Switch Theme:

Can storm boys charge 3d6 inches?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Student Curious About Xenos





If you use your storm boy's rokkit pack in the assault phase instead of movement, do you get the extra d6 of movement of the charge from their rokkit packs if they didn;t use them in the movement phase??

"Of course you fight fire with fire. You fight everything with fire." 
   
Made in tw
Disciplined Sea Guard




No. However you can reroll charge distance dices, and gain HoW.

Ultramarine: 3000 pts
Dark Angels:2000 pts
High Elves: 3000 pts
WoC: Ceased 
   
Made in us
Student Curious About Xenos





Would you at least get d6 extra inches after you make the charge?

"Of course you fight fire with fire. You fight everything with fire." 
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

madival wrote:
Would you at least get d6 extra inches after you make the charge?

That doesn't make any sense... what exactly are you asking?

 
   
Made in us
Student Curious About Xenos





You have used the jump packs in the assault phase. You successfully make the charge. Would you than roll an extra d6 as per the jump pack rules to get more guys into melee.

"Of course you fight fire with fire. You fight everything with fire." 
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

No. That's not as per the JP rules at all.

You would pile in at your initiative as per the close combat rules.

 
   
Made in us
Student Curious About Xenos





I meant the storm boys rokkit pack. They add an extra d6 anytime you use them to move or fall back. It is storm boy specific to their jump pack. Should have been more specific.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/07 09:21:32


"Of course you fight fire with fire. You fight everything with fire." 
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

if it says move and fall back, then no. not in charges. That means you can go 12+1d6 in movement.

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




An assault move IS a move, however, so you would move 3D6" from my reading
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





If that were the case, you'd have to roll that extra d6 separately as it can have negative effects. I'm doubtful on this one though.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/07 10:47:36


 
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

nosferatu1001 wrote:
An assault move IS a move, however, so you would move 3D6" from my reading

By that logic, fall back is also a move and shouldn't need to be specifically stated in the rules (like charge isn't). I think "move" is what you do in the movement phase, even if a charge/assault does literally force you to move.

Still, I see your point. If you don't use it to move, it would stand to logic that you can use it to assault and gain the same benefit, since the pack does specify that it has this effect every time you use it.

But lke what was said, you need to roll 2+1D6, since a 1 on that last D6 could kill an ork

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/07 10:52:23


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Indeed, you do need to know which is the extra D6

Remember the Ork book was 4th edition, when you *never* used your jump pack on the assault move, just "movement" phase (if you wanted) and falling back (no choice), so the specificity is now strictly a reminder, as there are otehr points at which you can use a jump pack now.

Assault moves are defined as a normal move, with some exceptions, so they definitely get their bonus if they use their packs at this point.
   
Made in dk
Servoarm Flailing Magos






Metalica

Yeah, I've changed my mind. Nos's reading is a better application and I would go with that.

 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






Stormboyz never get an extra d6 movement, aside from the 3d6 fall back moves all jump infantry get. The extra d6 mentioned in the rokkit pack rules is only to see if one of them explodes while using their packs.

Don't mind me I can't read.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2013/02/08 01:41:41


 
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

 Garbled wrote:
Stormboyz never get an extra d6 movement, aside from the 3d6 fall back moves all jump infantry get. The extra d6 mentioned in the rokkit pack rules is only to see if one of them explodes while using their packs.


got a quote that can back up what you are saying?

as far as ive read it you get the extra d6 for the charge

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User






 A GumyBear wrote:
 Garbled wrote:
Stormboyz never get an extra d6 movement, aside from the 3d6 fall back moves all jump infantry get. The extra d6 mentioned in the rokkit pack rules is only to see if one of them explodes while using their packs.


got a quote that can back up what you are saying?

as far as ive read it you get the extra d6 for the charge


Oh wow, nevermind me, just derpin' around on the internet. I never even noticed that part of the paragraph. I guess I just read the consequences of rolling a one and assumed that losing a boy 1 in 6 moves was the price we paid for cheap jump infantry. Yeah, I'm on board with 3d6 charge move now.
   
Made in us
Student Curious About Xenos





This makes Zagstruck really good

"Of course you fight fire with fire. You fight everything with fire." 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: