| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 01:12:13
Subject: 'Ere we go
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
So me and an Ork player recently had a squabble over whether you can use 'Ere we go to deep strike into base contact because of the wording "anywhere on the board" and "this power must be used even if in base contact; enemy models stay in place." He believes he can. Majority rules on this ruling. Thanks you for the help.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 01:14:33
Subject: 'Ere we go
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Ere we go causes you to deep strike, correct?
What happens when you place models within one inch of an enemy model when you deep strike?
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 01:22:44
Subject: 'Ere we go
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
rigeld2 wrote:Ere we go causes you to deep strike, correct?
What happens when you place models within one inch of an enemy model when you deep strike?
Thats what i'm saying. But his argument is that because it states that they can be "placed anywhere on the board using the deep strike rules" that he can deep strike into base contact.... he says if wasn't this was it would have left out the words "anywhere on the board"
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 01:36:04
Subject: Re:'Ere we go
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
I think I see where your opponent got confused, Vastin. Here's what's up, though: the location of placement ("anywhere on the board") has a conditional modifier ("using the Deep Strike rules"). The Deep Strike rules contain a number of additional conditional modfiers. If there were exceptions given, then the entry in the Ork codex would specify that. (Or the FAQ would.) If, on the other hand the rule read something like "remove the models from the board and then replace them using the Deep Strike rules, except that you may place them anywhere on the board," then your opponent might have a case. As it is, the rule doesn't give explicit permission to avoid the Deep Strike rules regarding other models (or impassible terrain) and so you must still use those rules.
I hope that helps.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 01:37:58
Subject: 'Ere we go
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Vastin wrote:rigeld2 wrote:Ere we go causes you to deep strike, correct?
What happens when you place models within one inch of an enemy model when you deep strike?
Thats what i'm saying. But his argument is that because it states that they can be "placed anywhere on the board using the deep strike rules" that he can deep strike into base contact.... he says if wasn't this was it would have left out the words "anywhere on the board"
So is there anything overriding the Mishap rules?
He can totally place them anywhere on the board. Nothing says he's immune to Mishap, however.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 01:42:02
Subject: 'Ere we go
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
and ere we go even specifies "as per the deep strike rules"
the confusion is probably coming in because the next line stating the power can be used even if enemies are in base contact.
it gets you out of CC, but you arrive exactly as if you deep strike.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 01:51:58
Subject: 'Ere we go
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
sirlynchmob wrote:and ere we go even specifies "as per the deep strike rules"
the confusion is probably coming in because the next line stating the power can be used even if enemies are in base contact.
it gets you out of CC, but you arrive exactly as if you deep strike.
Thats exactly how i interpreted it. You have to use the power even if your in base contact, however it doesn't say it overrides the deep strikes placement rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 02:12:44
Subject: 'Ere we go
|
 |
Douglas Bader
|
Vastin wrote:Thats exactly how i interpreted it. You have to use the power even if your in base contact, however it doesn't say it overrides the deep strikes placement rules.
And the point is that it doesn't matter. Even if you CAN arrive in base contact you will immediately suffer a deep strike mishap for arriving within 1" of an enemy unit. The only reason to attempt to arrive in base contact is if you're trying to deliberately force a mishap and gambling on a 'delayed' result to put the unit back in reserve, and that's such a ridiculously unlikely scenario that it isn't really even worth considering.
|
There is no such thing as a hobby without politics. "Leave politics at the door" is itself a political statement, an endorsement of the status quo and an attempt to silence dissenting voices. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 06:34:25
Subject: 'Ere we go
|
 |
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun
|
'Ere We Go only has a special ruling over normal deepstrikes that it can pull your unit out of melee combat (as per FAQ), aside from that it has the same effects/drawbacks as normal deepstriking (landing in terrain = dangerous test, unplacable models = mishap roll)
This isnt 5th, the only way to get into btb contact is via charge. Literally. The only other btb the book ever talks about is ramming/tankshock, and after thats done the models that got struck still move by shortest distance to get out of the way so its very brief btb.
|
An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.
14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 19:53:08
Subject: 'Ere we go
|
 |
Khorne Veteran Marine with Chain-Axe
|
Peregrine wrote:Vastin wrote:Thats exactly how i interpreted it. You have to use the power even if your in base contact, however it doesn't say it overrides the deep strikes placement rules.
and that's such a ridiculously unlikely scenario that it isn't really even worth considering.
not rediculous for an ork anyway
|
"I ayn't so eezy ta kill... heheheh..."
BLOOD FOR THE BLOOD GOD!!!! SKULLS FOR THE SKULL THRONE!!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2013/02/20 20:34:55
Subject: Re:'Ere we go
|
 |
Hellish Haemonculus
|
 Forcing a mishap on your own unit isn't as uncommon as you'd think, Peregrine.
I know it's a dangerous proposition, but I've deliberately forced mishaps on my own units before (and still won, sometimes). It's a dangerous strategy, to be sure, but if you're willing to gamble on something as random as a coin flip (the Deep Strike mishap table has a 50/50 chance of putting you back in reserves) it can work out pretty well. I admit it can also leave you standing around looking foolish as your models all die screaming, (and that's happened to me too!) but it's all the sweeter when it works.
And shoot, if you play orks, so much of your stuff is so random anyway, what's one more random roll?
In any event, I think you're still right about the rules call, it's pretty clear that the Deep Striking orks cannot be placed in base-to-base contact deliberately. (Although they can still be placed there after scatter.) I've just occasionally found that doing something ridiculously foolish can work out pretty well, since nobody expects you to do it!
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|