Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 05:29:33
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
As the title asks, can the FW land raiders be taken as dedicated trans?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 05:30:15
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No as they arent in the codex under DT entry
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 06:03:29
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
See, i thought as much. But i read the rules for the basic FW land raider, with none of the FW rules, just a basic land raider and it doesnt say dedicated transport...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 06:36:10
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
It wouldn't. Dedicated Transport isn't a rule of the vehicle as such, it's only found in the unit entry of the unit that can take them.
Land Raiders don't say Dedicated Transport in their rules, the units that can take them (for example Chaos Terminators) say it in their army list entry.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 07:06:46
Subject: Re:Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
Yes, Terminator Squads may take a land-raider of any type as a dedicated transport. But only terminators can do this.
|
For Dorn and the Emperor
Imperial Fists 1500 pts. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 07:08:54
Subject: Re:Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Snappenthetwig wrote:Yes, Terminator Squads may take a land-raider of any type as a dedicated transport. But only terminators can do this.
But only a LR from their codex can be a dedicated transport.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 07:15:50
Subject: Re:Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
DeathReaper wrote: Snappenthetwig wrote:Yes, Terminator Squads may take a land-raider of any type as a dedicated transport. But only terminators can do this.
But only a LR from their codex can be a dedicated transport.
That would include any legally added models. It says ANY type of land-raider. It states whats armies can take them
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/04 07:17:07
For Dorn and the Emperor
Imperial Fists 1500 pts. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 07:25:08
Subject: Re:Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Snappenthetwig wrote: DeathReaper wrote: Snappenthetwig wrote:Yes, Terminator Squads may take a land-raider of any type as a dedicated transport. But only terminators can do this.
But only a LR from their codex can be a dedicated transport.
That would include any legally added models. It says ANY type of land-raider. It states whats armies can take them
Only if you ignore the context of the Codex. Any given codex, when they say 'ANY type of land-raider', are referring to the land raiders within said codex.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/04 07:26:05
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 07:29:26
Subject: Re:Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Space Marine Scout with Sniper Rifle
|
Wouldn't stand to reason the codex states ANY type of land-raider to cover future land-raiders variants made legal by GW?
|
For Dorn and the Emperor
Imperial Fists 1500 pts. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 08:03:06
Subject: Re:Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Snappenthetwig wrote:Wouldn't stand to reason the codex states ANY type of land-raider to cover future land-raiders variants made legal by GW?
Only if they are errataed into the particular codex.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 17:41:57
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I can see the argument going both ways, but errataed by who? Games workshop or forgeworld?
Also what of the land raider proteus? Its an elite choice, not a heavy support like the other land raiders, but its still a land raider, so could it be taken as a dedicated transport?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 00:46:00
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Loyal Necron Lychguard
|
Dragonzord wrote:I can see the argument going both ways, but errataed by who? Games workshop or forgeworld?
Also what of the land raider proteus? Its an elite choice, not a heavy support like the other land raiders, but its still a land raider, so could it be taken as a dedicated transport?
Either, really, as they're both GW companies.
And no, a codex only ever references items to what is in the codex. They have not ever (that I know of) and will mostly likely never reference anything outside of them. It leaves WAY too much room for interpretation.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 20122012/09/07 22:59:42
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Kevin949 wrote:Dragonzord wrote:I can see the argument going both ways, but errataed by who? Games workshop or forgeworld?
Also what of the land raider proteus? Its an elite choice, not a heavy support like the other land raiders, but its still a land raider, so could it be taken as a dedicated transport?
Either, really, as they're both GW companies.
And no, a codex only ever references items to what is in the codex. They have not ever (that I know of) and will mostly likely never reference anything outside of them. It leaves WAY too much room for interpretation.
thats my thoughts exactly... but again, in the FW errata for 6th i read, they dont mention anything about taking normal land raiders, or codex land raiders, as dedicated transports..
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 18:10:24
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I have not bothered to read all the replies. If you are playing 30k some units have access to the land raider Phobos as a DT... it is pretty much your old Mary Sue land raider. I also believe a few units might have access to the Spartan which is a true metal beast .
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2012/09/08 01:16:08
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Only certain armies get certain FW landraiders. the FW entry will list what armies can take the land raider. If you have an army that can take a FW land raider, AND that army has a unit that can take ANY Land Raider as dedicated transports, not just specific ones, then that unit could use the FW Land Raider as a dedicated transport.
Oh, and you opponent also has to allow you to use FW units in the first place.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 18:26:38
Subject: Re:Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Snappenthetwig wrote:Yes, Terminator Squads may take a land-raider of any type as a dedicated transport. But only terminators can do this.
Quick glance at the BA codex says any Land Raider and then cites a page number. There are 3 LRs on that page. None of them are from Forge World.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/04 18:26:49
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 18:35:15
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
barnowl wrote:Only certain armies get certain FW landraiders. the FW entry will list what armies can take the land raider. If you have an army that can take a FW land raider, AND that army has a unit that can take ANY Land Raider as dedicated transports, not just specific ones, then that unit could use the FW Land Raider as a dedicated transport.
You're confusing what SHOULD be the rules with what actually are the rules. Tell me where it says that you can substitute a FW land Raider for one in the Space Marine (or other) codex. This is a permissive rules set. It tells you what you can do. No where does it say you can do that.
|
DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 18:37:08
Subject: Re:Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Snappenthetwig wrote:Wouldn't stand to reason the codex states ANY type of land-raider to cover future land-raiders variants made legal by GW?
So you want a Chaos Space Marine Land Raider for your true-blue Space Marine terminators?
You are, after all, claiming that ANY entitles you to choose ANY land raider...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 18:38:54
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Heh. Yeah, I'll take a 220 point Chaos Land Raider for my Terminators. I don't want to pay the extra 30 points for Power of the Machine Spirit! Or, I'll take a psychic Grey Knight Landraider, please!
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/04 18:39:17
DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 18:46:09
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
Wait, so you're saying that my squads of terminators can't all take Land Raider Achilles' as transports. bummer.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 19:00:30
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Here is how it works. The pertinent Forge World book will list which armies have access... You are not going to find this in the codices. Remember that your opponent must give you permission to use Forge World.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 19:22:10
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Baldsmug wrote:Wait, so you're saying that my squads of terminators can't all take Land Raider Achilles' as transports. bummer.
As dedicated transports? No.
As a Heavy Support selection (if it lists your codex as an option), sure.
What's the transport capacity of the Achilles anyway? I thought it was something silly like 6 models, or am I confusing it with another Land Raider pattern?
|
DA:70S+G+M+B++I++Pw40k08+D++A++/fWD-R+T(M)DM+
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 21:33:45
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
I believe it is 6 indeed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/04 22:08:16
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot
|
kronk wrote: Baldsmug wrote:Wait, so you're saying that my squads of terminators can't all take Land Raider Achilles' as transports. bummer.
As dedicated transports? No.
As a Heavy Support selection (if it lists your codex as an option), sure.
What's the transport capacity of the Achilles anyway? I thought it was something silly like 6 models, or am I confusing it with another Land Raider pattern?
it is six models and i was being facetious. lol.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/05 07:12:29
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Remember it is BEST that you talk to your opponent about it. The above is a literally wrong reading of the applicable rules
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/05 12:09:58
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential
|
Unless I am mistaken, FW models include a section detailing the part of the FOC they are in.
Under the LR entry, you have written "This blabla LR is a Heavy support choice for this and that army".
I suppose you would find "This LR is a heavy support choice for that army and a dedicated transport for this and that squad".
RAW, I'd say you cannot use FW as dedicated transport.
As everyone says, rule n°1 : talk to your opponent.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/05 12:17:42
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BA's cannot take the achilles (which I own and love...) so of course they would be able to get around that by taking it as a DT.
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 30237/08/22 12:40:12
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Seb wrote:Unless I am mistaken, FW models include a section detailing the part of the FOC they are in. Under the LR entry, you have written "This blabla LR is a Heavy support choice for this and that army". I suppose you would find "This LR is a heavy support choice for that army and a dedicated transport for this and that squad". RAW, I'd say you cannot use FW as dedicated transport. As everyone says, rule n°1 : talk to your opponent.  Actually in my codex (space wolves) it doesnt say under the land raider section that its a dedicated transport for such and such squad. It says exactly what the forgeworld rules say, its stats, weapons and that its heavy support etc. It does say under the entry for the only unit that can take LR as dedicated transport that it may take ANY land raider as a dedicated transport. But you'd just assume thats from the codex only. But again, if FW and GW are the same company, that make the same modelx, then i dont see how its from the codex only if it says on the FW website that it counts as an elite/heavy choice for the army As i said, it really can be argued both ways. Edit: oh my god! I just figured out if you double click a post you made, it takes you to edit it! WHAT IS THIS WIZARDRY
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/05 12:41:37
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/05 16:15:13
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
|
barnowl wrote:Only certain armies get certain FW landraiders. the FW entry will list what armies can take the land raider. If you have an army that can take a FW land raider, AND that army has a unit that can take ANY Land Raider as dedicated transports, not just specific ones, then that unit could use the FW Land Raider as a dedicated transport.
Oh, and you opponent also has to allow you to use FW units in the first place.
Agreed.
Which means Deathwing can take them I believe
|
I represent the Surrey Spartans gaming group. Check us out and feel free to come along for a game! https://www.facebook.com/groups/425689674233804/
Tzeentch Daemons 2000pts
Kabal of the Sundering Strike 2500pts
Eldar Corsairs 750pts
400pts Corregidor/Nomads
300pts Yu Jing
200pts+ each of Imperial and Rebel fleets for X-Wing
A Terran Alliance and Dindrenzi Fleet for Firestorm Armada
A Necromunda Goliath gang and Spyrer gang |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/05 16:24:17
Subject: Forge world land raiders, dedicated transports?
|
 |
Servoarm Flailing Magos
|
The "ask first" cult of this thread need to realise that FW rules are to be considered an addon to Warhammer 40k. Basically what you ask your opponent is "are we playing vanilla 40k or 40k with FW?"
|
|
|
 |
 |
|