Switch Theme:

Reserves question- Dark Angels  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Ok today I was playing my chaos army vs DA and his whole army was deep striking. Now he was using drop pod assault, death wing assault, and flyers. Dose it say any were in the rule book he has to start the game with unites on the table?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/27 23:40:03


 
   
Made in us
Fighter Pilot




Pennsylvania

Zaphier wrote:
Okay, today I was playing my Chaos army vs. DA and his whole army was deep striking. Now, he was using 'drop pod assault', 'death wing assault', and flyers. Does it say anywhere in the rule book whether or not he has to start the game with units on the table?


Nope.

Edit: (Fixed the OP, too.)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/27 23:23:27


Gunline IG 1850 pts
Elysian IG 3000 pts
Horus Heresy Imperial Fists 500 pts

W/L/D: 35/6/4 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Well only 50% of your units can go into reserves, Ignoring things like Drop Pods that must Deep Strike, and Flyers that must start in reserve as well as any unit embarked upon said models.

So if he had all flyers and Drop pods then he can keep 100% of his units in reserve.

If not something must be deployed.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

As DeathReaper said, Flyers, Drop Pods, and units in either of those don't count. But pretty much anything else does, so he would have had to deploy something.

Some DA players are confused about how DWA works and think it exempts them from the Reserve limit; there is a long ongoing thread here in YMDC.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/500770.page

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/27 23:40:42


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

As death reaper said some players believe that all dw can select dw assault and deploy nothing, others believe otherwise, to save you the trouble of going through that lengthy thread, no convincing argument has been made either way yet, so it's beat to agree before hand.

A good example of.this is that others iny local group believe that storm bolters are affected by the dakka banner, I disagree ( I'm a dw and rw player) so I explain before the game that this is not how I will play it
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 Mannahnin wrote:
As DeathReaper said, Flyers, Drop Pods, and units in either of those don't count. But pretty much anything else does, so he would have had to deploy something.

Some DA players are confused about how DWA works and think it exempts them from the Reserve limit; there is a long ongoing thread here in YMDC.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/500770.page


Is it necessary to call those with whom you disagree, "confused?"

It can't just be a disagreement?





   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




every thing but one squad of dw assault terminators started as reserves in a vehicle.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/27 23:58:38


 
   
Made in us
Twisting Tzeentch Horror





Assuming there were 3 or less units that didn't start in a vehicle that must start in reserves that is legal.

Mess with the best, Die like the rest. 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Earth

Yeah thats all legal, if all his tac squads were in a pod and he had flyers thats fine too, 1 unit of dw termies is also fine, even if the 50% rule is applied
   
Made in us
[DCM]
Tilter at Windmills






Manchester, NH

Zaphier wrote:
every thing but one squad of dw assault terminators started as reserves in a vehicle.

This sentence has me confused. One squad of Deathwing started on the table? Is that right? If so, as long as no more than 2 other units were in Reserve without being a Flyer, or embarked on a Flyer or Drop Pod, then it would be legal.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
40k-noob wrote:
 Mannahnin wrote:
As DeathReaper said, Flyers, Drop Pods, and units in either of those don't count. But pretty much anything else does, so he would have had to deploy something.

Some DA players are confused about how DWA works and think it exempts them from the Reserve limit; there is a long ongoing thread here in YMDC.

http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/500770.page
Is it necessary to call those with whom you disagree, "confused?"

It can't just be a disagreement?

I meant no offense. In my opinion, the rule is pretty clear. We can resume discussion in the other thread, if you like.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/28 01:12:59


Adepticon 2015: Team Tourney Best Imperial Team- Team Ironguts, Adepticon 2014: Team Tourney 6th/120, Best Imperial Team- Cold Steel Mercs 2, 40k Championship Qualifier ~25/226
More 2010-2014 GT/Major RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 78-20-9 // SW: 8-1-2 (Golden Ticket with SW), BA: 29-9-4 6th Ed GT & RTT Record (W/L/D) -- CSM: 36-12-2 // BA: 11-4-1 // SW: 1-1-1
DT:70S++++G(FAQ)M++B++I+Pw40k99#+D+++A+++/sWD105R+++T(T)DM+++++
A better way to score Sportsmanship in tournaments
The 40K Rulebook & Codex FAQs. You should have these bookmarked if you play this game.
The Dakka Dakka Forum Rules You agreed to abide by these when you signed up.

Maelstrom's Edge! 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: