Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 18:28:08
Subject: Veil of Darkness question
|
 |
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm
|
Since a transport vehicle and the unit embarked upon it are considered one unit, if a Harbinger of Despair with a Veil of Darkness (or Vargard Obyron and his Ghostwalk Mantle) is embarked with a squad of Warriors on a Ghost Ark, can he Veil of Darkness the Ghost Ark across the board? The Cryptek and his unit are removed from the battlefield and immediate Deep Strike. His unit would include the transport he is embarked upon. I can't find any rules in the BRB, Codex, or FAQ that would prevent this. Is this legal? At most you could have two Royal Courts with two Veil Crypteks plus Obyron. So if you had 3 Ghost Arks with 9 Warriors + Cryptek/Obyron, is there any situation when you would want to Deep Strike the 3 Ghost Arks for some concentrated shooting at a (Deep Strike) range beyond their normal 24"? (Granted, the Ghost Ark is a fairly large model and scatter could be a nightmare.) And also note, that since a Deep Striking vehicle counts as having moved at Cruising Speed, that both the vehicle and its passengers can only fire snap shots. But still that's something like 19 Flayer shots at 2 or 3 targets (possibly even double that in rapid fire range). The only other way I could see this as beneficial is to have one on board a Night Scythe and use it to protect the Night Scythe positionally or re-align a firing line before flying off the board. Thoughts? (Or is it just too much risk, scattering a vehicle into mishap?)
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/07 18:28:43
You may have heard of Schrödinger's cat. Let me show you Tesla's cat:
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 18:30:47
Subject: Veil of Darkness question
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high
|
Er.....I don't believe it works like that.
They could veil perhaps OUT of the arcs and across the board, but certainly can't take the vehicle with them.
Mostly due to the vehicle not counting as being part of the squad, its a transport.
Even if you could, don't think it'd be wise
|
Bedouin Dynasty: 10000 pts
The Silver Lances: 4000 pts
The Custodes Winter Watch 4000 pts
MajorStoffer wrote:
...
Sternguard though, those guys are all about kicking ass. They'd chew bubble gum as well, but bubble gum is heretical. Only tau chew gum. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 18:57:20
Subject: Veil of Darkness question
|
 |
One Canoptek Scarab in a Swarm
The Crypts Beneath Terra
|
IIRC Ghost Arks can only transport Warriors so that shouldn't be an issue in the first place.
|
Necrons . . . Because Death is for Quitters
3K
2K
1K
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 19:28:18
Subject: Veil of Darkness question
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
Somewhere over the rainbow, way up high
|
IC's Crypteks and Warriors can get on Arks
|
Bedouin Dynasty: 10000 pts
The Silver Lances: 4000 pts
The Custodes Winter Watch 4000 pts
MajorStoffer wrote:
...
Sternguard though, those guys are all about kicking ass. They'd chew bubble gum as well, but bubble gum is heretical. Only tau chew gum. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 19:59:37
Subject: Veil of Darkness question
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Pink Myst wrote:Since a transport vehicle and the unit embarked upon it are considered one unit
This is false meaning that your entire post is inaccurate.
The unit and vehicle are considered one unit when looking at numbers to Reserve. That's the only time.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 20:46:59
Subject: Veil of Darkness question
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
The transport and the warriors/cryptek inside are separate units so while the cryptek is allowed to DS the unit he is with even if starting in reserve inside a vehicle the vehicle is not included.
Aycee
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 20:51:31
Subject: Veil of Darkness question
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
|
Vehicles and embarked units are different units. You can even shoot at different targets with each.
Actually, that made me think. Can combat squaded marines shoot at three different targets?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 21:06:22
Subject: Veil of Darkness question
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
xSPYXEx wrote:VCan combat squaded marines shoot at three different targets?
I see no reason they couldn't do so.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/07 22:37:40
Subject: Veil of Darkness question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Check the FAQ. I'm fairly certain it specifies in the Combat Squad rule.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 10:08:22
Subject: Veil of Darkness question
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
|
1. I don't think that a transport can be in a squad - it is it's own individual unit
2. He can only use Veil instead of moving - you can't move around in a transport and you would have to get out of it first to use it in the first place.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 12:14:31
Subject: Veil of Darkness question
|
 |
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun
|
Vehicles dont join the unit that embark them, theyre separate. Thats why they can fire at a diff target than the embarked unit, and also why my Weridboyz 'Ere We Go! spell just warps the boyz out of the vehicle rather than take the vehicle with'm.
Which i kinda wish i could warp a deffrolla behind you aegis like that
|
An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.
14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 13:17:42
Subject: Veil of Darkness question
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
VoD only works with the unit the cryptek is attached to. Nothing else is affected by it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/08 15:00:42
Subject: Veil of Darkness question
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
And hence why Azreals 4++ doesnt affect transports, as they arent the same unit
|
40kGlobal AOA member, regular of Overlords podcast club and 4tk gaming store. Blogger @ http://sanguinesons.blogspot.co.uk/
06/2013: 1st at War of the Roses ETC warm up.
08/213: 3rd place double teams at 4tk
09/2013: 7th place, best daemon and non eldar/tau army at Northern Warlords GT
10/2013: 3rd/4th at Battlefield Birmingham
11/2013: 5th at GT heat 3
11/2013: 5th COG 2k at 4tk
01/2014: 34th at Caledonian
03/2014: 3rd GT Final |
|
 |
 |
|