Switch Theme:

PoM: couple of questions  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in it
Regular Dakkanaut






Hi all, I have a couple of questions:

1) Exemplar Errants' Blessed weapon ability says to ignore spells effects that add to DEF and ARM.
I have to ignore the whole spell, or (in case it have multiple effects) just the part that adds to DEF and/or ARM?
(maybe "ignore spell effects" means just this, huh? )
For example, if the target has Carnivean's Spiny Growth (+2 ARM) cast on it, will the Exemplar Errant ignore the 1D3 damage among the ARM bonus or not?
I would say it will take the D3 damage, but just to be sure. Also, is an Animus considered a spell, right?

2) The 'Big Book' of Menoth (can't remeber proper name atm, sorry), has an ability that says it's to be considered on a small base, so it's just 1.75 high. It's not clear to me what's the extent of this thing.
2a) It's just 1.75 high as stated?
2b) It's on a small base for every ability involving bases in their descriptions (i.e. throw, armor pierce, etc)?
2c) It's on a small base for determining LoS, too?
3d) It's on a small base for everything, so a miniature can even "walk" above its base for the part that exceeds the 3cm of a small one?

Thanks in advance.

   
Made in pt
Tea-Kettle of Blood




Gabbi wrote:
Hi all, I have a couple of questions:

1) Exemplar Errants' Blessed weapon ability says to ignore spells effects that add to DEF and ARM.
I have to ignore the whole spell, or (in case it have multiple effects) just the part that adds to DEF and/or ARM?
(maybe "ignore spell effects" means just this, huh? )
For example, if the target has Carnivean's Spiny Growth (+2 ARM) cast on it, will the Exemplar Errant ignore the 1D3 damage among the ARM bonus or not?
I would say it will take the D3 damage, but just to be sure. Also, is an Animus considered a spell, right?


Ignore just the part of the spell that adds to DEF and ARM.

Two notes though:

- An Animus is only considered a spell if it was cast by the warlock. If it was cast by a warbeast then it isn't a spell.
- The Exemplar Errant in the example that you stated will ignore the 1D3 DMG part, because that part only applies to warbeasts or warjacks and the Errant is neither.

Gabbi wrote:

2) The 'Big Book' of Menoth (can't remeber proper name atm, sorry), has an ability that says it's to be considered on a small base, so it's just 1.75 high. It's not clear to me what's the extent of this thing.
2a) It's just 1.75 high as stated?
2b) It's on a small base for every ability involving bases in their descriptions (i.e. throw, armor pierce, etc)?
2c) It's on a small base for determining LoS, too?
3d) It's on a small base for everything, so a miniature can even "walk" above its base for the part that exceeds the 3cm of a small one?

Thanks in advance.


The Covenant of Menoth says:

This model is treated as a model with a small base and occupies the space from the bottom of its base to a height
of 1.75˝.


So A, B and C (except on base width) are correct.

D isn't because you cannot step through other models bases unless you have a rules that says so.
   
Made in it
Regular Dakkanaut






PhantomViper wrote:
- An Animus is only considered a spell if it was cast by the warlock. If it was cast by a warbeast then it isn't a spell.

so, I should keep track (for animi that remains in play) if they're cast by the warbeast or the warlock...

- The Exemplar Errant in the example that you stated will ignore the 1D3 DMG part, because that part only applies to warbeasts or warjacks

oh, didn't noticed (don't play LoE, only against). thank you for pointing this out.

The Covenant still confuses me a bit. if it's an intervening models on a smaller-based target, and it's not right in the middle of the LoS, how can I say if it obscures the one behind, if it is "in the way" while tracing lines from attacking base to target's base, as its base it's there but shouldn't...?
Maybe should be better to try mounting it on a 30mm base..? (just for asking, don't even own the model).

thanks for replies

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/01/31 16:00:33


   
Made in us
Bane Thrall





With WM/H, you must use the base that the model is supposed to come with. So although the rules state to treat it like a small base for most purposes, you still have to mount it on a large.

GW Rules Interpretation Syndrom. GWRIS. Causes people to second guess a rule in a book because that's what they would have had to do in a GW system.


 SilverMK2 wrote:
"Well, I have epilepsy and was holding a knife when I had a seizure... I couldn't help it! I was just trying to chop the vegetables for dinner!"
 
   
Made in it
Regular Dakkanaut






Yes, I expected this, as the force books states the base size among other stats...

So, in case of a small based target BEHIND the Covenant, like in the attached pic, will the Covenant (C) be considered as intervening model between small based attacker (A) and small based target (T) ?
(the dotted lines inside Covenant's base represent the hypotetical small base). I should consider the Covenant as occupying the whole surface of its base, or just the inner 30mm?

[Thumb - covenant_cover.jpg]

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2013/01/31 16:45:50


   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

1) They only ignore effects that add to Def and Armor. Note they will not ignore spells that give things like Concealment or any other penelty to damage or attack rolls. Only things that specifically give a bonus to Def and Armor.

2) Its on a large base, but is only 1.75" high.
2a) Yes
2b) Yes
2c) Yes
2d) No, it still is physically a large base and you cannot walk over a models base(unless you fly or are trampling)



For line of sight purposes, models are treated as cylinders with a defined volume according to base size.

The book has a large base, but says it is treated as a small base. That means it is a small base for armor piercing attacks and occupies a volume 1.75" above its base. It is still 50mm wide.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in it
Regular Dakkanaut






Thanks everyone.

   
 
Forum Index » Privateer Press Miniature Games (Warmachine & Hordes)
Go to: