Switch Theme:

Vector Strike question...  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter






Dimmamar

 Lord Yayula wrote:

Following the OP's interpretation that would mean that any FMCs without a shooting weapon can't use VS. i.e. the CSM DPs, since he doesn't have a range weapon he can't VS?, this obviously is not the case, meaning that the VS doesn't require a weapon to be used/fired. Translating this to the Heldrake would leave the baleflamer/Autcannon free of shooting.


I tried this with a Lord of Change earlier, but the recent StormRaven example, as well as the gun-less Daemon Prince (from CSM or Daemons) work much better.

I think, Ted1138, you have to answer the question posed by Yayula. I'll repeat it:

Can a Swooping Daemon Prince without a gun do a Vector Strike?

If he can, then clearly a gun is not fired or used to Vector Strike.

If he cannot, then you have broken the rules.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/25 16:09:49


LVO 2017 - Best GK Player

The Grimdark Future 8500 1500 6000 2000 5000


"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Elric Greywolf wrote:
 Lord Yayula wrote:

Following the OP's interpretation that would mean that any FMCs without a shooting weapon can't use VS. i.e. the CSM DPs, since he doesn't have a range weapon he can't VS?, this obviously is not the case, meaning that the VS doesn't require a weapon to be used/fired. Translating this to the Heldrake would leave the baleflamer/Autcannon free of shooting.


I tried this with a Lord of Change earlier, but the recent StormRaven example, as well as the gun-less Daemon Prince (from CSM or Daemons) work much better.

I think, Ted1138, you have to answer the question posed by Yayula. I'll repeat it:

Can a Swooping Daemon Prince without a gun do a Vector Strike?

If he can, then clearly a gun is not fired or used to Vector Strike.

If he cannot, then you have broken the rules.



Of course it can. Not having a weapon does not mean it can't Vector Strike(and saying so doesn't contradict what I've been saying either)...
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Yes, it does contradict it,

You are stating that performing a VS counts as using one of the actual guns you fire with in the shooting phase. So VS with a heldrake means it has used up the baleflamer.

If this is the case (it isnt) then if you have NO guns, then you cannot VS - you cannot use a gun you dont have. So a weapon destroyed heldrake could not vector strike.

This is of course entirely untrue; for the purpose of determining how many weapons YOU ARE ALLOWED TO FIRE VS "uses up" one of those weapons; a FMC is allowed to fire just one, not two, in the shooting phase. Similarly a heldrake is allowed to fire UP TO 3, but only has one.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





rigeld2 wrote:
ted1138 wrote:
Also, a Heldrake can't fire 4 weapons, it can only fire one...

Citation required.

People keep repeating this like it's accurate - it's not.



Ok,, what other weapons can a Heldrake fire, other than it's Bale Flamer/Hades Autocannon? Do you have a citation that shows a Heldrake can fire weapons it doesn't have?
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

ted1138 wrote:
Elric Greywolf wrote:
 Lord Yayula wrote:

Following the OP's interpretation that would mean that any FMCs without a shooting weapon can't use VS. i.e. the CSM DPs, since he doesn't have a range weapon he can't VS?, this obviously is not the case, meaning that the VS doesn't require a weapon to be used/fired. Translating this to the Heldrake would leave the baleflamer/Autcannon free of shooting.


I tried this with a Lord of Change earlier, but the recent StormRaven example, as well as the gun-less Daemon Prince (from CSM or Daemons) work much better.

I think, Ted1138, you have to answer the question posed by Yayula. I'll repeat it:

Can a Swooping Daemon Prince without a gun do a Vector Strike?

If he can, then clearly a gun is not fired or used to Vector Strike.

If he cannot, then you have broken the rules.



Of course it can. Not having a weapon does not mean it can't Vector Strike(and saying so doesn't contradict what I've been saying either)...


So which weapon does it use up? It seems your argument is that Vector Strike counts as firing one of the weapons a model has. If the model has 0 weapons to fire, then it could not use Vector Strike instead of firing one of its weapons.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




ted1138 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
ted1138 wrote:
Also, a Heldrake can't fire 4 weapons, it can only fire one...

Citation required.

People keep repeating this like it's accurate - it's not.



Ok,, what other weapons can a Heldrake fire, other than it's Bale Flamer/Hades Autocannon? Do you have a citation that shows a Heldrake can fire weapons it doesn't have?

No, youre just not reading what youre writing with any precision

A heldrake CAN fire UP TO 4 weapons while zooming. It actually only has one, but if it somehow gained 3 more it could fire them all.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

ted1138 wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
ted1138 wrote:
Also, a Heldrake can't fire 4 weapons, it can only fire one...

Citation required.

People keep repeating this like it's accurate - it's not.



Ok,, what other weapons can a Heldrake fire, other than it's Bale Flamer/Hades Autocannon? Do you have a citation that shows a Heldrake can fire weapons it doesn't have?


The heldrake (as a zooming flyer) has permission to fire 4 weapons, correct?
The heldrake only has 1 weapon (with no permission to fire that weapon multiple times), correct?
If the heldrake fires its 1 weapon, it still has permission to fire 3 more, it just does not have any.

This is the same as a Monstrous Creature with 0 or 1 weapon.

Edit: Darn it nos, stop ninja-ing me!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2013/02/25 16:25:30


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





 Happyjew wrote:
ted1138 wrote:
Elric Greywolf wrote:
 Lord Yayula wrote:

Following the OP's interpretation that would mean that any FMCs without a shooting weapon can't use VS. i.e. the CSM DPs, since he doesn't have a range weapon he can't VS?, this obviously is not the case, meaning that the VS doesn't require a weapon to be used/fired. Translating this to the Heldrake would leave the baleflamer/Autcannon free of shooting.


I tried this with a Lord of Change earlier, but the recent StormRaven example, as well as the gun-less Daemon Prince (from CSM or Daemons) work much better.

I think, Ted1138, you have to answer the question posed by Yayula. I'll repeat it:

Can a Swooping Daemon Prince without a gun do a Vector Strike?

If he can, then clearly a gun is not fired or used to Vector Strike.

If he cannot, then you have broken the rules.




Is it really so hard to tell the difference between "counts as" and "has"? All this pedantic rules-lawyering is getting out of hand. The only thing left now is the "Chewbacca-Defense"...

Of course it can. Not having a weapon does not mean it can't Vector Strike(and saying so doesn't contradict what I've been saying either)...


So which weapon does it use up? It seems your argument is that Vector Strike counts as firing one of the weapons a model has. If the model has 0 weapons to fire, then it could not use Vector Strike instead of firing one of its weapons.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Again: it isnt "rules lawyering", just "you are reading a rule in a way which has no support, linguistically or otherwise"

You have no rules argument, and refuse to answer the questions. Point conceded
   
Made in us
Blood-Raging Khorne Berserker




South Chicago burbs

Next Ted is going to try and convince everyone that once the bale flamer is destroyed you cant vector strike.

insaniak wrote:
YMDC has plenty of room for discussion veering away from the RAW, particularly in cases like this where what is being put forward as the RAW is absurd.

11k
4K
4k
 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

He has to, its the only way his argument would make any logical sense.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar




USA

I think someone's heels have been dug in.

Check out my list building app for 40K and Fantasy:
http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/576793.page 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Yeah, some people just can't let the Chaos codex have its little bit of chedder.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka






San Jose, CA

Enough. Discussing another poster is inappropriate; stick to critiques of arguments, or find yourselves another thread to participate in.

Quis Custodiet Ipsos Custodes? 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: