activate his halberd seperately too, but i'm not quite sure.




This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/01/14 05:32:46


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

How would he "... invariably a part of a unit that does..." since he's not an independent character?

EDIT: My bad, was thinking of Castellan Crowe and not Justicar Thawn.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/14 15:57:45


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




WEll he often ends up by himself.

He IS mastery 2, and as he is the justicar as per BoP can activate the squads force weapons. As he is mastery 2 he can cast hammerhand and activate his force weapons
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Oddly enough, the way BoP is written, if the squad activates their force weapon while Thrawn is still attached, Thrawn is included in that single roll (BoP cover the entire squad except ICs, and Thrawn is not an IC). This leaves Thrawn's second power use available to cover Hammerhand due to his Mastery 2 rank. If, on the other hand, the squad activates Hammerhand, only Thrawn would be able to activate his force weapon, as the rest of the squad shot their load due to BoP. Best bet is to splurge a bit and take a banner to cover force weapon activations, and let Thrawn cover Hammerhand.

In addition, if the squad gets Perils, Thrawn dies as he is their Justicar. If Thrawn gets Perils on his own, he dies as well. Either way he can come back using his own special rules, but at that point he will be a separate unit. Also note, in 6th, you can no longer take invul saves versus Perils, as Perils allows no saves of any kind. This means that Thrawn is more useful than he was in 5th, but still not quite as useful as the points he costs would indicate (he's well worth 50 points, not the 75 listed in the codex).

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in ca
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Ghaz wrote:How would he "... invariably a part of a unit that does..." since he's not an independent character?
Since you can only purchase him as part of a terminator squad (he is their justicar after all) who all have it. Granted if he dies he becomes another unit, but he starts the battle as part of that one every time.

nosferatu1001 wrote:WEll he often ends up by himself. He IS mastery 2, and as he is the justicar as per BoP can activate the squads force weapons. As he is mastery 2 he can cast hammerhand and activate his force weapons
And the counter-point to that is while he is in a squad with BoP, he does not have the rule himself. Instead he has mastery (2).

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2013/01/14 12:41:16


 
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

 jeffersonian000 wrote:
In addition, if the squad gets Perils, Thrawn dies as he is their Justicar. If Thrawn gets Perils on his own, he dies as well. Either way he can come back using his own special rules, but at that point he will be a separate unit. Also note, in 6th, you can no longer take invul saves versus Perils, as Perils allows no saves of any kind. This means that Thrawn is more useful than he was in 5th, but still not quite as useful as the points he costs would indicate (he's well worth 50 points, not the 75 listed in the codex).

SJ


I had him in a unit under heavy fire, protecting an objective. With a little bit of luck with rolls, and by placing him so that he took the brunt of the force, I had him die and ressurect 4 times, taking every single wound that unit took. Well worth the 75 points

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




When he resurrects he is a new unit - you read that right?

So the enemy could just target the remnants of his squad
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

nosferatu1001 wrote:
When he resurrects he is a new unit - you read that right?

So the enemy could just target the remnants of his squad
But that would not do much good, he is still a scoring unit so in that situation you would have to kill him even if you took out the terminators by the objective.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, but better to expend fire early to kill the hings that STAY dead, rather than the thing that has a 50% chance of getting up each game turn.

Meanwhile you close and drag him away with combat.
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

I usually use Thawn as an annoying objective contester instead of an objective holder.

As for the question, the way BoP is written he is part of the squad while still joined so is included. So you have the squad as a whole that is Mastery Lvl1, then you have one model in the squad that is Mastery Lvl2.


So while he is joined the squad should use their power to activate their Force Weapons. Thawn should use his power to activate HH.

Or if your FWs arn't needed you can cast HH twice. Once from the squad and once from Thawn.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: