Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 18:47:46
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Just a quick few questions I'm running up against.
1) Can 2 different marked lords, join an unmarked unit? IE can a lord with the mark or nugle and one with the mark of khorne join an umarked unit (we'll say vanilla CSMs for rule purposes). Since the Mark of Chaos entry simply says they cannot join units with different marks, if the base unit is unmarked is there any conflict about have 2 ICs with different marks join?
2) What profile does a blastmaster in a rhino that has moved at any speed use?
Thanks.
|
01001000 01100001 01101001 01101100 00100000 01101111 01110101 01110010 00100000 01001110 01100101 01100011 01110010 01101111 01101110 00100000 01101111 01110110 01100101 01110010 01101100 01101111 01110010 01100100 01110011 00100001 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 19:00:18
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
1. Debatable. Discuss with your group, out all the TO.
2. Not sure, don't have codex to look up stat line.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 19:07:20
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
buddha wrote:2) What profile does a blastmaster in a rhino that has moved at any speed use?
You'd have to use the Assault profile. You can't snap-fire a Blast weapon.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 19:14:34
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Janthkin wrote: buddha wrote:2) What profile does a blastmaster in a rhino that has moved at any speed use?
You'd have to use the Assault profile. You can't snap-fire a Blast weapon.
Indeed, but when moving at combat speed one vehicle weapon can fire at full ballistic skill. However, the rhino, and consequently the unit inside did move, so I'm still curious which profile to use.
|
01001000 01100001 01101001 01101100 00100000 01101111 01110101 01110010 00100000 01001110 01100101 01100011 01110010 01101111 01101110 00100000 01101111 01110110 01100101 01110010 01101100 01101111 01110010 01100100 01110011 00100001 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 19:18:50
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
buddha wrote: Janthkin wrote: buddha wrote:2) What profile does a blastmaster in a rhino that has moved at any speed use?
You'd have to use the Assault profile. You can't snap-fire a Blast weapon.
Indeed, but when moving at combat speed one vehicle weapon can fire at full ballistic skill. However, the rhino, and consequently the unit inside did move, so I'm still curious which profile to use.
The transported unit is not the vehicle - check the rules for fire points & transported units again. If the vehicle moves, the embarked unit counts as moving.
|
Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 19:43:06
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Janthkin wrote: If the vehicle moves, the embarked unit counts as moving. .
Sad but true, shame we can't buy suspension for the rhino.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 19:45:36
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Janthkin wrote: buddha wrote: Janthkin wrote: buddha wrote:2) What profile does a blastmaster in a rhino that has moved at any speed use?
You'd have to use the Assault profile. You can't snap-fire a Blast weapon.
Indeed, but when moving at combat speed one vehicle weapon can fire at full ballistic skill. However, the rhino, and consequently the unit inside did move, so I'm still curious which profile to use.
The transported unit is not the vehicle - check the rules for fire points & transported units again. If the vehicle moves, the embarked unit counts as moving.
Great, that's settled then. Still need number 1. Thanks.
|
01001000 01100001 01101001 01101100 00100000 01101111 01110101 01110010 00100000 01001110 01100101 01100011 01110010 01101111 01101110 00100000 01101111 01110110 01100101 01110010 01101100 01101111 01110010 01100100 01110011 00100001 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 20:34:45
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
As I said, it is debatable. One side says that the unit does not have a mark, therefore any marked IC can join. The other says as soon as a marked IC joins, the unit does have a mark (even if only one model has it) and therefore a marked IC with a different mark cannot join.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 22:25:18
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
Happyjew wrote:As I said, it is debatable. One side says that the unit does not have a mark, therefore any marked IC can join. The other says as soon as a marked IC joins, the unit does have a mark (even if only one model has it) and therefore a marked IC with a different mark cannot join.
Oh I agree which is why I posted here, but can anyone give a solid argument one way or another? I'd lean on the side of allowable under RAW.
|
01001000 01100001 01101001 01101100 00100000 01101111 01110101 01110010 00100000 01001110 01100101 01100011 01110010 01101111 01101110 00100000 01101111 01110110 01100101 01110010 01101100 01101111 01110010 01100100 01110011 00100001 |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/23 22:38:55
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Monstrously Massive Big Mutant
|
The thing about marks and units, is that no "unit" may contain more than 1 mark within it, at any given time. Once an IC joins the group, he is considered a part of the unit.
Mind you though, this doesnt stop you from putting Abaddon in a unit with someone who already has a mark
|
Life: An incomprehensible, endless circle of involuntary self-destruction.
12,000
14,000
11,000
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 02:49:27
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Well what if I have 2 lord beside each other, one has mon one has mok, my csm squad is right beside them and they join the unit at the same time?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 04:47:23
Subject: Re:A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I would say no, not allowed... but reading the RAW on it...
From the Codex: An independent character with a mark of chaos may not join a unit with a different mark of chaos.
From the rulebook: While an independent character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes.
On the note of moving them "at the same time"
From the rulebook: "Once a unit has completed all of its movement, you can select another unit and move that one..."
So the unit moves to where both lords could move into coherency with it. The first lord steps in and joins the unit. The second he does... the unit contains a mark of chaos and cannot be joined by another IC with a different mark.
*slams books shut* Good day gentlemen
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 04:55:43
Subject: Re:A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Incorporating Wet-Blending
|
Eboncrow wrote:I would say no, not allowed... but reading the RAW on it...
From the Codex: An independent character with a mark of chaos may not join a unit with a different mark of chaos.
From the rulebook: While an independent character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes.
On the note of moving them "at the same time"
From the rulebook: "Once a unit has completed all of its movement, you can select another unit and move that one..."
So the unit moves to where both lords could move into coherency with it. The first lord steps in and joins the unit. The second he does... the unit contains a mark of chaos and cannot be joined by another IC with a different mark.
*slams books shut* Good day gentlemen 
I agree with this.
|
Mannahnin wrote:A lot of folks online (and in emails in other parts of life) use pretty mangled English. The idea is that it takes extra effort and time to write properly, and they’d rather save the time. If you can still be understood, what’s the harm? While most of the time a sloppy post CAN be understood, the use of proper grammar, punctuation, and spelling is generally seen as respectable and desirable on most forums. It demonstrates an effort made to be understood, and to make your post an easy and pleasant read. By making this effort, you can often elicit more positive responses from the community, and instantly mark yourself as someone worth talking to.
insaniak wrote: Every time someone threatens violence over the internet as a result of someone's hypothetical actions at the gaming table, the earth shakes infinitisemally in its orbit as millions of eyeballs behind millions of monitors all roll simultaneously.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 11:08:53
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
You can deploy them together, however you cannot join them
Q: if one member of a unit has a melta gun, does the unit have a meltagun?
A: Yes
Ditto for Marks.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 17:37:51
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Can 2 lords with different marks join each other? NO
So its no on an unmarked unit since as soon as one joins it with a mark, the other cannot join and ignore the lords mark. Remember the different chaos gods have disdain for each other.
Another way to put it if one Ic joins a unit and he has the mark of khorne, he becomes part of that unit and therefore its a marked unit. A slannesh lord cannot join a khone marked unit.
Its simply put a NO.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 19:23:00
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
So your saying the unit now has the mark of nurgle... So i can have my lord pay 5 points for MoN and have 20 T5 marines for 5 points!! awesome!
What if Abbadon is in the unit?? o.O
|
Mess with the best, Die like the rest. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 19:29:20
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
jegsar wrote:So your saying the unit now has the mark of nurgle... So i can have my lord pay 5 points for MoN and have 20 T5 marines for 5 points!! awesome!
What if Abbadon is in the unit?? o.O
That's not what we're saying. If an IC with a meltagun joins a squad, does the squad have a meltagun? Yes. Does every model in the squad have a meltagun? No. Now replace meltagun with Mark of Chaos. The unit has a Mark, but only the model with the actual Mark benefits.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 19:32:58
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Twisting Tzeentch Horror
|
I still stand by my question, if Abbadon is in a unit can another independent character join that unit.
|
Mess with the best, Die like the rest. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/01/24 19:38:50
Subject: A few CSM rule questions
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Abaddon is an oddity, On the one hand he can join another IC. On the other hand from a strict RAW standpoint another IC cannot join him. Using the Abaddon FAQ as a precedent (as well as HIWPI) however, yes a marked IC can join Abby's unit.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
|